We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$394
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brambletye Hotel(Forest Row)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel(East Grinstead)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth(Crawley)(Great Value!)
$83
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Regency Hotel Gatwick(Crawley)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Roebuck Hotel(Forest Row)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
626
83
21
19
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
83
21
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden tourmichelin startaster menuwalled gardennespresso machinebirthday lunchstunning gardenscountry housepre lunch drinkslovely lunchcoffee and petit fourspublic roomsbeautiful roomsussex countrysidehead gardenerfour poster bedamuse bouche
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
545 - 550 of 753 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our stay at Gravetye Manor was delightful - elegance with a small, intimate, homey feel. The staff was exceptional - helpful, friendly, and ever present (everyone seemed happy to work there). Our room was beautiful, spotless, and with every amenity one needed. The food was delicious, served elegantly, and paired perfectly and precisely with the wines. The gardens are Fabulous!!!!!! A must for any garden lover. This is a charming and well run hotel. We hated to leave.

Room Tip: Every room is unique (I viewed several while there) and it would be hard to recommend one over another.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank you Janie C, sounds like you had a great time! This summer has been on of the best with plenty of lovely weather and our garden has never looked better.
regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

An anniversary treat took us to Gravetye for an overnight stay in Bay room, which was delightful with perfect views of the garden on 2 sides and beautifully quiet. The gardens were the perfect place for a walk and an al fresco lunch. Reception staff were very welcoming.
We were very pleased to have a reservation for dinner that evening, 7.30 for 8pm. We had drinks in the bar with some tasty appetisers and that's where the rhythm of our visit slowed up somewhat and sadly our dinner was delayed for some reason (No explanation given) our starters arrived 9.10pm - rather too late to avoid a headache. Such a shame given the wonderful standard of the food - all elegantly presented with the most amazing flavours. If you would rather not eat late, perhaps a word in advance would be wise.

Room Tip: Bay room had views of the garden and the lake side of the house. Spacious, light and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picaso2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that there was a delay in the service of your first course, we do aim to stagger our bookings as best we can, and I can understand that you would rather not eat late.
Andrew Thomason managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A friend and I decided to treat ourselves to lunch at Gravetye and a visit to their lovely gardens. The food and service were excellent with an unexpected amuse bouche that was delicious made with fresh peas and decorated with flowers. We both had mackerel followed by veal and enjoyed it very much. The gardens are superb particularly the kitchen garden. Quite hard to find and when I commented on the signage not being quite sufficient the response was that they knew it needed improving! Particularly annoying was the fact that on arrival the gates were closed with nothing to confirm you are in the right place. I did eventually - after ringing my friend who had the good fortune to follow someone else up the drive - find the sign telling me to drive right up to the gates or press the button for admittance. It would help tremendously if the overgrowth was cut back and that detail was made clearer! I have given 4 stars partly for this and also the fact that we were charged for desserts we did not have although this was sorted out when I noticed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cimscate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry had difficulty in finding the hotel, for some time we had been waiting for the council to replace the brown directional sign, which I am pleased to say is now replaced. Yes indeed, approach the gates and they will open. So glad you and a lovely lunch and walk in the grounds.
Andrew Thomason managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What better way to celebrate your 70th birthday, than lunch or dinner at Gravetye Manor.We joined our friend for lunch and found out it was her third birthday celebration here this year. A late Elizabethan manor house set in a thousand acres of wooded parklands. It was the home of William Robinson, whose initials adorn the heavy iron gates at the entrance to the driveway as one swishes in and who redesigned the gardens in the early years of the twentieth century and created the mixed border;the envy of every keen gardener. These borders are a wonderful feature of Gravetye Manor and create just the right mood as one approaches the hotel.
On the ground floor there is a captivating medley of public and dining rooms and on a beautiful midsummer`s day, glimpses through the mullioned windows to the gardens outside. To start, drinks at a table in the garden, each carefully screened from the others. At lunch time there is a set menu, which has plenty of choice. Most of our party had the asparagus fresh from the walled garden and the roast guinea fowl. The wines do push up the bill but there were some interesting choices including English white wines grown locally.
What the new owner has done is maintain the ambience of the house but introduce a more.modern, informal ( but not casual ) style. The young staff are attentive and enthusiastic. Years ago I thought the restaurant could be a bit stuffy but now it captures just the right mood. After lunch leave time to tour the gardens. England has few experiences better in midsummer than this marvellous mosiac of shrubs and flowers set in the Sussex landscape.

Room Tip: We were not staying but try and get a garden view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Thank you for your super review, three visits to Gravetye to celebrate a birthday sounds good to me! Andrew Thomason managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We held my wife's 0th (!) birthday at Gravetye last week. This was a day that 36 of us will always remember. From the moment we arrived at Mid-day to the moment we left at 8pm (long lunch!!) everything was perfect. The service, the food, the ambiance and the weather and of course the amazing gardens...

This was Gravetye at the top of its game and huge thanks to MD Andrew and all the team at Gravetye.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nablitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

It sounds as though it was definitely a birthday to remember! Thank you for you review. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews