We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antica Corte Pallavicina Relais
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a lovely experience of a hotel and restaurant. A great deal of thought and knowledge of the history of the building and the area has gone into producing an exceptional environment for relaxing and enjoying the skills of the chef and his staff and for exploring the Po valley. The culatello is rightly famous and the degustazione of ham of different ages is a great way to start a great dinner. Autumn is a damp season of mists along the Po as Giovanni Guareschi's characters continually point out, but it gives a quiet contemplative air to your roaming and it is delightful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    43
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
118
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

There are no word to explain and describe this experience. The restaurant ins located in a suggestive region close to the river. Already before entering you are walking along the kitchen garden where you can see the vegetable used for the cookers. Before enter in the restaurant a tour of the building is proposed: the building has been renewed and the rooms are furnisher with stile. The basement tour is wonderful: you can see Culatelli and Permigiano Reggiano growing old! The restaurant is amazing, every details of deco and cook are perfect. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here two weeks ago and were a little let down by the accomodations as we expected more for the price. The room was small and not too clean we had bees in the room and mosquitoes. However the hotel staff was excellent and took care of all our needs. The resturant and food are the best you will find anywhere in Italy. We had a wonderful young lady as our server in the resturant and she could do well in any position that they would give her.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was a 95F/35C kind of summer afternoon when we arrived. Giovanni welcomed us into our beautiful room which was tastefully restored with very intricate details all over the room - I love the free standing tub in the room! We were then whisked away for our cooking lesson with Salvatore, a very professional and technical pasta chef on site. We picked up many hands on techniques from him and more importantly we got to taste all three courses that we made - pasta antica with vegetables and summer truffles (rejoice!), tortelli with ricotta and spinach, and risotto. Note that these are full portion servings and we were stuffed after our cooking lesson.

We came back down to the restaurant for our dinner that night. The dining room is surrounded by floor-to-ceiling window which brought in the last bit of warmth from the sunset. Dinner was exceptional and we dove right into the culatelli tasting menu. The culatelli is done to perfection here in true art form. The portions are huge and yes, it was luxurious and a tad excessive. But, if you have one chance to indulge your need for cured meats, I'd say this is the place to do it.

The next morning, we had breakfast in the courtyard. You get servings of various bread, honey, jam, culatelli, cheese, eggs, bacon/sausage. I asked for fruits and a plate of mixed fruit salad appeared on the table. Yes, the kitchen really makes things happen for the guests. Giovanni then took us on a bike ride through the farm lands to visit the Parmigiano Reggiano factory, to say hi to the black pigs, and to see the offsite culatello process. The bike ride was fun and we caught up with Giovanni while riding by the Po river talking mostly about Anthony Bourdain and chef Michael White's visit. It's just a perfect summer morning! We wrapped up our stay with a visit to the ancient cellars in the relais and marvelled at all the aging culatello. This whole experience is the essence of Emilia Romagna and should not be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and used this as a base. We did day trips to Piacenza, Modena and Parma
as well as visiting Busetto where we were given a short talk and tour of Giuseppe Verdi's home.
We are planning to go back in the near future as I wish that we had stayed longer for the amazing food, wonderful and friendly people especially Massimo and Angelo in the kitchen. Would love to do a cooking class in their amazing kitchen. The little touches in the interesting rooms (much more atmospheric than your chain 5 star hotels, of which we stayed in a couple of times during our 2 month holiday), beautiful strawberries, yummy biscuits and the coffee machine, were absolutely delightful. Loved every minute of it. The dining experience was something I will remember for a very long time. The food, service and ambience were totally addictive including the breakfast. Of course, you would not like the breakfast if all you want is greasy bacon and fried eggs!! But then why would go to such a beautiful place if that is what you want to eat. Cecilia Ormando, Melbourne Australia.

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger rooms as there is more room in the bathroom and more light from the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missros_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Antica Corte is a beautiful Hotel located in a very peaceful part of rural Italy. The room we were allocated was exquisite and charming and added immensely to our overall experience. There isn't a lot to do around the local area, however I would recommend that you check out Busetto (especially if you are a Verdi fan) and Fidenza (Fidenza Viila is fantastic with lots of high end fashion outlet stores). Two days would be my recommended maximum stay.

One major downside is the Wi-Fi policy. You are provided an access code for 5 hour time periods, per device. With the high cost of the accommodation I don't know why you wouldn't just be given one code to cover the period of your stay. It would be so much more convenient they having to go to the reception on a regular basis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceBGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a unique experience for a short term. Let me be clear that this review is for the Hotel and not the Restaurant. I would recommend the Hotel for a short stay so that you can say you did. We stayed for seven days and used it as a home base. We should have stayed a day or two and moved on. The rooms are good but the walls are way too thin. There are just a few rooms that are rented. Although most guests are quiet enough to coexist within the thin walls, our last evening a group moved in that had total disregard for other guests. Unfortunately, the management had left and there was no one left to appeal to. The management of the hotel is pretty much hit and miss. Although I really think they mean well, the management just does not meet the mark. I really wanted to like this place but due to inconsistencies we will probably not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John3319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polesine Parmense
16.1 mi away
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
#1 of 1 in Tabiano Castello
757 reviews
4.8 mi away
Palazzo Calvi
Palazzo Calvi
#2 of 2 in Busseto
10 reviews
18.8 mi away
NH Parma
NH Parma
#1 of 48 in Parma
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Locanda del Lupo
Locanda del Lupo
#1 of 1 in Soragna
139 reviews
18.9 mi away
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
Park Hotel Pacchiosi
#4 of 48 in Parma
314 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Tavola Rotonda
La Tavola Rotonda
#1 of 1 in Chiavenna Landi
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Corte Pallavicina Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Corte Pallavicina Relais

Property: Antica Corte Pallavicina Relais
Address: Strada Palazzo Due Torri 3, 43016 Polesine Parmense, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Polesine Parmense
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Polesine Parmense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Corte Pallavicina Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Antica Corte Pallavicina Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Corte Pallavicina Hotel Parma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing