We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, fantastic value short-break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Ross On Wye
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent service, fantastic value short-break”
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Took my parents here for a 3 night break and went for the special deal (dinner, bed, breakfast and champagne each night). This was fantastic value - the hotel is first class and what marks it out is the service - who does training / management should be congratulated, nothing is too much trouble, everyone is friendly and looks as though they actually enjoy their job and this makes for an enjoyable stay. Food is excellent, especially breakfast, everything is very good quality and little touches like homeade preserves, decent local produce really add to the experience. Evening set dinner had limited choices (3 starters, 3 mains etc) this changed every other day. You can go off set menu for additional charges and this when things add up, drinks, coffee etc are expensive, but for what worked out at £65 per person per night for dinner included, who's complaining?! Rooms were excellent, great TVs, nice bathrooms, air conditioning etc, everything you would expect at a 4/5* hotel. Check where yourrooms is, as some are in a courtyard. I think rooms in main hotel probably have most character and nicest views etc. what was also nice was the hotel had a good mix of young couples, families, and on the last day we were there, a wedding party. There was plenty of people watching in the bar / lounge, which my folks liked. I'd recommend this hotel without hesitation. Have stayed at another Hand Picked Hotel (Buxton park in Sussex) and would say this group is head and shoulders above many of the others. Looking forward to trying out some of the others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memberRossonWye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    360
    124
    50
    25
See reviews for
277
788
11
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Also stayed in room 3 and was surprised this rated as a classic room as it was large, had a pleasant view of the garden and seemed to offer at least what was described on the website as an executive room. In addition, we found the staff particularly helpful on our arrival and they had put fruit and chocolates in our room at no cost as it was our anniversary! We paid slightly more for our deal than the previous reviewer (£150) but it included a decent-sized glass of champagne and canapes before our evening meal. (Try to book the Oak Room.)
One thing of note, don't expect hairdryers in the pool changing rooms! As we had checked out of our room early before using the pool, this was an issue. However, I was more surprised at the staff surprise that it might be a problem! Find it hard to believe this delightful leisure facility had been open a year and no-one else had required a hair-dryer.
One other thing, we caught a glimpse of a courtyard room and thought our classic room was much nicer. The lounge area of the former looked out onto an overlooked courtyard so had to have net curtains and seemed dark.
Overall a very pleasant stay and excellent value if you can get a comparable deal!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I have recently returned from a very enjoyable short break at this hotel.

The hotel building is a most impressive Victorian Gothic country house, with a matching modern wing. It is surrounded by grassy parkland. Once inside the decor is in good condition. The public rooms and our bedroom - number 3, which I recommend because of its sunny garden views - were nicely decorated in a slightly Victorian style.

We booked a special offer for dinner, bed and breakfast at £130 per night for two people. This was outstanding value for money. I've paid twice this for half the quality in other hotels.

Both the dinner and breakfast were very good meals. There was plenty of choice, it was nicely cooked and served with a smile.

The swimming pool was worth a visit. It was not especially big but was attractive, clean and warm. It was fun swimming in the warmth looking at it pouring with rain outside.

All the staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful. The hotel had a good atmosphere because plenty of people were staying. The dining room was pretty full for both dinner and breakfast.

Finally, when exploring the hotel, I noticed a few rooms which probably only have a view of an internal courtyard. Considering the nice views of countryside available I'd choose to avoid these.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolategoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Enjoyed a really lovely weekend, accommodation, food and service were very good. Only one thing I would beware of, and that is the cost of drinks. I do feel the charges were rather excessive. Otherwise a delightful place, and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouserNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmaiden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Nice hotel but has a confusing layout
Lovely grounds with nice swimming pool
24 hr room service

We stayed in a room with a lounge area downstairs. Bathroom was v compact.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary. Wanted something special and this place did not disappoint. We upgraded to a suite in the main building which was lovely - set on 3 floors, 3 flatscreens (incl. one opp the bath!) and all the mod-cons. We used the facilities (pool, spa, steam room and sauna) and enjoyed the grounds on the first day, travelling from the hotel to the lovely town of Stratford (15mins away) on the following day. We booked a dinner, B&B package and I have to say the food was excellent, as too was the service. I cannot think of a single negative to write about this hotel. Book it - you will not regret!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LC_MUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This place looks better than the websites can do it justice. It is a very english country establishment and we loved it. We are a couple of younger travellers and it appealed greatly.

The room was fantastic with a large bathroom and plenty of natural light. The bed was incredible. Large and with really high quality bedding. This is a great getaway.

The breakfast is an absolute highlight. Best I have ever had in Europe. Cooked to order as well as a buffet - all included in room cost. The restaurant and service was impeccable.

Price meant we didn't eat at the restaurant. I am sure it has excellent food, but strange thing was it was open 7 to 9.30. May suit the elderly and those with young kids - but in summer, that is still daylight! You can't exactly make a night of it. We saw people ordering their meals from the bar (which is more like a lounge - really cosey) before going in to dine. Not sure if that was because of time constraints...if so, that is appaling. But eating in Stratford which is just up the road was good enough for us.

This place is very regal, and very british (we are a couple of Aussies and wanted a taste of the English country side). It would suit anyone looking for tradional digs and old fashioned service (service, something the UK doesn't have much of). I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E_Hemingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,874 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,453 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,626 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing