We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable, smart hotel for business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Trstenik, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Reliable, smart hotel for business stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night mid-week whilst on business nearby, booking a classic room.

The room was a reasonable size, with a good amount of storage space (wardrobe and drawers) and a decent-sized bed that was comfortable and aided a good night's sleep. There was a large LCD TV (I'm guessing 32") although the selection of channels wasn't that wide.

The bathroom was a good size, well-lit and with a shaving mirror. The shower was over the bath (which being very tall usually makes it difficult to be able to actually get under it) but it was set a good height above the floor of the bath so no stooping down was required. The water pressure & temperature were both fine.

The room was relatively modern although I would have expected a slightly higher specification, e.g. an iPod/USB docking station to be able to charge devices & stream music. Having said that, this was a 'standard' grade room and the higher priced Executive rooms may be more aligned with business guests. I booked at short notice and had to take what was available.

As I had arrived mid-evening after a long day's work, I didn't feel like a big meal in the restaurant and so ordered a sandwich from room service. It was very tasty but I felt a little expensive for what it was.

I did intend to use the hotel's swimming pool in the morning but was somewhat put off by being given a health & safety form to complete when I checked-in. Many of the hotels that I stay in have a pool (it's always a nice luxury to be able to go for a swim first thing in the morning) but I've never been asked to complete a questionnaire before being to use it.

The room was £135 including breakfast, which represents very good value given that the Hilton/Holiday Inn can be around the same cost per night and don't have any of the character of Ettington Park.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Propaganda_Machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and the comments you have made, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    367
    129
    51
    26
See reviews for
281
800
12
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I booked this hotel as a stop over on our way back from a weekend away to Wales. The pictures on the website don't do it justice, the grounds are magnificent, the service is swift and courteous and the hotel itself retains it's grandeur as a neo gothic country house, but has all the modern facilities you'd expect of a hotel.
The swimming pool is lovely with steam room, sauna and jet jacuzzi. Not a spa as such, but a nice place to relax.
The restaurant is a little pricey (as is the drinks menu), but the food is extremely good as is the service. It's always nice when staff around a hotel remember who you are and refer to you by your name, rather than as sir or madam.
The rooms are comfortable, (we stayed in an executive suite) without being too flashy. Clean beds with good quality mattresses, a nice big bathroom and little things that some big hotels just get wrong. Good quality toiletries, tea and coffee in the room, and an iron which when you're living out of a case is a must.
Can't recommend this hotel enough for a short stay, it's not the most convenient if you're visiting Stratford on Avon, but to be honest, once you see the grounds and the hotel, you'll want to stay around the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would like to say a special thank you to Bradley and Grainne for making mum's 85th Birthday Surprise Celebration on Saturday 24th August a great success.

Some people had cream tea and some had the full traditional afternoon tea. This was a family occasion for my mum's birthday and all of my family commented on how lovely and fresh the scones were and how nice the sandwiches were. It all went off well and everybody enjoyed the experience. We had the celebration in the South Room which was set up beautifully and with candles.

The hotel arranged a birthday plate decorated with 'happy birthday ' for mum and a small glass of champagne, which was much appreciated and a lovely guesture.

I would recommend Ettington Park Hotel for this experience to celebrate an occasion as it is a lovely venue and the food and staff are excellent and very welcoming.

Thanks again for making my mum's birthday so special.

Deb + Craig x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEB186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am so pleased that Bradley and Grainne made your celebration so memorable. Please once again send our congratulations to your Mum. We do very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you appreciate great service, a lovely country setting and a hotel's architecture that is steeped in history than the Eddington Park Hotel is for you. There is a restaurant (you may need dinner reservations), a bar, lounge, library, pool and tennis court. We just enjoyed admiring the countryside and the historic aspect of the hotel-the library had books that were hundreds of years old!

The room was spacious with very high ceiling and traditionally decorated. The staff was gracious and accommodating. Wished we could have extended our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, which have been shared with the team. It is a shame you could not stay longer, however we do hope you see for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As you drive up the meandering entrance lined with ancient trees you know you're going to get something special and then you see the house and you go ...wow...go into reception and go...wow. My wife and I and 5yr old went for a short break last week, we had a 2 level family room which my daughter loved as it had a ddouble sofa bed , dining table , enormous wall mounted TV. Our room was upstairs with en suite and another TV , beautifuly decorated. We were booked in on a DBB basis. Eveing meal was wonderful in the old dining room. I can't really further comment on what others have written, great breakfast in the library , great pool little 'un loved it , magnificent grounds, super service from everyone. So to eveyone,bar staff reception , all the waiters and waitresses thanks. you made a special break..just that bit better. If you have a special event coming up this is by far the best hotel I've been to in years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianmacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are delighted to hear of your experience and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Set in 40 acres of its own grounds, this building is a gothic splendor of architecture, exuding grace and beauty. Once you have appreciated the outer facade the interior does not disappoint, with clean and modern lines of the rooms merging seamlessly with the characterful historic features of the original house, which dates back to the eleventh century. The staff are attentive friendly and welcoming without being imposing or any hint of pomposity. The rooms are spacious clean and well appointed and the restaurant serves quality fare without exorbitant prices. There is a pool and tennis courts available should you feel the need. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to sampling more of the 'Handpicked hotel' experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, and are delighted that you enjoyed your time wtih us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night with 2 children, the room we had was fantastic. It was actually 2 rooms on 2 levels, perfect for us. The hotel is beautiful and set in lovely grounds. Thankfully we didn't see any ghosts ! We decided to eat in the lounge rather than the restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the food
Breakfast was not so good. We ordered tea and toast and were asked if we would like it straight away or with the cooked breakfast. We asked for it straight away but after a few reminders neither came until we had almost finished our cooked breakfast. How long does it take to boil a kettle and make toast?
Also as people finished breakfast none of the tables were cleared so we ended up surrounded by tables piled up with dirty plates which spoiled things for us. We appreciate staff were busy with a wedding but still this is not what you would expect in such a nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsPebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies with regard to breakfast, it was a very busy morning as you know, however I have discussed your comments with my operations manager and we have taken the action necessary to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,920 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,083 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,095 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,097 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing