We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ding Dong”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell

The Bell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Country pub, restaurant and boutique B&B situated about 4 miles south of Stratford upon Avon on the edge of the Cotswolds. Award winning gastro pub with emphasis on taste and flavour, all dishes are imaginative and cooked fresh to order. Menu changes with the season to accommodate fresh, local and seasonal produce. Wines are handpicked and guest ales run alongside Guiness, Alscot Ale and Robinsons cider. Each of the nine rooms are individually styled with en-suite facilities and added luxuries such as L'Occitane toiletries and fresh milk and Monsoon Estates coffee. The perfect retreat for any occasion.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ding Dong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Been going to the Bell for about 5 years now, its been through a bad patch, buts seems to be getting it right again, had the fish sharing platter,very nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueSusanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    133
    47
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Lost count of the number of times we have dined here. We have never been disappointed and our expectations are consistently high. Thank goodness the masses have yet to descend!

Helpful?
Thank Jules T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Found the food excellent and the staff friendly and very welcoming.
Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wrong night for a quiet meal out.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

When I booked a table for 2 on Friday 28 march , usual time of 7.30 ( we have eaten here many times before..) I was asked if 7.00 would be OK as it spreads out the kitchen work. Nothing else was mentioned. That was OK by us . We arrived to a very busy bar area and noisy live entertainment - again not a bother as the eating tables are in a different area. Shown to a small poorly lit table tucked against the wall with sound echoing all around. Could not hear what the waitress was saying Asked to be moved to another table further away from the music, 5 other tables for 2 all empty, but request was refused. Most unpleasant experience so we left..... you have lost our patronage.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies. We do have live music on occasionally, usually a guitarist perhaps once per month and this is at the request of customers that attend Champagne Friday in the bar, we are conscious that we don't like this to impact on dinners so therefore music is usually on between 5pm - 7pm. Again we are sorry and hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We are frequent visitors at the pub as the food is always so nice. Kids fish and chips is a big winner! Staff friendly and lovely surroundings. What more could you want?

Helpful?
Thank Stalls_lifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing