We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Oh how we loved this hotel - we didn't want to leave!

While travelling down to Cornwall for a weeks holiday, we decided to break the 7 hour journey up with a stay here. On arrival we were warmly greeted by an incredibly nice receptionist...possibly the best welcome we've ever had a hotel! As a parent, I very much appreciate staff taking the time to talk to my children and making them feel wanted :-)

Our family room was great, with everything we needed with two bedrooms. We were only staying one night, and wandered out for a walk before dinner....the same receptionist jumped up as we walked through the entrance hall offering to tell our children the story of their special frog and show them his plaque outside. They were very impressed! The grounds are stunning, we played croquet on the lawns, walked along the river and enjoyed the fabulous setting in the evening summer sun...we were in heaven!

Breakfast the next morning was a real pleasure, served by the very attentive Vijay. He was again so warm and welcoming, he couldn't do enough for us, and we were made to feel very special - and I can't remember the last time we felt like that in a hotel. the breakfast was fabulous, and we were very sorry we only stayed one night.

We live in a very old listed building, and the architecture of this place was very interesting to us...other less favourable reviews on here simply don't appreciate a place like this. It's incredibly hard to maintain them, but they are charming and a real asset to the country - they are our heritage and need to be loved and understood. They aren't purpose built hotels, and you must remember that!

Our opinion? If you don't love this place and their fantastic staff - it's not them that's at fault....it's you ;-) Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pidge_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made we are delighted that you decided to stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We are regular visitors to Handpicked hotels, but had never been to Ettington Park. We had decided on an afternoon tea to check the hotel out for a future visit with friends.

The hotel itself is a beautiful old house set in equally lovely grounds with the river running through.

We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff who were more than happy for us to have a wander round first and gave us a bit of a guided tour and a printed handout on the history of the house and reported ghost sightings.

We were then shown into the lounge where tea was being served. We chose to sit in the large bay window which had wonderful views of the grounds, even better on a sunny day.

The tea was served on three separate slate platters, which made a quirky change from the normal tiered plate, although they were used as well for other parties. The usual selection of sandwiches, ham and mustard, smoked salmon, cucumber and cheese & tomato, unfortunately made with sliced bread, although they tasted fine. Two scones each, plain and fruit, lovely clotted cream and red jam, not great quality jam so unsure of which fruit it was. A selection of 6 cakes each on the final platter, a mix of flavours.

The two members of staff serving were quietly efficient and unobtrusive unless you spoke to them and then they were both charming and courteous.

We could not eat everything and they kindly offered to box up what was left for us to take home, which we did. As did most others as far as I could see.

In summary good, but not the best afternoon tea, that honour still rests with Armathwaite Hall. A beautiful hotel and grounds though which we look forward to re visiting in the New Year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slimfastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked a classic two day break to mark our August birthdays. This is a most imposing Gothic styled hotel set in most beautiful grounds. It is really well placed for Stratford upon Avon. We were welcomed by efficient and friendly staff - something which was sustained throughout our stay. Our evening meal was delicious, especially my choice of deconstructed kedgeree as my starter. Our standard room was nice but not especially large or obviously a cut above other hotels which this purports to be. Maybe a glass of wine on arrival or a few chocolates might distinguish it. Breakfast was excellent though service was a little slow on one morning. Overall we had a great stay and will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review, we are so pleased to heart that you enjoyed your stayed and we were able to make your birthdays a memorable occasion, we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at Ettington Park Hotel for a birthday celebration and can say this is probably the best hotel we’ve ever stopped at.
The staff were excellent as was our room. The grounds with its ruined chapel were magical. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was amongst the best we’ve had at a hotel.
Although there was a wedding in progress on the night that we were there we were not disturbed by the disco as our room was in a separate block from the main house. Just one small criticism – to get to the bedroom block we had to pass a row of wheelie bins and the back door to the kitchens – ah well you can’t have it all!
Would we go there again – absolutely, to make a special occasion just wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeBeTheCatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for completing your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and your comments have been passed onto my team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My other half booked Ettington Park as part of my birthday surprise in July 13. What can I say, the place is awe inspiring, the history is well documented in the rooms 'guide' which gives you a sense of your surroundings. Ettington Park is a must for any traveller. We enjoyed excellent service by the ever attentive staff, one of the best meals we've ever tasted in the main restaurant and evening tea with scones to die for. On the first evening we met up with another couple also staying at the hotel and ended up wandering the building/grounds until the early hours, it's definitely a place to get you thinking - We would definitely return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Animal1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of' Ettington Park’,we are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us and are certainly hoping that you return for your birthday next year. Kind Regards,
Grainne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we had booked in for 3 nights and paid the full amount in advance. the room was nice but on the second day we went into STRATFORD UPON AVON for the day and went back to our room only
to find that the room had been stripped of all our belongings and we found them dumped in our
suitcase which was standing up in the middle of our room. I rang reception who explained that a member of staff wrongly thought that we were only there for one night and when we had not checked out by 11 o clock that morning she sent the boys in to clear the room. We felt distraught that strangers had been through all our personal things for no good apparent reason.

When asked if they had checked how many nights we had paid for they could not give a reasonable answer.

this stay had meant to be a happy occasion for us as i had just finished my cancer treatment and instead it had turned into a nightmare. If we had not already booked seats for HAMLET at the theatre we should have gone straight home.I was still shaking 3days after the ordeal.

We were promised a letter of explanation but to date we have not received one a full week later.
We were however offered 50% off the price of one night but we asked for 100 % which was granted.Also they gave us a couple of afternoon teas but none of these goodwill gestures any way made up for our huge disappointment and inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Myrtle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

I hope the letter has arrived with you, it was posted on the 13th /14th August, the delay was due to the full investigation which had to happen due to the seriousness of the upset we had caused you, if the letter does not arrive I would be very grateful if you would contact myself at the hotel, so I can confirm your address .Kind Regards Grainne Hayden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were given a voucher as a present which we upgraded, paid an extra £50, and booked in for a three course dinner and a glass of wine each. The staff were helpful and attentive but it turned out they struggled to understand how to apply the voucher code. It took getting on for an hour before the receptionist agreed that we could eat, after much to-ing and fro-ing with the voucher and email from the gift company which stated clearly enough what we had paid and booked for. Quite a stressful and unnecessary start to the evening.If companies subscribe to voucher/experience type offers then staff should be fully aware and trained in how to use them. I did not enjoy my meal as I felt uncomfortable for the remainder of the evening. I received a telephone call the following day from the Hotel accountant telling me that the voucher was fine after all! No real apology for the stress/embarrassment suffered. Such a shame as we had wanted to dine at the Ettington Park for some time, and were really looking forward to it. Really not sure if I would recommend it as a result.On the plus side, the buildings and grounds are wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are sorry about the misunderstanding over your 'Buy a Gift 'voucher. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly the hotel, so I can discuss the issues with you. Regards,
Grainne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,003 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,153 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,535 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,124 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: $139 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing