We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back!”
Review of Villa Monyet Java

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cijulang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Monyet Java
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My first husband and I have stayed at Villa Monyet three times now. We love it there because 1) it has a really comfortable bed and a nice bathroom, 2) a good vibe - we've always end up having a great social time there, and 3) handy to sea shops etc. The owners have done an amazing job with the garden - they've been able to develop it so all the bungalows are quite private from the others which I think is important. They organised body rafting trips and a sunset cruise and day trips. No negatives. Well priced. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The bungalows. Roomy, private.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ManPanDili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hello ManPanDili

Thank you for choosing Villa Monyet for your stay everytime you have holiday in Batukaras. I do not know ho many times you have been staying with us, perhaps 6-7 times !. It's always greaaaaat time !.

Thank you very much that you like our gardens and bungalows, yes we design every room to have privacy, private bathrooms, private balcony or terrace. We provide the daybeds and hammocks for every room, so you can enjoy your lazy time while reading your books.

Body rafting and sunset trips that we have done were always amazing. Green Canyon, Green Valley, sunset in the lagoon and picnic At The Clouds (the hills up around Batu Karas great place to watch sunset and sunrise with the beautiful view of the ocean, mountains, rice fields, river and jungles).

See you again in 4 months

Nano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Villa Monyet Java
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Riversider the first day and moved to Villa Monyet after. Both places are set to be natural but Villa Monyet is way ahead! The room is spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. No need aircon because the room does catch the sea breeze. They also equip with LCD TV with some international channels although you may not need it because you'll be too busy surfing in the beach :) they also add personal touch by putting flower in some spots inside the room. Love it!
Bath room is clean, strong shower, towels and bath amenities are also provided.
Free flow of drinking water, coffee or tea that you can take in the kitchen. And the famous monkey feast in the night (advance order) for those who like fresh seafood BBQ and chat with all new friends all night long.
Homemade bread or pancake, and local fruits available for breakfast.
I heart the beach infront of the villa, it's in the quiet side of Batukaras but you can enjoy surfing as well as playing in the sand, even better than the public beach. But if you like the crowd, you can head to the public beach by bike or just 10 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AryaniSudarsono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

hi Aryani

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmoshpere at Villa Monyet Batukaras, we set our place to be natural, green and flowery. Flowers in your bathroom, bedroom and on doorsteps are picked from our large flowery garden to make you feel that you are in nature even in the bedroom.

Free flow drinking water, coffe and tea that you took in the kitchen to make you feel like home.

It's a pity that you missed the BBQ night, it was fun night meeting new people from different countries while enjoying fresh seafood. Maybe next time.

Terima Kasih Banyak
Nano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Villa Monyet in Batu Karas is a fantastic place to go with kids and to relax in general, if you get time! There are heaps of things to do and see, and the hosts Nana, Marianne and their family are more than willing to organise anything for you. We went body rafting down a gorgeous green river canyon (kids too!), swimming in beautiful light turquoise waters of another local river, bike riding around the rice fields, and surfing at the local beach with good sized learner waves....and it was all organised by our lovely and generous hosts. The village is small, very friendly and felt totally safe. We went walking along beaches, up hills, and feasted on fish and local fare in the evenings in true Batu Karas style. Had a fabulous time and would go back in a flash..... just loved it, we all did.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Hi Anita and family

We are happy that you and your family enjoyed staying at Villa Monyet. It's nice to see kids had so much fun and loved playing hide and seek, swinging on the hammocks in our flowery tropical garden. So you can have your time relaxing on the the hammock on the balcony while reading your favourite books and have cups of tea or coffee.

Trips to Green Canyon, Green Valley, see the turtle conservation with the kids, cycling around the village and the Green River were refreshing. We hope that you have recharged batteries after your holiday in Batu Karas.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed Monkeys Feast (BBQ night), Seafood, vegetables, and rice cooked with our special herbs from our garden are served on the table cloth made of big banana leafs. So you sit together fight over the foods.

Obrigado Barak

Nano and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Villa Monyet was the perfect place to stay. The bungalows are very nicely built and they are very charming. The hospitality of the staff is just amazing and always ready to help. The Money feast is an experience that shouldn’t be missed! If you want to relax this is the place to be. I went with my kid and some friends and we all had a great time. The surroundings are wonderful. You can enjoy some surfing, or do some body rafting in two amazing rivers or just enjoy cycling everywhere. I truly recommend Villa Monyet to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi Ines

We are happy to hear that you and your kid had nice time at villa monyet. Thank you very much for joining the barbeque night, it was so great night, and we are happy to see kids also enjoy the barbeque.

Surfing with you was so fun, big laugh and smile while we were in the water was so great. While surfing we can see your kid and other kids playing-making sand casstles.

Cheers

Nano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Awesome place to just hang out, relax and refill your batteries. For surf lovers that don't have Kelly Slater skills it's probably one of the coolest places to surf too. Great food, great family place lovely people. Only downside was that we had to eave after 5 days.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Propperdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hi there

It was great having time together surfing with you as well as enjoying the BBQ at our jungle kitchen. I hope you have fully refilled batteries after relaxing at Villa Monyet. And I hope your family also enjoyed the holiday

See you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely place, friendly people like your own family..... Nice bungalow with unique atmosphere. Have your simple and home made breakfast. Don't said you are a sea food lover before try monkey feast, it's all about fresh seafood. Need a big...biggg....biiiiiiiggg effort to go home even holiday time is up.... Love ya all my crazy monkey family....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikaRatnaDewanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hello Rika

Thank you very much for staying with us, welcome to family of monkeys!!!, It's always fun and great time when you come to Villa Monyet, our jungle kitchen become the centre of laugh production (chatting and jokes). Especially when we have BBQ night is even more special when we have ati maung (jengki or jengkol) plus seafood and spicy sambal.

Obay+I'in+Nana are waiting to make you BBQ again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at Villa Monyet with my teenage child at the end of a multiple weeks Indonesia trip. It was a wonderful conclusion of our journey! So friendly people at a real totally beautiful place with so friendly and wonderful people.
We had an enchanting bungalow .. the atmosphere there was perfect: relaxed and most friendly .. the option of a fish BBQ should be taken as often as possible .. :)) it's fantastic!
We didn't surf there, but it's a great place to learn. Constantly good waves as well as good & friendly charming surfing teachers ..
the surrounding is beautiful .. we had a place to play in the waves just some minutes to walk alone for us .. the coast line is beautiful .. an amazing canyon is waiting nearby as well as a very little nice airport with just one small airline going there (Susi Air) .. The Pangandaran National Park is close by and is worth to be discovered ..
Villa monyet has three nice bungalows and a huge family room, an open jungle kitchen where You can cook on Your own .. they give You a delicious breakfast with bread and cake, tea, coffee and water all day and are wonderful people .. We met great people there, locals & travellers, and will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albi_N_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villamonyetbatukaras, Owner at Villa Monyet Java, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hi Albi and Noah

Thank you for staying with us, we are happy that You enjoyed the atmoshpere at Villa Monyet. And we are glad that you also enjoyed our breakfast menu, especially our home made bread.

It's really nice to know you and your daughter, both of you are really nice persons.

We hope you have fresh life after refreshing holiday in Indonesia especially in Batu Karas.

Cheers

Nana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cijulang
11.3 mi away
The Arnawa Hotel
The Arnawa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Pangandaran
84 reviews
11.3 mi away
Horison Palma Pangandaran
Horison Palma Pangandaran
#1 of 15 in Pangandaran
47 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pangandaran
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Resort Batu Karas Hotel
7.8 mi away
Java Lagoon Hotel
Java Lagoon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Pangandaran
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bale Karang Cottages
Bale Karang Cottages
#6 of 8 in Batu Karas
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Monyet Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Monyet Java

Address: Jalan Pantai Batukaras | Jalan Pantai Batukaras, Cijulang 46394, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Cijulang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cijulang
Price Range: $15 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of local culture try Villa Monyet's famous barbeque night. The way we eat is unique; nasi liwet or rice cooked in a traditional wok with special spices, is served up with the freshest, most succulent local barbequed fish, crabs and prawns on huge banana leaves at one long, single table. Everyone eats together, without spoons or forks, only hands, often fighting over the best part of the fish, or the last bit of sambal, just as monkeys do. That's why our place is called Villa Monyet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Monyet Java Cijulang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing