We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you want in Feilding”
Review of South Street West

South Street West
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Street West
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just what you want in Feilding”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at the South Street West motel in Feilding for business last week. South Street West provides all you need- clean, modern, comfortable, easy to access, good parking and a friendly welcome. I appreciated the good advice on where to eat that evening. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Ross, Pleased that Anne looked after you while we were away and that you enjoyed your stay. Will welcome you back next time you are in town Cheers Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
19
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We recently stayed at South Street West whilst visiting with family for 10 days. After a recommendation from our son, who had stayed in January. Pauline was a fabulous hostess so accommodating and friendly. The room was extremely comfortable and clean with modern furniture. We especially enjoyed the BBQ facilities which we utilized almost every night. The other staff were also really friendly and always had time for a chat and to give some good local knowledge. The location is excellent we heard no traffic noise and is located right across from a wonderful park for children, and local supermarkets are a two minutes walk away. We will definitely recommend it to anyone, and we will certainly be back.
Thank you
Joanne and Chris Hogan

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Joanne and Chris, Many thanks for the great review and I am pleased that you are both back home safe and sound. Have just been out cleaning the BBQ as it was used last night as well. It does get a lot of use over the summer. Take care and we might see you back in November.
Cheers
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have now stayed twice at South Street West whilst visiting family.

On both occasions Pauline was extremely welcoming and we were very impressed with the modern facilities, spacious and clean accommodation and excellent location.

On our second visit (1 year after our first) Pauline welcomed us back personally and was very helpful once again.

I would not think of staying anywhere else in Feilding or the surrounding area!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Raf, Many thanks for the great review and pleased to see that you all made it home again. Thanks for the repeat business and look forward to your next visit. Take care of that lovely little man - cheers Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

On a return visit to South Street West I was welcomed not only as a returning valued customer but as a friend, a nice feeling from Pauline ,the manager.
A comfortable bed, spacious areas to relax in add to the appeal. It is a splendid location for the Event Centre of Manfield and one which suits my needs.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyanneHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi Dy, It was great to have you back again and to catch up on how things were going. Hope the Dairy event was good for you?? Take care and we will see you next year?? Cheers Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our extended family (including a toddler) stayed at the South St West in December for a family wedding, it was clean, modern and comfortable. The motel was large enough for us all to have our own space and the cooking facilities meant we were able to self cater easily. The manager Pauline was extremely helpful in all our dealings with her, we would happily stay there again and can reccomend it to others. The motel is within easy walking distance to the supermarket and town so convenient and our little grandson loved the playground opposite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chionacloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
The big 3 bedroomed units are great for families and with the baths as well as separate showers they work very well for the little family members. Very pleased that you had a great weekend in Feilding. Cheers
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Ultra modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable, helpful staff. Only a short walk into town which had a great cinema above a restaurant, had the lamb shank which was superb. Lovely place to stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room which backed out onto the road, not that you would notice at the whole place was so qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Its great that we are so handy to town Cheers
Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Hutt
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We only stayed for one night for a family get together elsewhere but this motel had all we needed. Very central to Feilding and staff were friendly. Comfortable bed, free wifi, and good instant coffee. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S, Manager at South Street West, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi Maureen,
Many thanks for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Wishing you a great New Year Best Wishes Pauline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feilding
9.0 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feilding Motel
Feilding Motel
#2 of 8 in Feilding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aroha B&B Feilding
Aroha B&B Feilding
#1 of 8 in Feilding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Highden Manor Estate
Highden Manor Estate
#1 of 1 in Awahuri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manfeild Park Motel
Manfeild Park Motel
#1 of 1 in Feilding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thyme Out Estate
Thyme Out Estate
#6 of 8 in Feilding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Street West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Street West

Property: South Street West
Address: 61 South Street, Feilding 4702, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Feilding
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Feilding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South Street West 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Manfeild Park and just a stone's throw away from the Feilding town centre, South Street West is Feilding's newest motel with a Qualmark 4 star rating. There's no better place to relax and unwind after an action-packed Feilding day. We've got 25 modern, self-contained units with amenities that include a BBQ area, internet access, free parking, digital TV and a guest laundry. And, for those guests who mean business, why not check out the stylish conference/meeting facilities we have access to. Cooked and continental breakfasts are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your South Street West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing