We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level Contributor
209 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Simply the Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is a former stately home and is set in its own grounds very near the Stratford upon Avon. Deer run past the car as you approach the hotel. The reception is very polite and courteous so one feels like an important vistitor. The room was on two levels with a living room downstairs and then bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Breakfast is taken in the library and dinner is magnificent, even the bar food is wonderful! The new leisure facility with pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room is lovely and is now linked directly to the hotel (the hotel had a major fire several years ago). And the service is simply WONDERFUL.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely but the few special rooms on two levels are the best and cost a little e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made we are so pleased to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    346
    116
    48
    25
See reviews for
264
763
10
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked a 'chill-axing' elegance break weekend away and overall we weren't disappointed. The friendly staff, lovely food and quality/timely service were all wonderful. Our exec bedroom in the garden block was rather small but comfortable and warm, and the grounds and local area were well worth a walk around. HOWEVER I would advise anyone booking a peaceful break at Ettington Park to check first whether there is a wedding taking place during your stay (we didn't unfortunately). Had we of known that there would be a wedding taking place on all three days of our stay, then we would have definately booked an alternative date!! From the moment we arrived we walked straight onto the first ceremony and struggled to even get in the front door!! We then had to wait in a crowded reception area amongst wedding guests until we could check in, which took sometime as there was only one receptionist available at the time, and to be honest, was a disappointing start to our stay. The daily weddings meant that the library, bar and sitting room areas were out of bounds for long periods and therefore not accessible which was disappointing, plus meant that we tended to spend longer periods in our bedroom instead of the main house, which was a shame. Overall a lovely place to stay with wonderful hospitable staff but extremely busy when doubling up as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fizzy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for completing your review the comments you have made we are pleased to hear the you enjoyed your stay with us. We do indeed host weddings and we do work hard to ensure these do not disturb our guests who are not part of the wedding. I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. Should you wish to discuss this with me further please do feel free to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were really looking forward to a break away at Ettington Park, we got a good DBB deal so thought we had got a bargain. On pulling up to the hotel it looks magnificent but instantly from walking in I knew it was not going to be a luxurious experience.
The interior is very tired and upholstery is very shabby with worn carpets and a food smell lingering everywhere. Our bedroom was better decorated and was acceptable particularly for the deal we paid.
Dinner that night was decidedly average, I would have been upset had we been paying full price, the wines were all quite expensive but of a good quality.
Pool area was a positive for the hotel and the biggest positive was that most of the staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Overall it is such a shame as the hotel exterior is amazing and the grounds are fabulous but I would not return to Ettington Park, deal or no deal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, which we have taken on board, on a positive note I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and found the staff to be friendly. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Got a bargain break ( sort of at £155) Cream tea, Champagne and canapes, dinner room and breakfast.. This was supposed to be an executive room. but ,as in most hotels, you did not really know as there was no note in the room or on the door. We had room 12 in the new block , this was in the entrance and had a howling gale under the door and through the room to the french doors . The temperature on the floor area was much lower than the room. Could do with sorting and if we were going to be there longer we would have asked for a room change. The bathroom floor also was freezing.. Just not comfortable really.No bathrobes, as advertised so maybe it was a standard room we shall never know.
On arrival very pleasant staff ,helped with cases and quick checkin was completed. In fact all the staff were most pleasant throughout.
Went to pool for swim and it is what it says, a pool, spa bath and sauna and steam room. Compact and Bijou I think. At least there was one . However in the morning was surprised that there had been no housekeeping and there were no clean towels and the place had not been cleaned at 0800.
Back to the inclusions>
Scones and cream and tea/coffee was the first inclusion so we booked a tea time and arrived to find the room quite busy. Not a problem there was a table which had been used and was quickly cleared. However my tea arrived and was cold? How could that be with fresh tea. Not sure. Scones were fine and hot and jam and cream was good too. Cold tea is not a good start. We had booked 2000 dinner and good job too as many families were struggling with 5/8 year olds in the restaurant at 2200 .. Surely as the hotel knew how many families were booked on the deal there should have been some " holding of space" available to families to dine. It could not have been a surprise as they knew how many had booked for the deal.
The champagne prior to dinner was surprisingly good and the canapes were fine .
Dinner was quite drawn out, staff maybe or ?? Again they know how many were booked so should have staffed accordingly. The food was great but I do not understand why veggies are so sparse.. The Table D'Hote was fine and I do like the idea of paying a bit more and having just one course out of the A La Carte at a small premium. Sleep now and this was so good , the bed was superb and we slept well, after seeing the deer on our way back from the restaurant.
Breakfast was also good but I have to give the prize for cordon Blue style to the fried bread on the breakfast plate. Appx 1 inch square?? Mind you it was tasty and all the food was fresh and hot.
All in All good value but a few improvements to the breeze in room 12 would not go amiss!
+

Room Tip: Just stay away from room 12 if you like a warm room. mind you it has a great garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am sorry to hear that you found the floor area of your room to be cooler than the rest of your room, of course if we were made aware of this at the time, we would have been happy to offer you an alternative room. With regards to dinner, I agree it was extremely busy on this evening and we worked hard to ensure all guests were served in an appropriate timely manner. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. Once again please accept my apologies. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had a lovely stay. The place is fantastic and the grounds awesome. We stayed in the lower end room but it was still very spacious and well presented. Staff were very polite and attentive. Food was delicious. The only down side was the cost of drinks which was ridiculous, the cost of a single vodka and coke you could easily buy a bottle. Also watch out for extras during the meal and room service surcharge. But at the end of the day 9/10

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probbins2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have make, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the bland lighting to the Corby trouser press hung from the wall of the bedroom to the marble lino in the bathroom to the flaccid overcooked vegetables we were served for dinner everything about this place reeks of mediocrity. The house is spectacular but spectacularly under appointed and dull. Were this a bed and breakfast I would have been reasonably satisfied but for anyone looking for something special or luxury I would advise staying elsewhere. Considering the exorbitant price we were massively disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are used to luxury and expect it from somewhere which charges as much as Ettington Park then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baron_s_greenback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, I am sorry to hear that you felt the hotel to be mediocre, and did not meet you expectations on this occasion, I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We used to stay Hand Picked Hotels regularly but not for some time and never before at Ettingham Park. Last year we stayed a New Hall in Sutton Coldfield where the food was dreadful and we left with the impression that the hotel was being run on a shoestring. So much so we felt Hand Picked had had its day so we gave the group a wide berth.

It was only when I received an email from them stating that my "Loyalty" points were due to expire that I booked a two night break at Ettingham Park.

We arrived after a dreadful journey through blizzards and very heavy traffic feeling utterly stressed. Despite the rain lashing down, Pete, Ettingham Park's wonderful elderly concierge, came out to greet us and take our suitcase from the car and took us through to Reception where a lovely Canadian lady checked us in. She was so welcoming and told us about the house. It really did feel like we had arrived at a stately home rather than a hotel.

We had paid for a room upgrade but as Gold card members of the Hand Picked Loyalty Club, the hotel upgraded us again to the Victoria Garden Suite which really is quite stunning. The room is a large open plan bedroom and sitting room with the most spectacular views over the grounds of the hotel. It was beautifully equipped with everything you would expect from a luxury hotel. Each day a small bottle of fresh milk was left in the fridge and biscuits were replenished. Often hotels just top up the tea bags and UHT milk but this was not the case at Ettingham Park, whatever you used, it was replaced.

The food at Ettingham Park is really superb, the A La Carte menu is really enticing. The quality of the ingredients and presentation of all the dinners we ate there were exceptionally good. The service in the restaurant and bar was exemplary, even on Valentines night when the hotel was full and three dining rooms were occupied, the service didn’t falter.

After our first night we asked the hotel if we could extend our stay and fortunately our room was available so we booked the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package, which also included a cream tea in the drawing room. This was excellent value for money and the set menu for dinner was of a no lesser quality than the A’ La Carte.

Breakfast is a cold buffet and hot food cooked to order. I think the buffet could be improved. It’s good but not up to the standard of the dinners. Certainly the croissants and pastries were more 3663 standard than freshly baked which given the quality of the rest of the food served in the hotel was a little odd.

The pool is not huge but clean, warm and large enough to have a decent swim. It is a pity the hotel does not do spa treatments, even if they were limited such as massages.

The grounds are lovely, as are the walks around the neighbouring villages which we were fortunate enough to do in glorious sunshine in the middle of February.

Do ask one of the Pete’s (there are two, both are charming) for a history tour of the hotel and the chapel, it is fascinating. There is also a ghost tour which we didn’t do (hopefully next time we stay) but we did get a printout of the history of the hotel and its ghosts which I recommend reading.

Our stay at Ettingham Park was a revelation. The hotel was certainly one of the best we have stayed in for some time. Certainly the staff, service and dinners were comparable with Sandy Lane in Barbados where we stayed recently.

We left Ettingham Park planning when we would return for another stay. I can honestly say it really is a real gem and from our experience the jewel in Hand Picked’s Crown.

Room Tip: The feature rooms in the main house have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even extended your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
8.6 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing