We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUMS 85TH BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I would like to say a special thank you to Bradley and Grainne for making mum's 85th Birthday Surprise Celebration on Saturday 24th August a great success.

Some people had cream tea and some had the full traditional afternoon tea. This was a family occasion for my mum's birthday and all of my family commented on how lovely and fresh the scones were and how nice the sandwiches were. It all went off well and everybody enjoyed the experience. We had the celebration in the South Room which was set up beautifully and with candles.

The hotel arranged a birthday plate decorated with 'happy birthday ' for mum and a small glass of champagne, which was much appreciated and a lovely guesture.

I would recommend Ettington Park Hotel for this experience to celebrate an occasion as it is a lovely venue and the food and staff are excellent and very welcoming.

Thanks again for making my mum's birthday so special.

Deb + Craig x

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEB186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am so pleased that Bradley and Grainne made your celebration so memorable. Please once again send our congratulations to your Mum. We do very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you appreciate great service, a lovely country setting and a hotel's architecture that is steeped in history than the Eddington Park Hotel is for you. There is a restaurant (you may need dinner reservations), a bar, lounge, library, pool and tennis court. We just enjoyed admiring the countryside and the historic aspect of the hotel-the library had books that were hundreds of years old!

The room was spacious with very high ceiling and traditionally decorated. The staff was gracious and accommodating. Wished we could have extended our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, which have been shared with the team. It is a shame you could not stay longer, however we do hope you see for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As you drive up the meandering entrance lined with ancient trees you know you're going to get something special and then you see the house and you go ...wow...go into reception and go...wow. My wife and I and 5yr old went for a short break last week, we had a 2 level family room which my daughter loved as it had a ddouble sofa bed , dining table , enormous wall mounted TV. Our room was upstairs with en suite and another TV , beautifuly decorated. We were booked in on a DBB basis. Eveing meal was wonderful in the old dining room. I can't really further comment on what others have written, great breakfast in the library , great pool little 'un loved it , magnificent grounds, super service from everyone. So to eveyone,bar staff reception , all the waiters and waitresses thanks. you made a special break..just that bit better. If you have a special event coming up this is by far the best hotel I've been to in years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianmacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are delighted to hear of your experience and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Set in 40 acres of its own grounds, this building is a gothic splendor of architecture, exuding grace and beauty. Once you have appreciated the outer facade the interior does not disappoint, with clean and modern lines of the rooms merging seamlessly with the characterful historic features of the original house, which dates back to the eleventh century. The staff are attentive friendly and welcoming without being imposing or any hint of pomposity. The rooms are spacious clean and well appointed and the restaurant serves quality fare without exorbitant prices. There is a pool and tennis courts available should you feel the need. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to sampling more of the 'Handpicked hotel' experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, and are delighted that you enjoyed your time wtih us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night with 2 children, the room we had was fantastic. It was actually 2 rooms on 2 levels, perfect for us. The hotel is beautiful and set in lovely grounds. Thankfully we didn't see any ghosts ! We decided to eat in the lounge rather than the restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the food
Breakfast was not so good. We ordered tea and toast and were asked if we would like it straight away or with the cooked breakfast. We asked for it straight away but after a few reminders neither came until we had almost finished our cooked breakfast. How long does it take to boil a kettle and make toast?
Also as people finished breakfast none of the tables were cleared so we ended up surrounded by tables piled up with dirty plates which spoiled things for us. We appreciate staff were busy with a wedding but still this is not what you would expect in such a nice hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlandsPebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies with regard to breakfast, it was a very busy morning as you know, however I have discussed your comments with my operations manager and we have taken the action necessary to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just had our wedding reception at Ettington park hotel.
Everything was perfect.
Wonderful service, food, location & ambience in addition great support from the wedding team.
Provenance restaurant all locally sourced food.
Beautiful grounds
Relaxed staff
Great service without formality.
Good front of house.
Perfect bridal suite overlooking 40 acres parkland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Please accept our congratulations once again and we are delighted to have made your special day so memorable. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Oh how we loved this hotel - we didn't want to leave!

While travelling down to Cornwall for a weeks holiday, we decided to break the 7 hour journey up with a stay here. On arrival we were warmly greeted by an incredibly nice receptionist...possibly the best welcome we've ever had a hotel! As a parent, I very much appreciate staff taking the time to talk to my children and making them feel wanted :-)

Our family room was great, with everything we needed with two bedrooms. We were only staying one night, and wandered out for a walk before dinner....the same receptionist jumped up as we walked through the entrance hall offering to tell our children the story of their special frog and show them his plaque outside. They were very impressed! The grounds are stunning, we played croquet on the lawns, walked along the river and enjoyed the fabulous setting in the evening summer sun...we were in heaven!

Breakfast the next morning was a real pleasure, served by the very attentive Vijay. He was again so warm and welcoming, he couldn't do enough for us, and we were made to feel very special - and I can't remember the last time we felt like that in a hotel. the breakfast was fabulous, and we were very sorry we only stayed one night.

We live in a very old listed building, and the architecture of this place was very interesting to us...other less favourable reviews on here simply don't appreciate a place like this. It's incredibly hard to maintain them, but they are charming and a real asset to the country - they are our heritage and need to be loved and understood. They aren't purpose built hotels, and you must remember that!

Our opinion? If you don't love this place and their fantastic staff - it's not them that's at fault....it's you ;-) Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pidge_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made we are delighted that you decided to stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,003 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,536 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,124 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: $139 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing