We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming pub in wonderful location”
Review of The Cat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Hoathly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cat Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 West Hoathly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Brington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming pub in wonderful location”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Booked for my 40th birthday celebration and what a lovely surprise! Could not recommend it enough. Excellent food and service. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Beef pie and Ginger pudding are a must have! Look forward to going back again soon. Dawn and Andrew

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    47
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We dined at The Cat for the first time just over a week ago to celebrate a family birthday. The location is a picturesque village in rural Sussex and the 16th century building just oozes rustic charm. The bar is just what one wants from an English pub with a convivial, cozy and very real atmosphere. When I say real I mean everything is authentic, the bar crowd obviously includes locals out for a pint with their dogs and so forth. A far cry from the manufactured atmosphere one finds in so many “gastro-pubs” these days. We had reserved the “snug” which is a large table in the corner of the bar area on a raised platform set back from the bar itself. It was definitely the right choice as you are part of the bustling bar scene but yet enough removed that you still feel like you are in a private dining area.
The staff were great from start to finish, all young it seemed but well trained, efficient, polite and cheerful. As for the food – magnificent! The chef uses local suppliers wherever possible and it shows in the taste of every dish. The menu is creative but also includes a selection of traditional pub fare such as fish and chips etc. I started with the seared scallops, soft black pudding and crisp pancetta in a red wine jus. What a great dish! Others were highly impressed with the venison terrine, stuffed Portobello mushroom and the mussels. For main course all the party except one had the rib eye steak and everybody found it to be excellent, perfectly cooked as ordered and extremely flavorful. Usually in the UK I avoid steak as it just never seems to match up to steak in the USA but I was urged to try it on this occasion based on the local origin of the meat and I was definitely glad I took the advice. The one non-steak eater had the Sweet Miso & Mirin glazed Aubergine with Japanese stir fry noodles and pronounced it one of the best meals she had ever tasted. To finish we shared a variety of excellent desserts from memory the best of which to my taste at least was the White Chocolate and Apricot Brioche Butter Pudding.
The portions were very generous, the beer excellently cellared and the wine reasonably priced. When the dust settled the bill was fifty pounds (about $75) per head which is “up there” for a pub I grant you but we ate and drank very enthusiastically so overall I felt the cost was reasonable, particularly considering the gourmet quality of the food.
I would definitely recommend The Cat for dining and eagerly look forward to dining there again the next time I am in that part of the UK. T/A classifies The Cat as a hotel and it does indeed offer four rooms if you want to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on a bitterly cold grey late afternoon but our welcome was warm and friendly. The room was wonderful with spectacular views over the Downs with the village church in the foreground. Wandering down to the bar we sat in front of a log fire enjoying a before dinner drink. The evening meal was simple food well cooked and presented but the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Thank you for 2 really special nights!! The Taylors

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaynnTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Bad meal, inattentive staff,steak was underdone,sent it back to kitchen,came back the same,no interest from staff what so ever,could not eat it,still got charged in full!!!!!waist of money and time,never go back again(((((((

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's rare to come across restaurant which is so good in some ways but very poor in others. I drove up from Brighton a couple of weeks ago for Sunday lunch with friends. The initial impression was good. It's got a cosy bar, a clean comfortable modern restaurant at the rear and the staff were friendly and the service was excellent.

However then we come to the food. It's not inexpensive. A three course Sunday lunch worked out at well over £30 including drinks. This is almost "proper" restaurant pricing and well above what I'd expect to pay in a pub. Thankfully I wasn't doing the paying. At this price I would expect the food to be perfectly prepared. Unfortunately it wasn't. I had mussels as a starter. They were OK but mostly rather miserable little bits of flesh in small shells. They were nowhere near as good as the same dish I'd had in a Brighton restaurant a couple of weeks earlier for which I'd paid the same price!

Then there was the roast Sirloin. I can only assume one chef did the meat which was rare as requested and another did the vegetables which were terrible. It's a long time since I had grossly overcooked vegetables in any restaurant or pub. But they did try to compensate for the mushy cauliflower, limp carrots and soggy kale with near bullet hard roast potatoes. This wasn't a pleasant dish but I refrained from loud complaints because my friends didn't want a fuss.

Finally there was the sticky toffee pudding which I'm pleased to say was just about OK but at £6 it should be.

Overall a mixed bag and not one I'd care to experience again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southdowns_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A group of us went to the cat inn last night for my birthday dinner and they were fantastic. The service was brilliant even though they did have a booked out restaurant they were still very attentive. The food was beautiful and the atmosphere was great, plus they let us have the table all night as we were a big group. Thank you for making an evening with my friends so great :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Smithyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked the Cat Inn for my birthday which is also Valentines Day so the bar and restaurant were packed but still had a friendly welcome from the owner who showed us to our room. Room No.2 split level very spacious nice bathroom. Set meal in evening for Valentines night but a great choice. Service with a smile from frirnfly staff and good food served hot. Couldn't fault it really apart from a small table which felt a bit cramped. Good nights sleep with a great cooked breakfast in the morning. Well worth a visit, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaG1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
0.9 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
4.2 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
10.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cat Inn

Property: The Cat Inn
Address: Queen's Square North Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Hoathly
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Cat Inn England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing