We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to see the stars”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Place to see the stars”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at the Notchland Inn during the Fall as part of our 25th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. Ed and Les were excellent hosts, the Inn was fabulous. Our room was excellent and the open fire a real bonus. The location was excellent and so quite. The real bonus was the chance to see so many stars in the night sky which we don't normally see. A wonderful place, fully recomment it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkinsons95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    35
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
180
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I just love coming back again and again to the Notchland Inn. Beautiful location, beautiful rooms, great food!
To the reviewer who changed wedding locations - your loss, my nieces wedding was held at the Notchland 2 years ago and it was just wonderful! The dogs did not run throughout the wedding - and both were asked to be in the photos later as my niece is a dog lover. The food was amazing, service was impecable, and the staff was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We just stayed for the third time at the Inn. We travelled each time with out dog/dogs. We have stayed at the Willard twice and Sandwich once. The inn has a great breakfast and 5 course dinner. You can go on hikes right from the property, right out side your door. Its fantastic! This trip we did the Zip Line at Bretton Woods, we have also done the auto mile at Mount Washington. The location is great you can get to the cog rail way 15 mins or so one way North Conway another, numerous hikes and trails with in minutes. If you are a skier you can get to Bretton Woods, Attitash, Wild Cat and others with in minutes. The grounds are kept in tip top condition for weddings, and other events. I have been here in March, August and October so I have seen the seasons. In March we rented snow shoes and participated in the Maple Sugar events. The staff can help you with all your needs, from the out doors to shopping. I have stayed elsewhere in the white mountain's and keep coming back here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggie36b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The hospitality at the Notchland was fabulous. Both Ed and Les are very gracious and helpful host. The Inn is absoutely beautiful and very relaxing too! We stayed in the Kinsman Suite which was wonderful—great bed and suite. I think next time we will stay (yes, we are already planning a trip back) in the Evans Suite. I’m hyper sensitive to any road noise—not that there was much but I don’t want to hear any! The breakfast was yummy and we decided to do dinner at the Inn which was also a very delicious and intimate experience. It goes without saying we ADORED Crawford and Felony the two GOREGOUS dogs. We HIGHLY recommend the Notchland Inn.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pupepause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a great weekend staying at Notchland Inn and hiking in the White Mountains.
This was quite different from camping or AMC huts to say the least! The biggest surprise was that the restaurant was excellent. We did not really have any expectations about the cuisine when we decided to book there for our arrival dinner on Friday night but we found it as enjoyable as many meals we've had in our hometown of Montreal. We obviously then decided to eat in-house on Saturday too. It was excellent. Good wine menu and champagne by the glass or bottle!
Oh I forgot to mention, breakfast is excellent, as good as the Ritz Naples and served to your Table!. Forget this trekking back and forth to a buffet breakfast station. We slept in the Bear room which is big (has a King) and very bright and nice.
The only 2 negatives were carpets stains (other rooms had hardwood floors- choose Franconia or some other with hardwood floors). The place is so well kept (they recently renovated the dining /breakfast room ) that I am sure Ed will renovate the Bear room carpet shortly. The only small disappointment was the sounds from Route 302 but you can avoid that by using the A/C in summer or heating in Winter (close the windows) . Plus the traffic stopped during the night. Also some other rooms are away from the route 302.
We will return, either next hiking season or we'll try it in winter when we can enjoy the lovely rooms with fireplaces, including the common rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jed416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

My wife and I spent three wonderful days at Notchland. The inn keepers and staff were great. They were always quick to answer our questions and recommend activities for the day. We had a great breakfast each day. We had dinner one night and it was set up in the Music room. It was very special as it was our anniversary. Thanks again Les, Ed, and Mark for our great time at Notchland. We will be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scokog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We booked the set dinner for the night of our arrival. We had a long drive and arrived half an hour late, after going round in circles trying to find the place and ringing a couple of times to ask for directions (couldn't get a signal on the Sat Nav). We apologised and went straight in for dinner. At dinner, we were told that we had missed the soup (they were clearing the soup from most other tables) and would be put straight on to the next course. We were a little taken aback by this lack of flexibility but decided not to say anything. However, we found the rest of the dinner mediocre, and felt a little offended by their attitude. We should have complained at the time, but we were tired, and besides you don't want to start a stay on a bad footing...

On the positive side, the breakfasts were much better. And the dogs in the inn were lovely, friendlly animals. This inn is in a very scenic setting and certainly has plenty of character. It has easy access to lots of walks and the innkeepers were keen to offer information. Our room was very generously sized and clean, although a little dated.

We've stayed in lots of lovely high end inns around New England but we did not feel this was one of the best and wouldn't stay there again. It didn't merit the prices charged or leave us with a great sense of warmth.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonEm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
8.8 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,399 reviews
10.8 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
7.7 mi away
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Property: The Notchland Inn
Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing