We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure, Should be so much more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I Stayed at the Ettington Park Hotel March 2014 for a work conference.
As I arrived late for the meeting, I ordered a bacon sandwich which when it arrived was exactly that, 2 pieces of bread & 2 rashers of bacon! what else did you want I hear you cry, well not a £8.50 bill for one, maybe some sauce, garnish or a golden platter

I found the hotel generally tired and in need of some decoration, the Spa offered no treatments other than pool, steam room or gym.

My room was a good size with a very nice bathroom, and although it was perfectly clean, it just felt tired.

Dinner was disappointing, the menu was limited and very much on a game theme with pigeon and pheasant type dishes on offer, I still don't understand why I had to place my order at lunch time as we were only a small group of seven.

I found the food and menu pretentious, over priced and felt it failed to hit the fine dining mark by a considerable distance

Service was poor with it taking over half an hour to get a bottle of wine, nothing here is a disaster, I just left feeling a little short changed and wanting a little bit more

Really could and should do better 6/10

Room Tip: Not for a Spa weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyJ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in our service delivery. I have discussed your feedback with my managers and we have taken the action necessary to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. I do hope this will not deter you from visiting Ettington Park Hotel again in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

I took my partner here at the weekend for a night stay. It was Friday so not so busy. Upon arrival the building was stunning and the grounds equally so. Checking is was seamless and the very friendly receptionist was very welcoming. I had booked an executive room and discovered that we had been upgraded to a suite. Wow - we had the Pritchard Suite (Room 50) and it was very romantic at the top of the main house and so peaceful. Our suite was huge with all the comforts you would need for a stay. Bathroom was gorgeous and very large and well equipped. We had drinks in the bar and ate a lovely meal in the lounge. Breakfast was really good too and you had plenty to choose from. There was also a birthday card left on our bed for my partner as it was his birthday stay and we thought this was a nice touch. Staff here are very helpful, welcoming and warm and we cannot wait to go back for another stay. This place is well hidden and its gorgeous. I will recommend this hotel to everyone. If I could return today I would but you can bet we will be going back.

Room Tip: Room 50 is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeca69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you both back for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the gorgeous Ettington Park Hotel. The hotel was stunning, we arrived early and the staff were very friendly and hospitable.

When we checked in we got a free upgrade and stayed in the Stour suite, with views of the beautiful countryside and the old church, which is close to the hotel.


The hotel has a fantastic spa facility, with a glass roof, which creates a really pretty light space to relax in.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel, but the restaurant looked lovely and breakfast was very nice.

I would definitely recommend the Ettington Park Hotel if you are looking for a romantic weekend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MarkPalmer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are pleased that you have special memories from your anniversary weekend and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with three other families of four; the children (12-16) had their own twin rooms opposite their parents' doubles. We were celebrating a special birthday, and the hotel looked after us well, with great care and service. The food was very good, and they responded well when we asked them to slow our food delivery down a bit during our evening meals.

The building is lovely, facilities are good including a nice pool, sauna & jacuzzi, and it's all set in gorgeous grounds with local walks, nearby attractions at Stratford, Warwick and Upton, and deer roaming freely around the area.

It's not cheap, but for a great family weekend with friends it was excellent.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I am feeling very sad,as I am writing this review on the night before our last full day here at Ettington park,I do NOT want to leave!!The beautiful gothic building is full of character and beauty, from the snowdrops at the entrance,to the grazing deer and the lovely country park which is the setting for this jewel of a hotel.Our arrival was marred slightly by the statement that we were not booked in for dinner and that we could eat in the lounge,if we liked,but that the restaurant was fully booked, however Pawel,the restaurant manager was very obliging and managed to fit us in. We were taken to our room which is charmingly different,large suite in the eaves of the house with amazing beams. The bed is very comfortable and unusually for,these days has a "turn down" service. There is a large flat screen tv. Wi fi and a well appointed bathroom with plenty of fluffy towels. The staff are all absolutely wonderful, friendly,helpful and caring,nothing is too much trouble. The food is exquisite,with an excellent choice of wines and attentive lovely staff,who really seem to care(not just lip service) we shall certainly come back soon and would happily recommend it to anyone who wants a holiday or short stay full of luxury,good food and total relaxation.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room fifty as it is in the quiet top of the house,is large and has a lovely view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been shared with my team, who very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here as part of an offer with my husband. The hotel has lots of character and is in a lovely setting. Although parts of the hotel are a little worn I was more than happy to overlook this given the excellent quality of the food and service. The bedroom was clean and the beds were very comfortable. My only wish is that I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lprecious123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear just how much you both enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel got off to a very bad start when we were greeted by an exceedingly rude receptionist who's first words to us were - you can't check in! Slightly taken aback we explained we had rung the day before and had been told we could come earlier in the day and use the pool etc as we were travelling quite a way. Who told you that, what was their name was the response, you need to leave and come back later. Mmm - not a great start. Astounded at her rudeness we spoke to the operations manager who apologised and said he would personally ensure we had a perfect stay and that it was an unusual blip ..sadly he spoke too soon. We came back at 3pm to check in as requested and were taken to our room. It seemed ok but unfortunately , it hadn't been cleaned properly - there was food all over the floor and chair and make up on the dressing table. Mr operations manager came back.. I expressed surprise that he hadn't wanted to check the room was perfect given our shaky start.. Oh no one told me you were here came the response... Our confidence was fairly dented at this point and if we hadn't pre-paid we would have left as had come away for a luxury break, not a fawlty towers experience. We headed to the pool. Things looked up, it was warm and very nicely done - a relief. Next to try a cup of tea, advertised as being served with home made biscuits . Well, after asking 3 times for the biscuits, half an hour after the tea came, a plate with one small biscuit each arrived. Ok so that is tea and biscuit in the singular!! Dinner for the adults was included in the package and was adequate - fish was over cooked but it was fine and as our expectations were now at rock bottom the glass of champagne also helped! The restaurant manager was also very friendly and polite which was an upside. Another good point was the comfy bed and lovely big fluffy towels - we were trying to be positive. Breakfast the next morning - again adequate - I ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs in the hope of getting freshly made eggs as the ones on the buffet didn't look great. Unfortunately I was served the same eggs with a large slab of brown smoked salmon on top - very unappetising .. So all in all, not a great stay. I spoke to the general manager as we left and she did offer apologies and comped the extra drinks and children's food which was an appreciated gesture. However, we didn't get the 4* package we expected and paid for and left feeling very let down. This was our first experience of Handpicked and if this is indicative of the service standards they offer, it will be our last.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. We do try to offer early check in if possible, should this not be possible, we are more than happy for guests to leave their luggage with us whilst either using the pool or having afternoon tea. I would be more than happy to have a further discussion with you, should you wish to contact me. Please be assured that all your comments have been addressed to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I do hope that you will return for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,999 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,533 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,123 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: $139 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing