We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The ideal house for a celebration”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hazel130
Ulverston, United Kingdom
1 review
“The ideal house for a celebration”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We would find it hard to say anything negative to say about this property.
Just had a perfect long wknd there with family celebrating a golden wedding. Very comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, each bedroom has its own ensuite. Warm even though it was a cold wknd, clean and spacious with lovely views. A place of great character. Hebden Bridge village and Hardcaslte Craggs walks are a bonus.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carola M
1 review
“Ideal holiday home for a large group of friends.”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Hebden Bridge is a lively little town, well positioned for lovely walks along the canal and within easy reach of the Bronte museum in Hawarth and the World Heritage Site at Saltaire.
Stephenson House is spacious and comfortable, with stunning views. Everything we needed was supplied and the large cooker made preparing meals a pleasure. Everyone slept well in the comfortable beds, and having en suites for each bedroom was a huge bonus.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisjohn...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location for family get together”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wonderful large house with all amenities . Excellent location with superb views, ideal for a family/friends get together. Plenty of walks nearby in Yorkshire countryside. Owners very welcoming.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global_ch...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful house with a beautiful view”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Each year my extended family and I go away for a week in August, typically in and around Yorkshire or the Lake District. We found Stephenson House through a straight forward web search and loved the pictures we saw. On arrival the property, and it's grounds, did not disappoint. The house is situated at the end of a single track lane. Each of our cars (including a large Jeep) were able to pass easily to the house, though the Tesco delivery man failed to make it as far as the house - you may want to add a comment to the delivery order to ensure their smaller size van is available!
The photos on the website are an accurate reflection of what we found on arrival. The place was immaculate, inviting and welcoming. A rhubarb cake had been left out for us along with a welcome note, adding information about an upcoming local event that may be interesting to our children. One observation we all made was the provision of hot water and decent showers! So often in older houses the showers are pitiful and hot water comes and go -especially when there are 8 adults and several children needing showers and baths. Stephenson House not only provided hot, decent showers but managed to cope with more than one shower running at a time. As has been mentioned in other posts the owners are very helpful and easily contacted. Although we found no fault with the property we mentioned an external leak we saw one afternoon and the communication between myself and Emma, resulting in a quick site visit to verify all was ok, was excellent. The house, with kitchen, dining, snug and lounge communal space downstairs offers plenty of room for a larger group and all the bedrooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The grounds are wonderful, with table and chairs on two sides of the garden and an upper 'football pitch' enjoyed a lot by our children. The garden overlooks the town and valley and is a pleasing sight at any time of day. The BBQ is an essential part of outdoor kit, with coals and lighters easily sourced locally. Hebden Bridge is walkable from the property, 15- 20mins down hill. With young children we tended to drive and easily found on street parking within the town. There is a lot going on in the town and i must recommend the cinema, excellent rainy day activity for young and old! There are numerous walks from the property making it a winner for walkers, and runners. The property lies on a footpath and people walking by the property was a daily sight, though unobtrusive and caused us no concerns, even with young children around. All in all, a wonderful property is a great area, I thoroughly recommend and may well return myself!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Space for everyone.”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The property is at the end of a lane on a hillside about a mile out of the very interesting little town of Hebden Bridge. The photos of the views and property are accurate as are the previous reviews. We had a large and varied group with various comings and goings. There is a lot of space so it never felt crowded and the owners supplied fresh linen for new arrivals moving into rooms that had been previously occupied by our earlier guests. The WiFi had been disabled by a recent electric storm but the owners provided an alternative whilst it was being replaced.

The house and grounds were well maintained. Ecologically it is an interesting area will lots of sightings of mammals and birds. You can walk from the house along rights of way into town or further up the hills and onto the tops. There is a lot of good walking in the area; I think the valleys are more interesting than the bleak tops. A word of caution that the hill up from town is steep so you either need to be reasonably fit or use a car.

It was a really comfortable well-equipped house ideal for our holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squat b
1 review
“Well-appointed retreat ”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We booked Stephenson house for a long weekend reunion, and it did the job admirably for 10 relaxed blokes. It was well-appointed with lots of en-suites and a nice big kitchen. The view was well appreciated and location was pleasantly remote - though this did make takeaways and taxis a bit of a challenge. Hebden Bridge itself was surprisingly well suited to a good night out with some nice relaxed and spacious pubs and a couple of interesting bars.

I can imagine the house would be good for extended families getting together and a comfortable base for walkers and explorers. We all enjoyed sitting outside at the table in the evening taking in the tranquil view over drinks.

The house was pristine and the owners did a good job of communicating what they needed and when and what expectations they had of visitors, as well as arrival instructions, and prompt repayment of housekeeping bond.

All in all a spacious, unique and beautifully maintained building set in a remote-feeling location, yet close to a nice town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie G
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I booked this venue to celebrate a colleague's retirement weekend treat. The farmhouse itself was spectacular, with views to die for. The amenities were second to none. Beautifully presented and tastefully decorated. All of our party felt they would fully recommend it to friends and family. We will most certainly keep it in mind for more weekend stays. Beautiful touch of homemade scones and jam, as a welcome treat.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing