We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”
Review of The Black Swan

Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Culgaith
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Chesterfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Delicious dinner, fairly extensive menu choices I was surprised. I had the belly pork which was lovely and fresh veg, red cabbage, carrots, new pots, leaks in cream sauce....hearty plates ...shame I didn't leave room for pudding , I had the liver pâté to start and again larger than average portion size with loads of toast....it was delicious....

Restaurant was very busy with locals, obviously very popular even on a Tuesday evening!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princessalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    31
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is how Saturday night dining used to be and should be. People dressed up but in a very relaxed atmosphere. Very nice surroundings. Staff were very efficient and pleasant. Not overpriced but gorgeous tasty home cooked food. I went for a romantic meal with my boyfriend and it delivered on every count.
Would definitely recommend it and will be gong back soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“satisfying sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having tried to book in at a sister pub, they recommended we try the Black Swan. We arrived to a great welcome, and were given a memrable Sunday lunch. Plenty of food and a lively atmosphere. The roast beef was superb.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clocks90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macduff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“good place for a bite to eat”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Och was realy nice lovely food . A wee treat of a place. Canna wait to go back for a meal . Was treated lovely by staff and friendly

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I ate here with two friends. We all commented on it being one of the best meals we have eaten out in a long long time, ( we do eat out quite a lot )!!!! We coludn't fault anything. The service was faultless and the food was amazing. Have reccommended the Black Swan to several people since our visit and will deffinetly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambi343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing