We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited for two nights from Jan 2. Hotel and room pleasant and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on first night and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We had hoped to repeat the experience on the second eve but we forgot to book in the morning and when we tried to do so at 3.30pm it was fully booked. We were disappointed.The bar meals were rather limited and table/ seating arrangements not suitable. The service was a little slow but staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D18rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, please accept our apologies that we were unable to accommodate for dinner on your second evening. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay with us. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    360
    124
    50
    25
See reviews for
277
788
11
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a night just after Christmas. The Check-In took about 45 minutes as, although we didn't get there till 4pm, our room was apparently not ready. To be fair, the lady dealt with us well, and we waited with a complimentary drink, so no real problems there.

We were in an executive room (an upgrade from the standard). The room itself was very good - fresh milk and water, fantastically comfortable bed, and spacious (although you are in an annex, the views of the outstanding grounds were also very good). It also has Sky Sports channels (which i loved). The drawback to the room was the bathroom. When you are in a hotel, you expect this to be a bit of a haven, but it was almost unusable. The floor was old black and white tiles, and it was freezing. The shower head was small, and there was no bath. These need upgrading.

The pool area was ok, facilities were good and the pool was warm. It's perfectly adequate, although the changing rooms can't fit more than 2-3 people.

We paid £85 for the 2 of us for the night with breakfast and paid £90 for a-la-carte dinner at the hotel. The food was good, as you'd expect, but not worthy of the cost. I'd happily pay that, if the quality reflected it, but it didn't. I'm vegetarian, and i emailed ahead to check there were options. I was sent a "sample menu", but it was stressed that this was a sample. Sadly, it turned out to be the actual menu, and the selection was poor. Filo pastry, or risotto, for nearly £40? I had the pastry, and it tasted so bland. The starter was lovely, and the desert was, again, average. My partner felt the same of hers. Lastly, breakfast has a very good selection, but it came cold. I'm sure, had i sent it back, this would have been sorted, but we were in a bit of a rush - and you shouldn't need to ask.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay, but i felt the hotel was too crowded (it seems that there are weddings most days alongside residents). This was reflected in the sub standard food, and the waiting. I won't come again, but i wouldn't put anyone off trying it, just make sure you get a good deal.

One thing i would point out is that the staff were excellent, probably the best i've seen in a hotel of this standard. Always attentive and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for completing your review, I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. We have two rooms in the hotel that have wet shower rooms, all of our other rooms have bath and showers available, we would have been more than happy to change your room should we have been made aware. With regard to your menu, I have discussed this with my head chef and we have taken the action necessary to ensure issues such as yours do not recur. I am pleased to hear that you found the standard of service of the staff to be of a high standard. I would be more than happy to discuss this with you further should you wish to contact me. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

For a Christmas treat we visited the hotel for afternoon tea. We had never been before and had found the hotel on the internet. What a beautiful place, lovely gardens, fabulous old building with a really cosy and unpretentious feeling. Tea was served in a small lounge which did feel a bit like a library at times as it was very quiet, no background music but then a violinist who I think was there for a wedding started to play and that was a great touch.

The afternoon tea was reasonably priced and there was a really good selection of sandwiches and cakes and the scones were amazing. The staff were polite and helpful and topped up tea and coffee whenever it was required.

As we left we chatted to a member of staff who I believe was the concierge, he was so friendly and gave us some information on the history of the hotel which was very interesting, he is a credit to the hotel.

All in all a lovely place and a great afternoon tea. Now we know about this lovely hotel we will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumpandwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for completing your review, we are so pleased you found us and even more delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We originally booked to stay at the Ettington Parks sister hotel in the New Forest, however we could n't go due to a family illness. Rearranged the trip and booked to stay at the Ettington Park Hotel instead. Well we made a great choice.

We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the country (including Gleneagles) and this hotel tops the lot.

It does n't feel like you are staying in a hotel, more like you are a guest at someones country house.

The service is fantastic, the staff helpful and down to earth - not pretentious or over the top in any way. Special mention goes to the member of staff that greeted us in the drawing room and took us through the menu options (he had a german sounding first name Klaus?).

We stayed in a superior room on a dinner, bed and breakfast option.

The food is some of the best we have had. The three course menu gave plenty of choice and the option to upgrade each course to the A la Carte menu at a small additional cost.

Pre dinner drinks are served in the main drawing room which is stunning.

Breakfast is served in the main restaurant and the buffet options are located just off in the small chapel. Beautiful.

A perfect break of two nights that seemed to last a week.

We just can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: God for it and book the superior - its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistairm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ettingtonpark, General Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for completing your review and the comments you have made, we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have also been shared with my team who are delighted to receive positive feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed as a party of 13 (10 adults, 3 children) to celebrate a family members birthday. The family rooms were perfect, having 2 levels we felt that we had 2 rooms. We used the pool and leisure facilities which were beautifilly clean and fresh towels provided on the loungers.
Food was beautiful (we dined privately in the chapel) The staff were very attentive and helpful and provided a very warm welcome. It was great to see bar staff smiling and happy. Staff assisted us with extra requests to enable the gathering to be a surprise and extra special. The children enjoyed exploring the beautiful grounds on a "dinosaur hunt" (deers!) They happily accomodated a dairy free diet with no fuss at all. Highly recomend and hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriainUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review.We are so glad that your family all enjoyed their celebration weekend with us and we hope you find the opportunity to come back and visit in the not too distant future.Kind Regards,Grainne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I spent a weekend at Ettington park as a Christmas treat with my girlfriend, from the moment of booking the staff were brilliant. On arrival the hotel looks superb and just gets better as you walk in, Helen greeted us and showed us to our room which was lovely and spacious with everything you need for a relaxing weekend, full of local knowledge Helen recommended a local place to eat which really was superb, along with booking our taxi-first impressions couldn't be better! Breakfast in the restaurant was superb with a wide choice and again attentive staff, a walk around the gardens reveals a plethora of interesting bits, it's really worth reading the history of the hotel, on our return we asked a few questions and were offered a tour, Damon took us round the hotel and showed us the "hot spots" the chapel and long room are really worth a visit. Damons knowledge interesting anecdotes and factual information along with huge enthusiasm and fantastic rappor are truly a credit to him, I have to say it was a extremely memorable hour and he is a fantastic credit to the hotel. Drinks in the bar were delicious and again the service was second to none, Bradley looked after the two of us exceptionally well and again was full of knowledge and passion in his role.
The pool area was warm, clean and quiet allowing more time for relaxation. We decided not to venture out on our last night and were pleased to be recommended several DVDs which the hotel keep for complementary use by guests-another fantastic touch!
Checking out was a seamless process, helped by Clive with our luggage, another truly charismatic member of the team. I really can't say how pleasurable our stay was at the hotel , try it and I'm sure you won't be disappointed-keep up the fantastic work Ettington Park and a Happy Christmas to you all from the two of us.

Room Tip: It's got to be in the old house!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSpark15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind words,we are thrilled you had such a memorable stay with us and the team made such a positive impression on your stay.We hope you visit again soon,
Kind Regards,Grainne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 day break with my husband. Hotel was beautiful, the grounds fabulous and the staff so attentive. The food at both breakfast and dinner was delicious and we were treated so well. The staff were so helpful and knowledgeable about both the house and the surrounding areas. Stratford-Upon-Avon was enchanting too. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room which was lovely - with a lovely view of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneHayden, Operations Manager at Ettington Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.Kind Regards,Grainne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderminster
6.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,874 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,453 reviews
5.6 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,626 reviews
5.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Park Hotel

Property: Ettington Park Hotel
Address: | Stratford-upon-Avon, Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Alderminster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ettington Park Hotel, the only AA 4 Red Star hotel in Stratford-Upon-Avon, is set in 40 acres of parkland in a verdant valley with the River Stour meandering through it. Situated just six miles from the centre of the famed home of Shakespeare and just a few miles from the start of The Cotswold Way, this spectacular property is a world apart from the hustle and bustle of contemporary life. Built from six types of Cotswold stone, Ettington Park is furnished with fine paintings and decorated with friezes that trace its centuries of tradition and heritage. This is a country house where historic extravagance meets contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Park
Ettington Park Stratford Upon Avon
Ettington Hotel Park
Ettington Park Hotel Alderminster, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing