We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful”
Review of The Notchland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Notchland Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I knew nothing about this place when we arrived other than we had a Living Social deal and my husband was really excited about it. He was right. The place is wonderful. We had a little trouble getting our GPS to find it, but fortunately the signage is good and we had plenty of notice for the turn-off. The gardens were busting out all over with color and hummingbirds. We were immediately charmed by the architecture and decor, and quickly greeted by Adam and the dogs. We were asked to choose our menu for that night's dinner and then were given a nice tour of the main house before being shown to our room.

We opted to have dinner the first night because we knew we'd be tired from driving and it would be nice to not have to find a place. That was an excellent choice, especially as it poured down rain shortly after we arrived, which I watched from our cozy room, grateful that we could just stay right where we were and watch. It felt like England. I was instantly AWAY. My cell phone didn't work, but we were able to use wifi in our room.

Dinner was nice. A different type of service than a restaurant. Just think "banquet dinner" and you'll be comfortable. They serve everyone at the same time. It may take a little longer, but we didn't have any where else to be. I laughed at the idea that you could have all the dessert you want, but it was true! They brought us seconds on desserts. We turned down thirds, but they were offered. The drinks were good, if perhaps a smidge expensive, but you expect that for a resort.

We slept well that night, but in the morning we had a small problem with our room. I'll just say this. Crises happen. How they are dealt with tells you everything. We were quickly helped, with an overwhelming tone of concern, help, compassion, and friendship. Moved within minutes to an even better room, no fuss, no problem. It was over LIKE THAT. Boom. These guys are PROS. They totally know how to handle problems. They won me over in a split second.

Moved to the Kinsman room, our stay got even better. That room is huge, and yet still cozy. We had plenty of space to stretch out. A nice tub. Just quaint touches everywhere, but not cluttered. Not over done. Everything we needed was there for us, along with promises of anything we might have forgotten being available.

Breakfasts were fantastic. I had the blueberry pancakes both days because they were that good. Like dessert the night before, you could have as much breakfast as you wanted. Want pancakes AND eggs AND yogurt? No problem. Order what you'd like. No worries. And good coffee! I also appreciated the weather report each morning.

I would go back in a heartbeat. I am already pricing return visits.

Room Tip: The Kinsman was huge and lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Notchland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Notchland Inn is a hidden gem in the heart of the White Mountains. I had bought a Groupon and my husband and I stayed for 2 nights in June. We live in CT and go to the White Mountains 1-2 times a year and usually stay in chain hotels that are far from the places we like to hike/eat/sightsee. The Notchland Inn was in the heart of it all but you felt like you were in such a private secluded place. The inn keepers were amazing...and so was the their resident Bermese Mountain dog! The food and wine were AMAZING as well. You can watch the hummingbirds on the feeders outside the windows next to each table. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljp2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a wonderful getaway inn in the White Mountains of NH in a less crowded and developed "notch" (Crawford Notch). Very nicely appointed rooms and suites, exceptionally thoughtful touches in the rooms, very good food and friendly engaging hosts and a beautiful setting. Nice hikes nearby of all lengths and difficulty levels. Nice swimming hole in the river nearby too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneGut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

bought a groupon to this inn and was not sure what to expect. What an amzing place from the lovely grounds, to the friendly and helplful staff to the amazing 5 course gourmet meal. This place was charming and secluded. at first flet funny did not have access to TV or phone but it was a great hideaway. the area is great for hiking and Notchland has a swimming hole on its property.

We plan to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our mini getaway honeymoon weekend since it was truly the only time we had and the living social deal helped. It was money so well spent.It was perfect for us. There is absolutely no cell phones to bother us or wifi. We were able to check in at home with the use of the hallway computer. No tv or phone.....delightful!
We pretty much never left the Inn other than for some walks. We had dinner both nights, and it was worth it to not have to leave our home for the weekend. Dinner was really good and worth the money. Service was good as well. Breakfast was very informational and the Innkeepers were truly helpful with what to do in the area, although we were much more interested in relaxing.
My husband and I think this home would be great for a murder mystery weekend! The reading room off the back reminded us of the movie Clue and the conservatory.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked Notchland a day before for a quick weekend getaway with my wife... we were lucky and got the last room... knew nothing about the place but looked decent from the website. We lucked out big time, the charm, vibe and good natured hosts there made for a memorable trip.

The food was excellent, the grounds were beautiful and it was a nice break from cell phones and TV's (no tv in rooms and no cell service).

rooms are well kept, the overall vibe is laid back.

ask about the trails across the street, there is a great swimming hole at the river that was a treat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Notchland Inn with a living social voucher (it basically gave two nights for the price of one). The two nights spent at the inn were great and relaxing; it was a perfect time to enjoy nature and each other's company. The location was central to all the White Mountains have to offer, with a 20 minute drive to the Bretton Woods area and a 30 minute one to downtown North Conway.

We had the 5 course dinner the first night we were there. It was delicious. The service was great and the portions were decently sized. There is some option to choose from a few dishes for soup, main course, and dessert. Breakfast each day was equally excellent, with options from a short menu with additions like muffins and fruit. Coffee was always available.

The rooms were spacious for being a country inn. Bed could have been more comfortable, but the sleep quality was good enough. Classic,matching furnishings throughout the room helped with the inn feel. A seating area allowed for viewing of the fireplace. Bathroom was a little cramped, but it was functional. Everything was clean.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Notchland Inn and plan to return. The stay was relaxing and the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful. Mark, the daytime manager, had some great suggestions for rainy day activities on our last day.

Room Tip: Zealand room overlooks the side of the property ad features two chairs and a soaking tub.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart's Location
8.9 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
4.1 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#2 of 12 in Bartlett
295 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
308 reviews
10.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,601 reviews
18.3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Notchland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Notchland Inn

Address: 2 Morey Rd, Hart's Location, NH 03812-4105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Hart's Location
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hart's Location
Price Range: $214 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Notchland Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get away from it all, relax and rejuvenate at our comfortable 1860s granite mansion in the midst of the White Mountain National Forest. Settle into one of sixteen spacious guest rooms, individually appointed and all but one with wood-burning fireplaces. Notchland's wonderful 5-course dinner and hearty country breakfast are served in a romantic fireplaced dining room. Hiking, biking, swimming, skiing, kating, antiques, crafts and outlet shopping are close at hand. Notchland ... a magical location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Notchland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Notchland Hotel Hart`s Location

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing