We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party buffet...”

Noosa Cruising Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Tewantin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $66
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The only Noosa Restaurant cruising the beautiful Noosa River, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner cruises to the public as well as private charters for all leisure and corporate occasions. All our food is prepared and cooked fresh on board. Perfect for locals and those on a Noosa Holiday. Get on board!
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful, fun idea to have a hen night on the river. Sadly, the $61 paid for the three hours, plus the extortionately expensive wine tariff on top of the price for the food and cruise, was more than disappointing. A small square buffet table was used to firstly bring out bread and more bread. There were olives in dishes and other snacks that were hardly touched. Then the 'Sumptuous' buffet came out, consisting of rolled-up warm ham and salami and other thin-sliced cold meat, A platter of salad, and a platter of red-coloured chicken legs that left people wondering what they were. Oh, and more bread. The fruit platter for dessert was taken round as finger food, and consisted mainly of small triangles of watermelon, a few strawberries and other bits of fruit. All I could handle (literally) was a small triangle of watermelon. Very poor value for money, all round. Pity - it is a good concept, and Noosa needs things like this but executed with more quality and style. We had lots of fun despite all of the above, but the restaurant could have done so much better with just a little more imagination and thought.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Miras0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoosaCruiser, Owner at Noosa Cruising Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our offerings but I'm glad that you had an enjoyable time - as did the other ladies onboard.

Your hosts chose the "Cheap and Cheerful" Buffet at $55pp. That menu is on our website on the Brochures page. You will no doubt agree that the menu includes more than just "bread, bread and more bread". Everything on the menu was served on the cruise, save that we swapped party quiches for party pies, anticipating that you ladies would prefer them.

Our buffets are waitress-served platters in waves. We do not place all the food at once on a buffet table, because we wish to ensure that hot food is served hot from the oven and cold food is served cold directly from our fridges. I dispute your claim that the meat platter was warm. You made no such complaint at the time, nor did any of the other ladies. The (chilled) fruit platter comprising watermelon, pineapple, rock melon, red grapes, strawberries, green grapes and honeydew melon, was waitress-served at the end of the cruise and then placed on the buffet table for guests to help themselves as they wished.

As to our "extortionately expensive wine tariff", the additional $6 you paid (to make the total you paid $61) was for a glass of bubbles on arrival. I would be surprised if you could find a glass of bubbles in another restaurant in Noosa for less. Our drinks list is also on our website for anyone to view. Feel free to compare it to other restaurant prices in Noosa.

Other PUBLIC cruises on the Noosa River are $20pp - $30pp for shorter cruises than your three hour PRIVATE charter, and they do not include food. I am sorry that you do not consider the $25 you paid for the food element of the cruise gave you value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is an experience you can't miss. I thoroughly enjoyed Noosa's only Cruising Restaurant with my partner, family and a group of friends. Luckily for us, the weather was perfect, however, even if it had been raining we would still have had a great time. I can honestly say that it was one of the best holiday experiences, furthermore Ian went above and beyond to ensure our experience was a memorable one. The pace of the entire trip was unbelievably relaxing, peaceful and totally enjoyable. The only downside was when it ended and we had to disembark ...... Would definitely go again and highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked a cruise for my parents and five year old daughter. Ian was extremely helpful in explaining our options and helping us to make a booking. We enjoyed a lovely evening exploring the waterways of Noosa with a gorgeous sunset, great food and a fabulous host and crew. We were all impressed with the quality of the food (a nice mix of starters, lovely salmon for a main and a yummy chocolate cake to finish the evening). I was worried about taking a five year old on board but Ian made such an effort to include her that she felt very special (by the way Ian, you're it!) and had a ball. Thank you for a great evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola_Willoughby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Looking for something special for my husbands' birthday as we had a lot of interstate guests, a family friend recommended the Noosa cruising restaurant. We were lucky to secure our spot and are so glad we did. It was a very special night being the sunset cruise with the stars and moon out in full splendour, and a great opportunity for our out- of- towner's to see Noosa from the river. Ian and his staff were extremely helpful ,the food was plentiful and highly praised. We had our own live music which added to the ambiance and we definitely recommend the extra hour as the time just flies. All our guests loved it as we did . We chose to go the buffet with Ian's recommendation and it was the perfect fit for what we wanted. All in all a fantastic event.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had a fantastic time to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday. Ian was just brilliant especially with 24 teenagers on board. Nothing was too much trouble, even though I bombarded Ian with emails and calls to make sure we had everything covered and with only 2 weeks to organise Ian made sure it all went off without a hitch and was so professional and yet very approachable and a joy to deal with.
Ian was able to accommodate all my daughters requests (from the decorations - vintage nautical - perfect - the red punch - to the collection of the dessert tower and the dancing on the sandbank). Couldn't fault a thing. The food was plentiful and the mini cheeseburgers were delicious - it was great being able to have food that was perfect for teens - they all had a fabulous time and were raving on about it all the way home. A special thank you also to Bob from Boomerang Bus Hire and the Outlook Bakery - their desserts were divine!
Thank you for a wonderful evening Ian (and all your crew) I will definitely recommend you to anyone who will listen! Photos to follow!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ozmaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noosa Cruising Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Noosa Cruising Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing