We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ettington Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The George Townhouse(Shipston on Stour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Bear(Shipston on Stour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Inn(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Lodge(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sequoia House(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Arden Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,610)
Filter reviews
1,610 results
Traveler rating
988
401
136
57
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
401
136
57
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomshakespeare suitehaunted hotelafternoon teaold churchbeautiful hotelexecutive roomgrounds are stunningcountry housesteeped in historysconessteam room and saunawedding partycream teaevening mealwedding breakfastthe main house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,120 - 1,125 of 1,610 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went here with work for business away days. A stately home feel complete with grand decor, high ceilings and lots of space. The venue catered reasonably well for the business element with regular refreshments and an ok buffet style lunch - although they wouldn't provide a simple salad despite the amount we were paying. All the more unusual as they catered for a dairy free diet!

Bedrooms were pleasant and spacious with decent bathrooms and good quality bedding. Staff were attentive and polite. Evening meal was of a good standard and the wine list offered some good choices.

We are going back...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulh616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for completing your review the comments you have raised we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken on board the comments raised with regard to additional items for lunch and this has been addressed. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ettington Park Hotel is part of the Hand-Picked Hotel Group. We came for one night mid-week. The staff at this hotel were superb & very efficient, helpful and friendly, smart and well dressed
Amy checked us in, no sooner had we arrived in our room (number 35 first floor) Amy called up to make sure everything was ok. Pete the most informative concierge showed us to our room.

Room had white colonial folding blinds at the windows, a large flat screen TV. and the bathroom is nice, a lot of mirrors around the room. and dressing gowns on the back of the bathroom door. Bed very comfortable. standards are very high in all respects from cleanliness,
There is fresh milk proper milk in the fridge - no UHT here, mineral water left for you each morning in your fridge which is a nice touch. Was welcomed and given a disabled parking space right by the door and luggage taken up to room. The lift is very dated and noisy, you just got the feeling it was about to stop working any minute, with me still in it. And because our room was just right turn from the lift, you heard it every time someone used it, this really needs to be addressed.

Service was pleasant, quite a few foreign staff, but that`s not unusual in the hospitality industry.
B&B offer (not DB&B) but presumed that we would still be able to eat in the restaurant. But this was not the case.
If we wanted to dine we had to eat in the drawing room. A table would have been made up for us but we felt so unimpressed with the menu of - lamb sausages, beef stew, whole plaice (most at £15.00 + sides at £3.95), and would not have been able to chose from the restaurant menu in this room, so we decided to eat elsewhere, which is ashame as they lost what would have been a good cover for two, I wonder how many more people have eaten else where because of the very same situation we were inn, that`s a lot of money to turn away.

We then ate at the Avon Spice in Stratford-upon-Avon ticks the boxes Not posh by any means, but food good. Main course portions good size, Staff brisk efficient.

The hotel is a place worth seeing in its own rights - typical Victorian Gothic style with large public rooms and wonderful beautiful décor. Despite being historic it is kept immaculate and is very well maintained.

Breakfast is something else served in the Oak Room The slight disappointment was that the breakfast buffet was set up in the Entrance Hall/Reception area .
Freshly cooked to order using first class produce. Tea is even done the traditional way loose and therefore you use a tea strainer.

A very beautiful hotel with stunning grounds and courteous friendly staff, this is surely one of the best hotels in the Handpicked portfolio.

Room Tip: Not room 35 by the lift..
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All guests are welcome to eat in our restaurant if we have the availability, however we were full in the restaurant on that particular evening, and we do ask to make reservations for the restaurant as soon as possible. Many apologies that you experienced noise from the lift during your stay, we would have been happy to offer you an alternative room should we have been made aware. Should you wish to discuss this further with me please do feel free to contact me. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited for two nights from Jan 2. Hotel and room pleasant and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on first night and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We had hoped to repeat the experience on the second eve but we forgot to book in the morning and when we tried to do so at 3.30pm it was fully booked. We were disappointed.The bar meals were rather limited and table/ seating arrangements not suitable. The service was a little slow but staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D18rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, please accept our apologies that we were unable to accommodate for dinner on your second evening. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a night just after Christmas. The Check-In took about 45 minutes as, although we didn't get there till 4pm, our room was apparently not ready. To be fair, the lady dealt with us well, and we waited with a complimentary drink, so no real problems there.

We were in an executive room (an upgrade from the standard). The room itself was very good - fresh milk and water, fantastically comfortable bed, and spacious (although you are in an annex, the views of the outstanding grounds were also very good). It also has Sky Sports channels (which i loved). The drawback to the room was the bathroom. When you are in a hotel, you expect this to be a bit of a haven, but it was almost unusable. The floor was old black and white tiles, and it was freezing. The shower head was small, and there was no bath. These need upgrading.

The pool area was ok, facilities were good and the pool was warm. It's perfectly adequate, although the changing rooms can't fit more than 2-3 people.

We paid £85 for the 2 of us for the night with breakfast and paid £90 for a-la-carte dinner at the hotel. The food was good, as you'd expect, but not worthy of the cost. I'd happily pay that, if the quality reflected it, but it didn't. I'm vegetarian, and i emailed ahead to check there were options. I was sent a "sample menu", but it was stressed that this was a sample. Sadly, it turned out to be the actual menu, and the selection was poor. Filo pastry, or risotto, for nearly £40? I had the pastry, and it tasted so bland. The starter was lovely, and the desert was, again, average. My partner felt the same of hers. Lastly, breakfast has a very good selection, but it came cold. I'm sure, had i sent it back, this would have been sorted, but we were in a bit of a rush - and you shouldn't need to ask.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay, but i felt the hotel was too crowded (it seems that there are weddings most days alongside residents). This was reflected in the sub standard food, and the waiting. I won't come again, but i wouldn't put anyone off trying it, just make sure you get a good deal.

One thing i would point out is that the staff were excellent, probably the best i've seen in a hotel of this standard. Always attentive and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the annex.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for completing your review, I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. We have two rooms in the hotel that have wet shower rooms, all of our other rooms have bath and showers available, we would have been more than happy to change your room should we have been made aware. With regard to your menu, I have discussed this with my head chef and we have taken the action necessary to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I am pleased to hear that you found the standard of service of the staff to be of a high standard. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

For a Christmas treat we visited the hotel for afternoon tea. We had never been before and had found the hotel on the internet. What a beautiful place, lovely gardens, fabulous old building with a really cosy and unpretentious feeling. Tea was served in a small lounge which did feel a bit like a library at times as it was very quiet, no background music but then a violinist who I think was there for a wedding started to play and that was a great touch.

The afternoon tea was reasonably priced and there was a really good selection of sandwiches and cakes and the scones were amazing. The staff were polite and helpful and topped up tea and coffee whenever it was required.

As we left we chatted to a member of staff who I believe was the concierge, he was so friendly and gave us some information on the history of the hotel which was very interesting, he is a credit to the hotel.

All in all a lovely place and a great afternoon tea. Now we know about this lovely hotel we will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gumpandwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for completing your review, we are so pleased you found us and even more delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews