We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked to stay at Ettington park for my partner's birthday. We were delighted as we approached the hotel; it looked exactly as it had on the website - stunning! The staff were all really friendly throughout the stay and our room was nice with a lovely comfy bed.
The only thing that let this place down was their food. We had booked to dine on our first night there and were looking forward to being a little spoiled by the elegant sounding food. Unfortunately this was a big let down. Everything, from the canapes, to the main course, to breakfast the next morning was just not good. The battered haddock, which was supposed to be a tempura batter, was thick and greasy. The main course of scallops was just awful with none of the food tasting nice together and the scallops themselves wrapped in a thick piece of greasy bacon. Then there was supposedly a pudding of Mille Feuille, which was just 3 pieces of chocolate stacked on a mousse, not quite a mille feuille! With a cold breakfast the following morning and a slop of scrambled eggs that contained more milk than egg, we concluded the meal had not been a one off. The food here just was not good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I have fully investigated the points you have raised concerning food with my head chef; please let me assure you that this is not typical of the standard we offer. The scallops were wrapped in pancetta not bacon, and the scrambled egg is made with cream not milk, which gives this a completely different texture, I apologise that this was not explained to you at the time. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. Please accept my apologies and I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Recently here for a work function, very grand building. Beautiful rooms full of character, staff were very good, food was excellent, breakfast was good too. We dined in a room upstairs with a wooden ceiling, would be perfect for weddings. I would definitely return for a weekend break I there was a deal on price.

There was also a pool and sauna that we didn't have time to use.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 889SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Ettington Park Hotel exceeded all our expectations and is an amazing place to stay.
Noted for being the most haunted hotel in Britain we were expecting a building with character and were not disappointed. The architecture is best described as French/Italian Gothic in the Harry Potter style. The interior of the hotel is furnished to complement the spacious public rooms. The hotel stands in 40 acres of well-kept parkland
Our bedroom was not in the oldest part but situated in a two storey building which was accessed either by an interior staircase or through part of the garden. The bedroom itself was spotlessly clean, large and was comfortably furnished. We had a view over the garden towards the ruined church.
We had not booked an evening meal so visited a local pub to eat.
After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a superb breakfast served by very attentive and friendly staff.
Unfortunately we had only booked one night as our intention was to spend a full day in Stratford on Avon and then return home but we both decided that we would definitely have to return in the not too distant future.

If you would like to stay in a unique hotel set in quiet surrounding and be looked after by excellent staff then we would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richrun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are so pleased to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us and hopefully you will be able to enjoy dinner with us too. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife son and i went for 3 nights at easter, from the moment we arrived and greeted by the warm and friendly staff we felt at home,we arrived for Easter sunday lunch and the food and service was fantastic, after lunch we were shown to our room a very spacious executive double overlooking the beautiful garden, during the day we enjoyed the pool, surrounding area and the fine dinning in the evening,it was time to go daddy can we stay one more night my wife wanted to also stay so i went down to book a 4th night.All i have to say is this is one of our favourite hotels the building is stunning ,the food, the wine are fantastic but the staff are Amazing and there was not one that did not shine thanyou and see you soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodtasterFoodtaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, my team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Easter break. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked this hotel with expectations of wonderful things to come. Staff incredibly helpful and delightful at all times. Room very atmospheric; stayed in the Shakespeare suite which had a wonderful view of the old church and grounds. The bed was 'ginormous' and so comfortable and the beautiful Victorian rolled top bath was wonderful. The only issue I had was that they have a fantastic drawing room which is adjacent to the bar and we we we charged a whopping £15 for a glass of wine which was far too expensive.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for completing your review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our wines do vary in price according the size of glass of wine you order, which is stated on our drinks menu. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Combined a Shakespeare play at the RSC in Stratford with a night at Ettington Park. Coincidentally our room was the Shakespeare suite which was very spacious and overlooks the Saxon church in the hotel's extensive grounds. The hotel building is unique and a welcome change from the nondescript chain hotels I use with work. The only downside was the lounge area, which was deserted on a Saturday night even though the car-park was full. I soon found out why, when I was charged £15 for a glass of nothing-special Pinot Grigio. I don't mind paying a bit more for food and drink in a luxury hotel, but this felt like blatant profiteering and as there are no local bars and restaurants we retired to our room to watch TV. I would go back though, but next time I'll take my own wine.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jipsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Further to your comment of not having many guests in our lounge, this was due to guests staying for an event which was taking place in another room. With regard to the price of the wine, this is for a very large glass of wine, as we do offer much lower prices for different measures which is stated on our drinks menu. Should you wish to to discuss this with me further I would be more than happy for you to contact me. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Once again thank you for your comments. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a two-night stay to mark a family celebration and were delighted not only by the attractiveness of the venue and the welcoming atmosphere, but also by the quality of the staff and their readiness to ensure that we were being well looked after. The Library provided a wonderful setting for private dining and we thought the food throughout the weekend was excellent. We would recommend requesting a hot buffet service for breakfast for larger groups, which worked particularly well for our second morning. Though the hotel is surrounded by interesting places to visit, the children enjoyed relaxing in the grounds and making use of the pool facilities. The staff were most impressive and helped to make this a highly memorable occasion for everyone involved. We look forward to the possibility of returning in the not-too-distant future!

Room Tip: The family rooms are helpfully lcoated close to the pool and provide spacious accommodation for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Priory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and we are pleased to hear that your family celebration was a memorable time. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,066 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,177 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,154 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range: $135 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing