We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing gîte, beautiful location and an...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Maison du Loup

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Greolieres, Alpes Maritimes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
allisterf...
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing gîte, beautiful location and an incredible host!”
Reviewed November 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I would highly recommend La Maison du Loup, it's just incredible and perfectly located. Nik, our host, was exceptionally welcoming and accommodating too, it was more like being at home and we're already planning our next visit!

A big thank you once again Nik!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate C
1 review
“Best weekend of the year”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is one of the best weekends I've had. The setting is just stunning. There is even a river at the end of the property and a short walk away, there is the most gorgeous dipping pool. The town is close by with a choice of restaurants but to be honest the food cooked by the host was way better that the restaurant we tried out. There's loads of great hikes and if you are feeling brave you can go paragliding. I can't recommend this spot enough, whether its for quiet weekend away or a group of friends looking for fun times.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
It was a real pleasure to have you at La Maison du Loup Kate. Thanks for your kind words and come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excursion...
1 review
“Amazing property, tranquil setting and super helpful owner”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Nik was super helpful from the beginning and very accommodating when our flights were unexpectedly changed, she amended our booking without any fuss.
We were a family of 6 and the house easily catered for all of us. The house was fully equipped with everything we needed and more (the kids loved the hammock). The kitchen was a pleasure to cook in, designed for a chef it was was easy to use with everything we needed for eating in.
The setting was so tranquil, no traffic noise or no human made noise to be heard and not another house or building in sight. Sitting out on the balcony for every meal was a joy.
Nik kept in touch through out our stay answering all our questions immediately even booking us into a local restaurant for the night we arrived.
There is so much to do in the area we would definitely love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
It was a real pleasure to meet your lovely family and I would be delighted to welcome you back to La Maison du Loup.
Great to see a family enjoying the house and the amazing valley. So happy that you enjoyed your stay. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristiano...
Monsac, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2014

Beautiful place and views! We appreciated the privacy of the house and the walks!!!
I recommend this house to everyone. Is a place to connect with nature. The house is near to Greolieres with all the amenities you need. restaurants, bar , cafe..

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RbtdeStLo...
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous House”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

An absolutely marvelous house, beautifully situated on a gorge alongside the Loup, stunning fall colors on the trees. Not another house in sight. Very private. Fully equipped kitchen. Wonderful deck. Lovely in the afternoon light and great views of the stars. We were four adults, three teenagers. Teens had the second floor. Everybody happy, nobody ready to leave. Great situation for autumn hiking. Many of the restaurants in nearby towns are open for lunch and have nice terraces overlooking valleys and ravines.

The driveway was not nearly so bad as advertised by previous tenants -- we have had far worse in Provence rentals. Two switchbacks which require one reverse each to navigate, you can leave the car at the "landing" next to the first turn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D R
Eastlake, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gorgeous Country Retreat”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

My 87 year old father, my two sisters, my brother and I visited La Maison du Loup in September of 2012. We spent a little over a week there -- kicking off a European vacation that ended in the Abruzzo region of Italy. We were SO pleasantly surprised by this beautiful area and villa.

The house is large and comfortable and everything has been provided. We got a bit lost finding the place -- being unfamiliar with Emma, our GPS system -- but Nick waited for us patiently, even missing his French lesson to make sure he'd be there when we arrived.

As others have pointed out, the driveway is a nightmare -- and involves driving down to the first landing and then having someone get out and direct the turnaround of the vehicle so the remaining drive down to the garage can be executed. We had a Peugeot Van to accommodate our large group, so that added the large vehicle challenge. But, we assigned everyone a task and we were pretty good at the whole thing by the end of our stay.

Absolutely everything else was wonderful! My 87 year old father had no trouble getting in and out of the house and he had a bedroom on the first floor. He absolutely LOVED the scenery and the ability to be so near to the Cote d'Azur and still in the country. He was out on the terrace enjoying the sunshine and his morning plates of fresh fruit, cheeses, croissants, pain au chocolates and delicious French coffee each day.

My sisters and brother had a wonderful time walking along the river, strolling to Greolieres, enjoying the ruins and taking many wonderful pictures. This was my 59 year old brother's first trip to Europe and he so enjoyed the area that he was looking for property to purchase in Greolieres before the week was over.

We had been warned to shop at the Supermarche in Villeneuve-Loubet, so we were very prepared with wonderful groceries the whole time we were there. We also tried both of the restaurants in Greolieres (the pizzeria was closed the whole time we were there because the patron was en vacances) and the food was excellent. I lived and worked in Paris for three years in the 1980's and spent a lot of time in Southern France, and I can easily say that I had the best Soupe au Pistou in Greolieres this trip, that I have ever had.

The upstairs bathroom with the overhead "rain" shower was just spectacular. And even with our large group, we never wanted for hot water. The stairs to the upper floor were a little dicey -- a tricky spiral staircase, but we all managed -- even with luggage. It just made the whole experience more folkloric.

Everything worked wonderfully -- except that my brother had a challenge initially connecting to the Internet. We kept telling him that's not what we were doing in France, but he persisted -- and was finally successful -- with Nick's help. My brother's biggest challenge was when he discovered that -- even though he had purchased the European plan for his cell phone -- his cell phone, itself, was not equipped to operate overseas. We all got a good laugh out of that and were finally able to convince him to relax and enjoy this beautiful "coin" of the world!

We TOTALLY enjoyed the thoughtfulness of having the stereo system wired to entertain the whole downstairs AND with speakers out on the terrace. Since we all had our iPhones with music (and booktapes), we were able to hook right into the Maison sound system and be entertained while reading, drawing, playing games, or just basking in the sun.

We heard deer all week and the views were just magnificent. We often started the day with bright sunshine and then watched the clouds roll in over the river, refreshing the afternoon with a nice little rain shower.

We spent a wonderful day in Gourdon (recommended by the proprietaires) and found it to be a lovely town -- just the right size -- even for my 87 year old father. This little town was a fabulous find, considering what a travesty St. Paul de Vence has become since the 80's. We weren't even able to find a parking place in St. Paul because of the tour buses. My father just wanted to turn around from St. Paul and go back to Maison du Loup. But Gourdon was beautiful. We took pictures, enjoyed a tasty repast of crepes and watched the hang gliders swoop over the valley. And -- my sisters and I got a little shopping done in the sweet little shops there.

Another wonderful thing about this property is that once you get the directions down, you find that it is not that far from Villeneuve-Loubet and all of the other hot spots on the Cote d'Azur -- Nice, Antibes, Cagnes sur Mer.

We had no problems at Maison du Loup, but when we did have questions, it was always very easy to contact Nick by cell phone and he always responded immediately.

I can safely say that this was one of the highlights of our 6 week trip to France and we definitely much prefered this wonderful Villa to the one we rented in Italy.

On our return from Italy on the way back to the USA, we unfortunately were "forced" to stay in Nice for a week because Hurricane Sandy had closed the airport we were flying into in the US. Our only regret, was that we weren't able to go back to Maison du Loup.

I would recommend this wonderful place to anyone who wants a nice, peaceful sojourn in the lovely countryside of Southern France.

Oh and PS -- when looking through the games there we found an Alaska version of Monopoly! Such an interesting surprise since I live in Alaska.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, the upstairs bathroom and the sound system.
Liked least: The doors and windows could use screens to keep out the bugs. They weren't too bad in September, but I'll bet they're worse in the summer! And do something about that driveway -- if possible! :>)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence...
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT IT PROMISED”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house itself is very comfortable and well equipped. Indeed the upstairs bathroom is the best we have had in Europe. We would have appreciated summer bed linen, as we had to dispense with the duvet provided as it was too hot and sleep with the cover.

Some people will be put off by the rather tricky driveway, but if one negotiates the tight bends by reversing back and forth it is not so bad. However the grass edges were very long and one could not see the edge or hidden rocks. The washline area was also badly overgrown but was cut on request.

Our first impression was of a house needing TLC, with the difficult driveway, long grass edges and weeds in the paving outside the front door. Indeed we later discovered a nice herb garden after pulling out a tangle of weeds.

The picnic site near the river is glamourised as the route is overgrown and not clearly marked. We managed to find it after scrambling down, finding our way back with difficulty and could certainly not have carried a picnic basket, blankets, hammocks, etc.

the village itself was a major disappointment. None of the restaurants was open at night, although to be fair one was changing hands.The local shop has some provisions for emergency meals, but is not well stocked and the proprietress seemed disinterested.We found it was best to eat out a lunchtime and to shop for provisions for an evening meal at a supermarket on the way back.We had a couple of barbeques (or as we refer to them braais) but the gas barbeque did not work very well, even after it was cleaned by Nick.

The location is good for younger persons who are into hiking and cycling, but for the more mature traveller it is a bit remote and far from any attractions. Gourdon is the nearest attractive village with reasonable restaurants (daytime only) and Vance is charming but 27 kilometers away.

In summary the house is great, the view fantastic, and the serenity and remoteness most enjoyable for a relaxed self catered stay. However for those wishing to explore the area, the mountainous access roads and the distances from restaurants, reasonable shopping and other attractions are a major deterrent. Unless one is used to such driving conditions the driving times given can at best be described as optimistic.

We wondered if the owners are frequent visitors as, having obviously made a considerable investment, it is our opinion that the house and the whole proper is urgently in need of some attention to make it more enjoyable and user friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: The lack of local restaurants and shopping and the access to the rest of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2013
Hi Barry, sorry your holiday didn't live up to your expectations, but I don't think it was us that promised things you didn't get. The house is described as being set in 15 acres of oak forest, and the photos show the valley and woodland quite clearly. I've never thought of a pic-nic as being glamourous, more rustic, and the path is subtly marked by painted squares to avoid turning it into a theme park. I don't think it's an age thing either as we've had plenty of couples older than yourselves who have enjoyed the woodland for what it is, and have holidayed here specifically for the incredible walks the mountains provide.

On the first day when you asked if the garden could be strimmed and told me the bbq wasn't working well I dropped everything and came round to sort it. We had been chasing our part time gardener as the grass had gone pretty wild very quickly, but he's on Provence time and couldn't get there before you arrived. So I did it myself, plus went over the bbq. It was working great and as you didn't get back in touch I naturally concluded it was working well for you too. Perhaps you got the high and low settings round the wrong way, they're not intuitively marked.

The local shop is just that, not a supermarket, which is exactly how it's described in the guest book. But you really missed out on some good eating in the village - if you had tried it more than just one night mid week, when the pizzeria was changing hands and the Cheiron was having it's weekly night-off, you'd have discovered some great unpretentious cooking at reasonable prices. We provide details of these restaurants with their phone numbers in the guest book, but I guess if you live in a more commercial part of the World you might not be used to places closing. In fact two of the 4 restaurants are lunch time only except for the weekends. But then Gréolières is an un touristy, unspoilt Provencal village of less than 500 inhabitants, so we feel pretty lucky to have the choice eateries that we have.

We take all criticism seriously, but I can't help thinking you would have been better within walking distance of a larger town like Vence or Valbonne, but then you wouldn't have got away from it all as we promise and you'd have paid at least double.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing