We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a fabulous place! The location and the building of the hotel immediately set the scene for a memorable stay. This was a night's stay to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary, (a double celebration along with our Best Man and his wife). We were given a friendly welcome and settled into our rooms.
We were only able to make this an overnighter, so the four of us were keen to make the most of the facilities and quickly went down to the pool. This is very nicely laid out with a shower, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna at poolside, and is clean, light and airy. Plenty of clean fluffy towels are conveniently available at poolside and in the changing rooms, so you don't need to worry about using the room ones.

We then enjoyed pre-dinner drinks on the terrace, and a 3 course meal in the restaurant followed by coffee and petit-fours in the lounge - all the settings were impressive, as was the food and drink.

Our double bed was absolutely huge and incredibly comfortable, so we were well rested and able to fit in another swim and sauna before an excellent breakfast and a final walk around the grounds before we left.

It's difficult to fault anything - service was excellent - and there seemed to be a confidence in roles and knowledge. We also appreciated the request that tips be saved to the end of the stay and that they were to be shared equally amongst the staff.

Only tiny quibble is that the decor in the room was essentially grey, which is probably very fashionable but seemed a bit austere, however the room was well appointed and very comfortable and spotless, as was the bathroom.

This hotel is definitely well above our usual price bracket, but we heartily recommend this if you are in the mood for a special celebration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are so very pleased to hear that your enjoyed celebrating your silver wedding anniversaries. We do hope that we have left you all with very special memories and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    357
    123
    50
    25
See reviews for
274
781
11
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It's is a beautiful place. We stay on very special occasions and have a suite and it is total luxury. The views are beautiful and the grounds vast. You ally can walk and not see another soul. Lovely. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The food is good. Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: If you can, have a suite, especially if its a special occasion. Having said this, all of the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. Our objective is to make all guests feel relaxed, which I am pleased to hear was acheived. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For a birthday present last October I was given a voucher for Afternoon Tea for two at the hotel and I have only just got around to using it.

This hotel is a haven of serenity to begin with and the staff made us feel very welcome. As it was probably the hottest day of the year we were offered iced drinks before our set tea arrived. Nicely displayed on oblong slates, there were eight small, oblong sandwiches and a large amount of cakes and scones with jam and cream, which we exchanged for butter. English Breakfast tea completed our order.

It was all delicious, but you do not have a choice and our preference would have been for more savouries than cakes: perhaps small savoury scones, cheese straws or similar. The sweet scones were huge and a little dry, other wise it was all beautifully presented and we could have sat there all afternoon and not asked to move.
We could not eat everything and were provided with a doggy bag to take the remainder home. An original birthday gift and I shall look forward to going again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on Saturday night to celebrate our first year wedding anniversary. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and well kept. From start to finish the service is spot on, everyone is so friendly and polite.

We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and I would say the walls are a bit thin so a bit noisy but that was the only downside to our stay.

The restaurant is lovely, we had a great meal and want to make special mention of Adam who took time to talk to us about the history of the building and its ghosts!

Also want to mention Aaron on the bar, we ended up staying up later than planned as was having such a great conversation with him!

Will definately be returning as we didn't get chance to check out the spa, so a good reason to go back!!

Fine example of a hand picked hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ND2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for completing your review, congratulations on your 1st wedding anniversary. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again, where hopefully you will have time to make use of our pool. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

, very clean, pleasant...loads of history and a great room..plenty of space, lovely staff The grounds are amazing, the views wonderful and the breakfast plentiful. A truly gorgeous retreat..come prepared to look ur best



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night at Ettington Park Hotel but it was truly a wonderful experience.
We arrived mid afternoon at this stunning building in beautiful surroundings to be met by the beaming smile of magda the receptionist. She sat us down and checked us in and also explained where to find everything around the hotel. The concierge then took us up to the room and when he opened the door the noise of our jaws hitting the floor must have been heard around the hotel. It was a junior suite with a stunning bathroom, complete with roll top bath and tv, located above the main bedroom.
During the afternoon we had a walk around the beautiful gardens and ruined church, then had a drink on the terrace before getting ready for dinner.
This was served in a gorgeous baronial dining room and both the food and service were first class.
Breakfast too was served in this room, with a wonderful choice of hot and cold dishes. Along with locally made jams , marmelades and a delicious lemon curd.
All of the staff that we came across were courteous, pleasant and efficient.
However we would like to give a special mention to Adam in the restaurant. So happy and relaxed, that it made you want to be as well.
Thankyou to all

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevnmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made the team are so pleased to hear that they made your stay one to remember and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My sister and I booked Afternoon Tea, for 6, as a 80th birthday treat for our Mother. What a wonderful venue, stunning setting and the staff were friendly and efficient. The afternoon tea was fantastic and was enjoyed by everyone, they even provided little bags for us to take home all the scones and cakes that we were unable to finish. If you are looking for a special place to treat a loved one, then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made with regard to your afternoon tea, we are so pleased that you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,844 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,067 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,558 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,425 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing