We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bell
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ettington Park Hotel(Alderminster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Inn(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Lodge(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sequoia House(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thistle(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
97
28
12
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
28
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsregular treatbath productspub hotellooked deliciousgastro pubexcellent mealmaking our stay so enjoyablelittle touchesstratford upon avonsmoked salmonservice at breakfastporridgeshort drivesunday lunchstayed for two nightsfull english breakfastwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 141 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here and we couldn’t have wished for a more charming venue. Our room, the Alscot Suite, was spacious, warm, tastefully appointed (complete with 4 poster bed) and very comfortable. However the Wi fi internet is patchy

We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the food was excellent. Breakfast was also superb and the portions are very generous.

The surrounding area is quiet, picture postcard rural England and Stratford is an easy drive away although I’m told that Taxis are eyewateringly expensive.

We would also recommend ‘Champagne Fridays’ - served between 4 and 7pm – great value and excellent canapes.

A memorable weekend

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NorthernPlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

We're delighted that you chose The Bell for your special occasion and delighted that you enjoyed! Apologies for the Wi-Fi, we have a new superfast broadband system and we did experience a few teething problems, fingers crossed all is now sorted and hopefully you will put that to the test on your next visit. Thanks again for your lovely comments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed for one night in January 2014.

The room had not been used recently it seemed and had not been freshly cleaned or properly prepared. The heating was turned off and the thermostat was only activated when we went to complain it was cold.

The evening meal that we had with friends was excellent, as was the breakfast.

However for what this is, a pub with rooms, it is very expensive.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are attached to the pub, some are accessed externally. Suggest the "indoors" rooms are better
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnyMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Apologies if the room was cold, we had an issue whereby the thermostat was located within another guest room and the guest had turned this down as opposed to the adjusting the radiator valves which is what we encourage, subsequently the heating in the connecting rooms also went off. This was resolved and again apologise for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I should firstly declare that our stay at the Bell was a prize in their Facebook draw.

Stayed for the weekend in the Alscott Suite, which was gorgeous. Our suite featured a good sized sitting room with DVD player (great for cosying in when the weather is not suitable for exploring the Cotswolds), a wonderfully comfortable 4-poster bed, a bath and the most amazing double shower.

The Bell has a boutique hotel level of detail and decor, but still very much a country pub with a great atmosphere. As with so many things, it's the small things that make a difference: A well-stocked tea tray with chilled milk, L'Occitaine bath products, free wifi, quality bedding and even ducks in the bath!

Breakfasts were delicious, as was the dinner we had on Saturday night. Staff in all areas were attentive without being overbearing.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrswhothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

we have just returned from a weekend break for our wedding anniversary in the Garland room and wow what a place! The room is beautifully designed, and truly unique. So much thought has gone into this place, from the high class furnishings to the little touches such as homemade biscuits on the tea tray. we ate in The Bell both nights, the first night choosing a bar meal, which i might add would out do many top restaurants! The second night we chose from the a la carte menu and all our dishes we quite simply perfection on a plate. only other thing to say is how wonderful the staff are. Extremely helpful and polite, but at the same time gave us the space and privacy to enjoy the romance of such a beautiful place. Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mrandmrsmorgsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments it's much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed one night and arrived in the dark so couldn't appreciate how lovely the place was until we had a look round the next day. It's located in a quiet spot although just off the main road so a great place for a stopover. We stayed in October but would love to go back in summer when you can sit outside as the gardens looked lovely and I believe there is live music at certain times.
We had a wonderful evening meal in the pub before we retired to our room with a glass of wine from the bar. We had booked one of the rooms and on entering it smelt a bit musty but we didn't say anything. Whilst we were having dinner the manager came to our table and said that they felt the room wasn't up to scratch due to the smell and upgraded us to the Alscot Suite. We were very impressed particularly as we hadn't complained about it. Having seen 2 of the rooms they are all very individual and quirky, from the bed to the mirrors and décor. The Alscot suite had a sitting room area with dvd's and lovely chairs and blankets to use if a little chilly. There was also a bath in the room, which isn't really our thing but was lovely. We were sorry that we only had one night there and couldn't make the most of it.
The breakfast the following morning was above our expectations, every little extra touch had been thought of and it was so homely and quirky and you get a lovely view of the gardens whilst sipping your coffee.
We stay in a lot of pubs and can honestly say that this is one of the best ones we have experienced and we would thoroughly recommend it. The staff were exceptional, both friendly and professional. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the garden side or at the back so you get a nice view rather than on the road side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teejay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBells033, Owner at The Bell, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

WOW thank you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews