We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite!”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We've been going to the Notchland for 20 years - it's our favorite get-away spot and it is unlike any other place we've been. We love to go in summer for hiking and in the winter for x-country skiing. Ed and Les are fabulous hosts and all their staff are top-notch. Don't delay - go!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traveler101428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Notchland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 248 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

I love this inn. I found it through Living Social, and have serious guilt that I am stealing from them because it was such an incredible deal. This is the type of place where they have everything figured out to make your stay special. I stayed here in the winter to go XC skiing at Bretton Woods and the last week of June to go hiking (Mt. Crawford trailhead it literally across the street).
Breakfast at the Inn is delicious and unlimited. They pretty much meet any request and come around and ask if you want seconds or to trying anything else from the menu. They also have fireplaces in each room and everything you need to get a fire going. At night we always go into the dining room and make a cup of tea.
Our first trip there we stayed in Jefferson which was very large and comfortable with chairs in front of the fireplace. Most recently they needed to upgrade our room due to some work in the one we reserved. They put us in Mad River which was as perfect as it gets. I would splurge to have this room again (In one of the cottages- small deck, and a living area separate from the bedroom).
Overall I enjoy the Notchland Inn because the decorations are tasteful(not too bed and breakfasty), everyone that works there is so kind and helpful with ideas of what to do, the location is great, breakfast is incredible, and everything is so well kept and clean.

(The dinner menus looked great, but we just needed more flexibility so we opted out, I'm sure dinner is a true treat!)

Room Tip: Mad River was a wonderful treat with large rooms and a porch as well as separate from the inn. Jeffe...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I spent three days two nights at the Notchland Inn last month with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren and loved it. The Inn is perfectly situated in the White Mountains near Crawford Notch and there is a lot to do. We hiked, fished, played miniature golf and enjoyed the chance to play games in the Inn's lovely sitting rooms. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The Inn keepers are really caring and catered to our every whim. The most memorable part of the stay were the breakfasts in the dining room with dozens of humming birds fluttering to the feeders at every window. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone planning a visit to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are looking for a quintessential New Hampshire experience, you would not be disappointed with your stay at Notchland Inn! It is a quaint old home nestled in the mountains and surrounded by flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds. At night, the view of the stars from the grounds is spectacular. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a comfortable bed and a fireplace. The Inn Keepers are absolutely hysterical. They have a dry sense of humor and they made us smile every time we saw them. They know everything about hiking and all of the attractions in the area so they would be a great resource for planning out your days. The daily breakfast was so good and the giant dog that wanders over to say hello is something to look forward to. I have to say it is really a fantastic place - the little touches like the guest books in each room to the big things like overall service were beyond my high expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fireplace! It is worth it!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanniTerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

What a wonderful Inn. There isn't one thing NOT to love. The building. The grounds. The pond. The hosts. The staff. The rooms. The food. Everything was amazing. From the moment we drove up to the Inn, we were mesmerized. It is just a sureal sight. High on a hill with magnificient views, clean mountain air and nature. The best part.......No televisions and no cell phone signal. While eating our fantastic dinner, we even got the see a bear come into the back yard. It was nice that we were inside and it wasn't, but still not something you see everyday while eating a 5 course meal. We will certainly return and tell our friends and family to make it a point to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pinkham room. The bed was a little small, but the in room, real wood, fireplace wa...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just spent a couple of days at The Notchland and it was just perfect!! A historic property, well-maintained, charmingly and comfortably furnished, beautiful gardens, great hosts and delicious food. We got away from it all and still had everything anyone could ask for. The inn is between Bartlett/N. Conway and Bretton Woods - a perfect location amid all sorts of recreational opportunities and yet away from it all. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buhuxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Had the chance to spend a weekend here and having been to quite a few B&B this was the best one ever!!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms all are amazing all with fireplaces and you can get wi-fi, but there is no tv or phone service cell or land line, although there is a land line availaible to use if needed in the front hall.

Belive me this place has so much charm and areas to walk, relax in youcould care less about tv and phones.

The inn keepers and their staff are second to none!!

If you get the chance to go here, give youself a treat and splurge for the 5 course nite time dinner
.
It's 2 hours long with soft music and what a treat the atmoshere is outstanding!!!!

This has now become my wife's and I FAVORITE place.....will absoulutly be going back

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#2 of 12 in Bartlett
295 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
309 reviews
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,602 reviews
18.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range: $214 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing