We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Holiday - kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Noosa Lakes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Noosa Lakes Resort
Lara
1 review
“Great Family Holiday - kids loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

My family recently enjoyed a holiday at Australis Noosa Lakes Resort in which the accommodation, service and location exceeded our expectations. We were impressed with the standard of the townhouse in which we occupied, whilst the children were delighted with the 3 pools. The resort, on the river, was peaceful and convenient to shops, restaurants and public transport. We were able to enjoy family friendly restaurants, markets and fishing without traveling far from the resort. Overall we had a fun filled, yet relaxing holiday, and will certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OziChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    110
    65
    22
    23
See reviews for
54
154
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husband and I took our 3 year old for a holiday to the Sunshine Coast and bought into the great descriptions of Australis Noosa Lakes both through Wotif.com and on their own website.

However, our expectations and reality were totally opposites. We had a terrible experience so wanted to warn other travellers about these main points:
1. This venue claims to be a Resort, however about from the swimming pools, there is nothing Resort like about this venue - don't believe it!
2. This venue is NOT in Noosaville as claimed, rather in Tewantin, further away from Noosa Heads with no redeeming features at all, and away from the great vibe, features/services and restaurants/cafes of Noosaville.
3. Our apartment had fleas. We finally caught one and delivered it to reception but received no comment.
4. The carpet was stained and lifting, and the couches just felt dirty.
5. Over-bearing cleaning smell upon arrival, which we worked out was to hide the musty-smell that came through after a few days.
6. The kitchen was certainly not fully-equipped as claimed.
7. The air-con was un-usable as smelly and seriously in need to a clean filter.
8. The venue is hardly lake and river frontage as claimed, unlike other accommodation options in Noosaville that do indeed have river frontage. Don't believe the marketing!
9. The apartments have a sign inside stating guests must clean before departure and that a service fee would apply if left dirty. Each apartment is privately owned, and some owners actually live at the venue. This affects the atmosphere/dynamic of the place.
10. Bathroom basin base was rotting.
11. Bathroom fan and vents very dusty and dropped dust into room when used.
12. Expensive wireless internet options.
13. The unheated pools were too cold to enjoy using in April, leaving one pool for all guests to use, and even that didn't seem warm enough.
14. Dangerously hot water in kitchen and bathroom. Water ran extremely hot within seconds making scolding a real risk.

Overall, the place is average motel quality, but with fleas and more expensive! Certainly not resort quality by any standard.

We raised all of these issues with the Hotel Management to no avail. We urge other travellers to avoid staying at Australis Noosa Lakes unless you don't mind being disappointed and having your holiday deflated.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhopenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tewantin hotels

brisbane
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed here as was next to the lake and river and we like Noosaville/Tewantin, rather than Noosa itself as it is quieter. Each villa is independantly owned however our unit which was facing the lake as requested was quite run down. The couch had stains on it, and the carpet was worn and nearly torn near the screen door to the balcony. With just a little bit of doing up, this unit could have been really nice. We stayed here after a week of fishing up in Central Qld as it was classed as 4 star so we thought a bit of luxury on the way back to Bne for a couple of nights might be nice to break up the journey. We were dissapointed however as this was not 4 star accommodation for the price. There was however 3 really nice swimming pools, but we didn't use them as it was raining. The resort is near the Noosa Marina which was really nice and we had a couple of nice dinners there. There are also cooking facitilites and full cutlery/utensils in the room which was nice aswell.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment last sept and had a great holiday. The apartment was clean with everything u needed but with no frills. The Marina across the bridge has a great cafe for breakfast, a good wine bar and great fish and chips as well as two other restaurants. Its only about a 5 min walk to the supermarket at Tewantin also. The ferry trip to hastings st is well worth it and the the day trip to frazer island is worthwhile.
It is a nice walk to noosaville about 20min where there is alot of cafes and restaurants.
If u want good value and stay out of Hastings st I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz0244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donvale
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband & I stayed 4 nigts in the 1 bedroom apartment. We loved the clean spacious rooms with balcony that overlooked the pools (there are 3 - 1 warm, 1 shallow for toddlers and 1 fairly deep. These are not lap pools but more splash pools). I would recomend to people looking for more privacy to request a river view apartment rather than a pool view, because the pool view means you are looking over the pool into the apartment on the other side, which is also looking at the pool and apartment on the other side. The kitchen facilities were very good which meant we could cook in our room, which saved us having to eat out all the time.
The hotel is walking distance from Tewantin and across the road from the Marina. We loved the fact that we were not in Noosa, however it may not suit everyone as Tewantin is like a quiet country town - no high quality restaurants or night clubs. However , the Marina is a great spot to have very good fish & chips and drinks from the Wine Bar. We ate twice at the excellent River Deck restraurant which is run by a very friendly couple and their wonderful head waiter Michael. The Marina also has very shops - The White house has lovely gifts and the Aboriginal Art & Craft shop was very good also.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantastic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed here for 6 nights the last week of Oct 2008. We were sharing an apartment with family members. Check in was very easy and we were able to check in early since our room was clean, which was nice. There was a lot of helpful tourist brochures in the front office and the staff was excellent and very helpful throughout our stay. The answered lots of questions, booked us taxis, and booked tours for us.
Two of us were in the upstairs apartment which was huge. It was decorated very basically, but tastefully done and clean. I thought the bed and pillows were comfy, firmer than at home, but I slept with no problems!! We had a full kitchen with fridge, oven/stove, dishwasher and microwave, which was great. When our other family members arrived they took the downstairs apt which we thought would be the same, but turns out it was just a studio, so we felt bad for getting the better deal...so something to keep in mind if you're sharing a whole unit.
For those who like pools, theirs is nice there are several to choose from and they are lagoon style, it's pretty and well kept up.
The hotel is within walking distance of the Noosa Marina which has some restaurants and shops, and is where several tours leave from, it's maybe 5 minute walk. There is great bus service running to Gympie Terrace, Hastings street, and Eumundi market ( a must do), so that is no problem if you don't have a car, and most tours pick you up at the hotel. so having a car was not at all necessary, we found.
All in all it was a lovely hotel and we had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diver19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

I spent one night at the Australis Noosa - in the Studio room.
The room itself is average - which was fine, because we weren't after anything fancy.
I wasn't aware until I was in the room that you are required to clean the room and do all the dishes etc before you leave or you are charged a minimum of $50. Again - i wasn't bothered because I always clean up before I leave anyway. BUT - they really should tell you that - not leave you to find a sign in the room once you're already checked in. Also, the people that had the room before me didn't wash their dishes properly, so had to be washed before and after use.
The pools are great, my toddler had a Ball. They have a gradual slope that makes it so much safer for kids. As others have said - it is the best part of the hotel.
The bed is fairly hard - but the pillows were ATROCIOUS!!! I had about 1 - 2 hours sleep, and my neck was sooooo sore the next day. My toddler also tossed and turned and eventually he stopped using the pillow and just lay on the bed without one. I was sooo glad I had only booked one night, and based on the bed and pillow alone - I would not stay again.
If you do - PLEASE BYO PILLOW! It will improve your stay more than you know.

  • Liked — the Pool
  • Disliked — The room, the bed, The PILLOWS
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tewantin
0.8 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
2.9 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#5 of 10 in Noosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.6 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ivory Palms Resort Noosa
Ivory Palms Resort Noosa
#14 of 42 in Noosaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
1.7 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
Ingenia Holidays Noosa
#10 of 42 in Noosaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noosa Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noosa Lakes Resort

Property: Noosa Lakes Resort
Address: 3 Hilton Tce, Tewantin, Noosa, Queensland 4567, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Tewantin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tewantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Noosa Lakes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noosa Lakes Resort is situated along the beautiful Noosa River on the Sunshine Coast of Queensland and provides relaxing resort experence in excellent proximity to the many leisurely activities of Noosa. The property is positioned on seven landscaped acres by the shores of Lake Doonella and opposite the Noosa River, and features three lagoon-style pools (including one heated pool). Surrounded by wilderness, you are only minutes to the town centre, the beach and local attractions.The resort is one and a half hours north of Brisbane airport and just 30 minutes from Sunshine Coast Airport(Maroochydore).Noosa Lakes offers beach-house living accommodation. Each of the studio rooms, One bedroom Apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses have a balcony, Wi Fi internet, TV/DVD, Foxtel and have views over the gardens, lake, river or pools. All units are air-conditioned in the lounge room and the 1 Bedroom apartments and 2 bedroom Townhouses are fully self-contained.Located adjacent to the property (just 100 metres) is the beautiful Noosa Marina, which provides restaurants, cafes, river and lake cruises, a wine bar, day spa and a The Noosa Ferry that offers access via the Noosa River to Noosa's famous Hastings Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Noosa Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Noosa Lakes Hotel Tewantin
Australis Noosa Lakes Resort
Noosa Lakes Resort Tewantin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing