We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about sleep in a ground floor unit”
Review of Noosa Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Noosa Lakes Resort
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We booked a 3 day holiday and were allocated a ground floor unit. We coud hear ever sound from the unit above; their movments, their talking, their TV , their intimate moments ... we got very little sleep. The walls/ceiling is so thin
The airconditoner didnt work and was noisey and the ceiling fan was very low and also very noisey.
The bathroom floor/tiles were in urgent need of a mould remover and the carpet was torn and uneven. Then there was the threatening notice in the kitchen advising if you didnt wash up or empty your rubbish you would be charged an addtional $50.
In essence, this place is like 'mutton done up as lamb'. I woulnt bother even considering them again for a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Noosa Lakes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2009

If you see this place advertised at a rate that seems too good to be true for a 4 star property, that's because it is! In my opinion there is no way this is anywhere near a 4 star property. If you book through WOTIF, don't go for the 4 star mystery property going at a very good rate without considering it could well be this place - as was the case for us.

We were given a 1 bedroom apartment "overlooking the river". The apartment was clean enough - a bit dusty in places, but not too bad. However, the carpet was in very poor condition - overstretched and wrinkled in several places in the lounge area and either degraded or mouldy along the large window and door to the deck. The couches were very dated, grubby looking and a nasty nylon feeling to the touch. The kitchen was well kitted out but dated and the bathroom had a clean shower with good pressure but the basin was not seated well in the unit and the chrome handles were corroded.

If these sorts of things don't worry you then the place is perfectly adequate, however I don't think it is accurately portrayed by its rating, hence this review. The view of the river was all but obscured by the trees along the bank of the river - so no view to speak of. The neighbours' balconies are very close with little screening. We asked to be moved to another apartment but were told that wasn't possible. The apartments are individually owned and supposedly in the process of being refurbished but we saw no evidence of that.

The pool area was a high point. 3 lovely pools in a nice setting, however only 1 "heated" - I use the term loosely - it had the chill taken off but that's all. We went for 2 short dips as it was 23 degrees in the sun so we got hot enough to want to cool off, but really didn't enjoy the water temperature. The sun disappeared from all the sun lounger positions at about 3.30pm each day at this time of the year so no late afternoon lazing here. Note, if you get an apartment with a pool view, the balconies are very close to the pool seating areas and some have balconies that look straight across a few metres at a balcony directly opposite - if you like your privacy you won't get it here in a lot of the apartments.

This place is perfectly adequate as a budget option for travellers, however I don't believe it delivers on its 4 star rating and this is what I really object to. From its description, and photos on their website you would not expect what we got. Having booked as a 'mystery' property we then came to Trip Advisor to check what others had said and noted the mixed reviews. With the latest 2 at that time giving such positive reviews we felt heartened that things must have turned around with this property. Our experience is it has not. This may be due to differences in individual apartments but if you book here, go in with your eyes wide open. I will add photos once I have downloaded them into my computer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

My partner and I work stressful jobs so to get away for a quick holiday in beautiful noosa was just what we needed. We booked a room at the Australis mainly because the prices were lower and the resort sounded nice.
We were very happy with the level of service we recieved upon arrival. The staff member behind the front counter greeted us with a friendly hello as soon we entered the front doors of the reception, before we had even reached the counter! She was pleasant and friendly and explained all the processes of check in clearly to us. She also explained where the closest restuarants were, where we could park our car and how to get to our room as well as offering a map of the local area and pointing out some of the tourist destinations and things to see and do. We found this to be very helpful as we have never been to noosa before. She also asked us to come back if we had any questions or needed anything which made us feel comfortable and at ease. It was a nice start to our stay.
The room we stayed in was bright and airy and had all the comforts of home. The minibar was stocked for our convienience and our room overlooked the lake which was very calming. There was a balcony which we sat on of an afternoon and watched the sun go down.
The resort seems to be made up of individual townhouses which ment we had our very own unit which we didnt need to share. The room was clean and tidy.
The pools are one of the biggest features of the australis. There are 3 large lagoon style pool, one which is heated that made the perfect place for a swim and a relax next to pool. Pool towels were in our rooms so we didnt have to bring our own or use our bath towels.
When we were looking for something to do we were able to pick from a number of different activities from the brochure board in the resort foyer and the staff were more than happy to answer our questions and make the bookings for us.
We were able to arrange through the reception for a bus transfer to the airport
Overall I would highly recommend the australis for those who are looking for a nice place to stay which is not ridiculously over priced. The australis offered the best prices I could find and the rooms were cosy and the service was friendly and immediate. The resort is well presented and pretty with native plants and hedges and the view from our room was just beautiful.

Well worth the stay. We loved it and so will you!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

My family recently enjoyed a holiday at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort in which the accommodation, service and location exceeded our expectations. We were impressed with the standard of the townhouse in which we occupied, whilst the children were delighted with the 3 pools. The resort, on the river, was peaceful and convenient to shops, restaurants and public transport. We were able to enjoy family friendly restaurants, markets and fishing without traveling far from the resort. Overall we had a fun filled, yet relaxing holiday, and will certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OziChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband and I took our 3 year old for a holiday to the Sunshine Coast and bought into the great descriptions of Australis Noosa Lakes both through Wotif.com and on their own website.

However, our expectations and reality were totally opposites. We had a terrible experience so wanted to warn other travellers about these main points:
1. This venue claims to be a Resort, however about from the swimming pools, there is nothing Resort like about this venue - don't believe it!
2. This venue is NOT in Noosaville as claimed, rather in Tewantin, further away from Noosa Heads with no redeeming features at all, and away from the great vibe, features/services and restaurants/cafes of Noosaville.
3. Our apartment had fleas. We finally caught one and delivered it to reception but received no comment.
4. The carpet was stained and lifting, and the couches just felt dirty.
5. Over-bearing cleaning smell upon arrival, which we worked out was to hide the musty-smell that came through after a few days.
6. The kitchen was certainly not fully-equipped as claimed.
7. The air-con was un-usable as smelly and seriously in need to a clean filter.
8. The venue is hardly lake and river frontage as claimed, unlike other accommodation options in Noosaville that do indeed have river frontage. Don't believe the marketing!
9. The apartments have a sign inside stating guests must clean before departure and that a service fee would apply if left dirty. Each apartment is privately owned, and some owners actually live at the venue. This affects the atmosphere/dynamic of the place.
10. Bathroom basin base was rotting.
11. Bathroom fan and vents very dusty and dropped dust into room when used.
12. Expensive wireless internet options.
13. The unheated pools were too cold to enjoy using in April, leaving one pool for all guests to use, and even that didn't seem warm enough.
14. Dangerously hot water in kitchen and bathroom. Water ran extremely hot within seconds making scolding a real risk.

Overall, the place is average motel quality, but with fleas and more expensive! Certainly not resort quality by any standard.

We raised all of these issues with the Hotel Management to no avail. We urge other travellers to avoid staying at Australis Noosa Lakes unless you don't mind being disappointed and having your holiday deflated.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhopenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed here as was next to the lake and river and we like Noosaville/Tewantin, rather than Noosa itself as it is quieter. Each villa is independantly owned however our unit which was facing the lake as requested was quite run down. The couch had stains on it, and the carpet was worn and nearly torn near the screen door to the balcony. With just a little bit of doing up, this unit could have been really nice. We stayed here after a week of fishing up in Central Qld as it was classed as 4 star so we thought a bit of luxury on the way back to Bne for a couple of nights might be nice to break up the journey. We were dissapointed however as this was not 4 star accommodation for the price. There was however 3 really nice swimming pools, but we didn't use them as it was raining. The resort is near the Noosa Marina which was really nice and we had a couple of nice dinners there. There are also cooking facitilites and full cutlery/utensils in the room which was nice aswell.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment last sept and had a great holiday. The apartment was clean with everything u needed but with no frills. The Marina across the bridge has a great cafe for breakfast, a good wine bar and great fish and chips as well as two other restaurants. Its only about a 5 min walk to the supermarket at Tewantin also. The ferry trip to hastings st is well worth it and the the day trip to frazer island is worthwhile.
It is a nice walk to noosaville about 20min where there is alot of cafes and restaurants.
If u want good value and stay out of Hastings st I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz0244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewantin
0.8 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
3.0 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
728 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#3 of 10 in Noosa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
#4 of 41 in Noosaville
354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noosa Caravan Park
Noosa Caravan Park
#1 of 4 in Tewantin
173 reviews
2.5 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noosa Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noosa Lakes Resort

Address: 3 Hilton Tce, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Tewantin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tewantin
Price Range: $59 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Noosa Lakes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noosa Lakes Resort is situated along the beautiful Noosa River on the Sunshine Coast of Queensland and provides relaxing resort experence in excellent proximity to the many leisurely activities of Noosa. The property is positioned on seven landscaped acres by the shores of Lake Doonella and opposite the Noosa River, and features three lagoon-style pools (including one heated pool). Surrounded by wilderness, you are only minutes to the town centre, the beach and local attractions.The resort is one and a half hours north of Brisbane airport and just 30 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport(Maroochydore).Noosa Lakes offers beach-house living accommodation. Each of the studio rooms, One bedroom Apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses have a balcony, Wi Fi internet, TV/DVD, Foxtel and have views over the gardens, lake, river or pools. All units are air-conditioned in the lounge room and the 1 Bedroom apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses are fully self-contained.Located adjacent to the property (just 100 metres) is the beautiful Noosa Marina, which provides restaurants, cafes, river and lake cruises, a wine bar, day spa and a The Noosa Ferry that offers access via the Noosa River to Noosa's famous Hastings Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Noosa Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Noosa Lakes Hotel Tewantin
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort
Noosa Lakes Resort Tewantin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing