We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, AND value for money.”
Review of The Winsford Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winsford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Winsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Don't let looks deceive you. While people's first opinions were doubtful ("it looks like a youth hostel"), once inside out beautifully appointed, spacious and very comfortable room, we could have been in a much more expensive and exclusive hotel room. The owners were very friendly, even though we arrived fairly late in the evening after British Superbikes qualifying at Oulton Park, and we were even encouraged to have a lie in the following morning and to take breakfast a bit later. Breakfast was fabulous, really set us up for the day, and the dining room is very comfortable. We didn't use the lounge or garden, but both looked lovely. The bedroom was huge, the bed was very comfortable, and very very quiet. We didn't eat in, unfortunately, so we were recommended the Brighton Belle, about a mile up the road, and had a cracking meal there, and dropped in a pub for more drinkies on the way back. There's no wonder we slept so well! We will definitely return when we're back at Oulton Park next season!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosthejackal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

Attending a wedding in the area, we researched on the internet and found the Winsford Lodge. The room rate and reviews from previous customers stood out and I'm glad to say the hotel more than lived up to expectations. We arranged an early check-in to allow us to get changed, and received a friendly greeting on arrival. No problem with a late return either.
The room was large, quiet, clean and comfortable and the king size bed provided a great night's sleep. In the morning we were greeted to an excellent, freshly cooked to order breakfast. All in all, great value for money. We'd happily stay again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daleswalker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our party of 8 stayed here Saturday 4th June , prior to going to the British Touring Car Championships the following day. Having been shown to our rooms, we were all immediately taken with how clean and well presented they were. Our particular room had both single and double beds, although, on inspection, this appeared to be the same in some of the other rooms too. Our bed was comfortable and the towels that were provided, were neatly folded and in good condition. (I say this, as at a previous hotel we stayed at, they certainly weren't!!) As it was a sunny day, we made use of the raised decking area in the neatly kept garden. Here we met Steve, the owner, who went out of his way to provide information on best restaurants etc and quickest and easiest route to Oulton Park. Although our stay was short, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others and we will certainly be staying there for future race meetings.
Richard (53) and Amanda (42)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richsmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Fantastic stay 5 stars great hosts wonderful home cooked meal would give Gordon ramsey a run for his money great room comfy beds and all at excellent rate

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigger3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel for one night. On arrival was welcomed by Rosemary (owner) and introduced to her husband (Stephen). Warm welcome. Breakfast time could be chosen to suit us and told we were welcome to use the ground floor lounge any time!
Lovely ground floor room, double bed plus a single. Compared favourably to four-star hotels we have stayed in. Excellent shower, toiletries, hospitality tray and it was warm. The heating both in the room and shower room could be easily adjusted (which we did on arrival as it was a very cold night, but had to turn it down later on!). Very quiet so had a good night's sleep.
We paid extra for the breakfast and it was well worth it. Strong coffee, bacon, mushrooms, sausage, egg, tomatoes and even black pudding which my husband loved! Choice of toast + jams, marmalade etc and no rush to eat up and finish.
Information in file in room contained map and names/addresses of three or four places to eat but would suggest that these could be marked on the map as it's difficult in the dark finding them. However, 5 mins down the road and we found the 'Cross' shopping area with a Weatherspoons so evening meal accomplished.
Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taptoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed for one night in room 4. Very nicely decorated room. A good size with a double and single bed. Nice extras such as clock radio alarm, tissues and hospitality tray.

Bathroom was small but a good, powerful shower. Nice toiletries provided. Only negative is the size of the wash basin which is too small and difficult to lean over because of the shelf above. I pointed this out to the owners and they plan to change the sink and generally revamp the bathroom anyway.

Breakfast was very reasonably priced and included cereal, yoghurts, juice, full English with toast and choice of tea/coffee. Public lounge and breakfast room very pleasant.

Hosts were very friendly and provided excellent service. When asked, suggested several restaurants and we had a lovely meal in one they recommended.

Would not hesitate to recommend and if needed to stay in the area again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I have just had the pleasure of staying at The Winsford Lodge for one night,I was in Cheshire for work reasons,and my office actually booked it for me,and what a good job they did in finding this place.After travelling for 3 hours,and working all night,all I want are the basics,and this is far from basic.A very comfortable room with sumptuos bed,an excellent breakfast cooked to perfection,and very hospitable hosts,and only 20 minutes from the workplace.The only negative,I had to leave to go to work.Highly recommended,will definately use again if I am anywhere near Winsford

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calibra17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Winsford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winsford Lodge

Address: 85-87 Station Road, Winsford CW7 3DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Winsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winsford
Price Range: $63 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winsford Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Winsford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing