We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great service”

Gravetye Manor Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: From unhurried classical dining in our atmospheric wood panelled restaurant to leisurely lunches in the garden, from traditional Afternoon Teas to our very reasonable Table d’Hote menu – we hope to delight and enchant with our food regardless of the occasion. We are incredibly fortunate to have a one acre walled kitchen garden, which during the summer months provides 95% of all fruit and vegetables we use in the kitchen, assuring you of the very freshest ingredients. "We have an exceptionally talented team in the kitchen who are very keen to keep ingredients as fresh and local as possible. Dishes will change as often as is practical and will offer something new to try regardless of how often our guests dine with us. I look forward to inviting you into our restaurant at an exciting time to try, what I firmly believe to be, some of the most honest and delicious food in food in the area." Executive Chef – Rupert Gleadow
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited this with another couple. The restaurant seem keen to ensure that they can greet and seat diners with maximum attention so they stagger the times carefully. This is just an example of the attention they give to you without seemly overly fastidious. Their approach is relaxed but caring. There were three menus: a menu of the day (4 courses no choice, £40 I think), the a la carte (with starters around £15-20, mains £20-25) and the tasting menu (£85 for 7 courses). My wife and I went for the menu du Jour and our friends went a la carte. Total bill £140 per couple. All dishes were excellent quality. The staff were charming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Colin, thank you for your report from dinner. I am pleased you all enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Gravetye Manor soon. Best wishes, Andrew (Managing Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 423 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Staying at the nearby Alexander hotel and being bitterly disappointed by a poor and hugely overpriced lunch, we found this place nearby by chance. Welcomed at the door by the maitre'd, our pre dinner drink in front of the huge fireplace was livened up by a selection of canapés from the chef. Courteous and friendly throughout, we were guided through the outstanding daily menu with local ingredients including from the manors own walled kitchen garden. Classic romantic ambience in the restaurant was made better by the outstanding quality of the menu, and the brilliant staff. We are looking forward to go back, just to check if it is always this good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

I am so pleased you chanced upon us and enjoyed your evening meal. We look forward to welcoming again when I am sure it will be just as good!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Returning again for dinner a year after our last visit, which had been excellent. Always apprehensive that establishements may not live up to previous experiences but no need to worry. Great staff and food unsurpassed for many a mile. From the scallops, wild halibut, vennison and pork to the great english cheese trolley (waitress new all 20 + intimately - very impressive) and on to the puds - we tried one of each - it was just great. My son, a chef, had one complaint that the sugar in the meringue of the Lemon Meringue pie had not dissolved due, apparently, to not being added to the egg whites slowly enough. Perhaps too churlish to mention but i'm sure they are aiming for perfection.

Well done Gravetye. We will be back in the summer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DELLAMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Very pleased you enjoyed your return visit to Gravetye Manor, it sounds as though you definitely put us through our paces! we look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lunch at Gravetye Manor is consistently an enjoyable all-round experience. The dishes served are very tasty, beautifully served and deceptively satisfying. By the end of the meal we feel very well fed but without feeling we've over-eaten - and I tend to be a big eater!
All of the staff are friendly, helpful and confidently relaxed without being obsequious or annoyingly over-attentive. But when you need something they are right there.
The lounge areas with their large log fires provide comfortable and relaxing areas to enjoy an aperitif and after lunch coffee.
Of course all this doesn't provide a cheap "refuelling" stop, but as an enjoyable way to spend 2-3 hours and enjoy the whole experience it remains well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JandSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. To most of our guests dining at Gravetye come for a special occasion, and you so rightly say it is a very pleasant way to spend 2-3 hours, however once summer is here I feel sure you will stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having read some of the earlier Trip Advisor reviews I was a little apprehensive about my choice of restaurant to celebrate a bIg birthday but I needn't have been. This was an unforgettable evening for the ambience, food and service. Gravetye Manor certainly lives up to its Relais & Chateau membership. It is much more than just dinner out, it is a memorable experience. From the warm welcome on arrival, the interiors of the manor, the helpful advice from the waiters to the delicious and creative food and wine. It's certainly not cheap and portion sizes are small but you feel like you are being taken on a gastronomic journey so this way you can complete it. Every dish was cooked to perfection and looked beautiful. I'd recommend choosing cheese as the waiter's walk though the English cheeseboard was a wonderful and educational experience.

On the Friday evening we went, the restaurant was busy with mainly small groups of families and friends. It wasn't quiet or stuffy. The waiting staff were extremely friendly.

Gravetye Manor is for me a special occasion restaurant and if you view it in this way then you will have a wonderful time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Luxurygirlsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is always a worry that the independent reviews on Tripadvisor may give a different perspective to what we actually set out to achieve. Gravetye is a quintessential English manor house, serving food that is focused on flavour with dishes based around our kitchen garden and local suppliers. We are never going to be all things to all people. I am pleased that Gravetye lived up to expectations and was the perfect choice for your ‘special’ birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gravetye Manor Restaurant also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Horsham, Horsham District
 
West Hoathly, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Lower Beeding, Horsham
 

Been to Gravetye Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing