We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hideaway in Crawford Notch”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2011

What pulled us here was the Cookie Tour offered in the month of December. The Notchland Inn is very well run. The wow factor hits as soon as you see the Inn especially if you are driving from the south. Upon entering the Inn, we were greeted by Mark, the Innkeeper. He was very personable and made us aware of the Inn then he showed us to our room in the main house. The current owners, Les and Ed, have been here for 18 years and it truly shows in the best positive way. This was our first time here. We highly recommend it and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YRMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Inn is situated 10 miles from Mt. Washington; across the road from on the Saco River; and surrounded by the White Mountain National Forest. The innkeepers, Ed and Les, are delightful. They serve a great breakfast as part of the price, and the dinners (which can be added) are excellent. A truly remarkable inn!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I had read about the Notchland Inn a number of times and was fascinated with the location. Being an avid hiker, I couldn't imagine a better place after a day of tackling the mountains so my partner and I set a date and had the most invigorating hike into the White Mountains, the further we hiked the deeper the snow! We arrived at the Notchland Inn just about sundown and Ed was there to greet us and show us around the inn and give us some history. The setting is amazing, built right in Crawford Notch with the beauty and ruggedness all around. We made a fire in our room, ordered a couple of celebration beers and total relaxation. What a nice inn and what great hosts Ed and Les are. So welcoming. We are already planning to go back with friends! Thank you both for being such accommodating innkeepers. If you love the outdoors but still like to be pampered this is it - the best of both!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at the Notchland Inn during the Fall as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. Ed and Les were excellent hosts, the Inn was fabulous. Our room was excellent and the open fire a real bonus. The location was excellent and so quite. The real bonus was the chance to see so many stars in the night sky which we don't normally see. A wonderful place, fully recomment it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilkinsons95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I just love coming back again and again to the Notchland Inn. Beautiful location, beautiful rooms, great food!
To the reviewer who changed wedding locations - your loss, my nieces wedding was held at the Notchland 2 years ago and it was just wonderful! The dogs did not run throughout the wedding - and both were asked to be in the photos later as my niece is a dog lover. The food was amazing, service was impecable, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We just stayed for the third time at the Inn. We travelled each time with out dog/dogs. We have stayed at the Willard twice and Sandwich once. The inn has a great breakfast and 5 course dinner. You can go on hikes right from the property, right out side your door. Its fantastic! This trip we did the Zip Line at Bretton Woods, we have also done the auto mile at Mount Washington. The location is great you can get to the cog rail way 15 mins or so one way North Conway another, numerous hikes and trails with in minutes. If you are a skier you can get to Bretton Woods, Attitash, Wild Cat and others with in minutes. The grounds are kept in tip top condition for weddings, and other events. I have been here in March, August and October so I have seen the seasons. In March we rented snow shoes and participated in the Maple Sugar events. The staff can help you with all your needs, from the out doors to shopping. I have stayed elsewhere in the white mountain's and keep coming back here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boggie36b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hospitality at the Notchland was fabulous. Both Ed and Les are very gracious and helpful host. The Inn is absoutely beautiful and very relaxing too! We stayed in the Kinsman Suite which was wonderful—great bed and suite. I think next time we will stay (yes, we are already planning a trip back) in the Evans Suite. I’m hyper sensitive to any road noise—not that there was much but I don’t want to hear any! The breakfast was yummy and we decided to do dinner at the Inn which was also a very delicious and intimate experience. It goes without saying we ADORED Crawford and Felony the two GOREGOUS dogs. We HIGHLY recommend the Notchland Inn.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank pupepause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
304 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
860 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,747 reviews
18.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range: $215 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing