We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional luxury”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have come back to this place more than once and it only keeps getting better. Usually the Whatley Manor's charm would whisk us away to the English countryside but the service and staff and unusually wild surroundings of the Gravetye mean this is fast becoming the new favourite. Ask for Kyle, the new affable resident manager.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. I am very pleased that Kyle made you welcome, he has only been with me a couple of weeks and is already making an impression. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    75
    18
    18
    4
See reviews for
88
393
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I am constantly amused by so-called trendy terminology, such as "designer" hotel. Surprise, surprise, all hotels are designed by someone and like everything else some are good and some are bad. From my experience that particular label can often mean some would-be "expert" has created a hash up of styles resulting in a bizarre mess. Not so with Gravetye Manor which is a model of good taste and classic British understatement. I have been a regular diner here over the past 20 years and it never fails to deliver. Having travelled extensively over the world and I can say that this hotel measures up well with many of the very best unless of course your taste runs to gimmickry and O.T.T. design. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your interesting review. I often like to call Gravetye ‘the real thing’ in the country house hotel market. Yes we have had a refurbishment but it still looks like a quintessential English Manor House. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night stay in this cozy and charming country hotel. You are greeted with open log fires in every room and comfortable seating. The cream tea was lovely with lots of tea to accompany. The 4 course evening meal was amazing and the semelier wine choice was perfect with each course. Comfortable rooms with every amenity you could wish for. Will be back !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am fully aware that we are not going to please all the people all the time, but judging from Tripadvisor we do very well! Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have just celebrated my husbands birthday at Gravetye, this was a spontaneous booking and I am so pleased that we chose it, this hotel is not only beautiful and charming architecturally, open fires beautiful interiors etc… but it has the kind of service which is usually lacking without being over the top, the staff are professional and friendly, they seem to be part of a family and to enjoy their work, this comes across as genuine and warm.
The food is superb, the wine however we thought a little overpriced. Although the gardens were in winter sleep, it must be amazing when in full bloom.
We got lost on the 'cat walk' our fault and were very muddy, a kind porter washed our wellingtons for us, it's that kind of place.

Room Tip: We had Chestnut, my husband wanted to stay there, I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
It is always most gratifying when you choose a hotel and it all works out as planned. As you experienced we all genuinely love what we do which creates a family spirit. Late February and the garden is starting to wake up, I thing Spring will be early this year. Thank you for your comments. Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with teenage children just after New Year. We chose Gravetye Manor for a quiet post-Christmas break following a very good review in the Daily Telegraph. We were not disappointed and our experience was excellent.

A particular highlight was the great level of service and staff who seemed to be universally exceptionally friendly in a pleasant unforced way.

The cooked breakfast was probably the best we have ever had in a hotel and the restaurant food was also prepared to a very high standard.

Before we arrived we had some concerns about the location both in its proximity to our home in south London and to the M23 and Gatwick Airport. We had no need to worry as Gravetye is tucked away on its own estate and certainly feels as if it is 'in the middle of nowhere'. There is no noise at all from the airport or from traffic.

Given the ease of access from London, Gravetye offered us all the benefits of a country hideaway without the stress of a long motorway drive.

We would love to visit with our children again but more boisterous teenagers may find the lack of pool and very (pleasantly to us) quiet atmosphere not to their liking

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adriansteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was indeed a pleasure to look after you and your family. The secret to our success is knowing that we are never going to be all things to all people, therefore we major at what we do best, unspoilt country house luxury with great hospitality. I look forward to welcoming you all back soon and will get some long walks organised to keep the teenagers amused, with maybe a day out in Brighton for something a little different. Best regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a surprising quintessentially English gem!

We have stayed at some of the best Hotels in the World but found Gravetye Manor to be unrivalled for calm sublimity. We booked on a quick decision to get away from it all. Leave the teenagers behind and find ourselves again. Gravetye provided just that and more.

We live only 12 miles away, but the magic began as soon as we entered the hotel's long driveway. It slowly stripped away the present and took us into its own place, like a forgotten Manderley.

The Hotel and grounds architectural and natural grace please the eye, its dark panelling, warm low lighting and crackling fires provide a comforting warmth. It IS old charm - but with a modern taste and serviced by truly delightful staff who are the best we have ever encountered.

We don't know who is running the Hotel, but they are doing a fantastic job.

The Taster Menu at Dinner was sublime, full of unusual and delicate flavours - and again service was top notch - with no shortage of attentive and professional staff. The wine list is broad and extensive, but not daunting.

Really can';t say enough good things about Gravetye Manor.

We were touched by its magic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is gratifying that there are enough people that ‘get’ Gravetye and that there is something special in peace and tranquillity and old world charm. Although we are so close to Gatwick you can’t hear the planes and we are tucked away like Manderley!
I am pleased that you live so close, we look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in a couple of months when the spring bulbs will be out. Best regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The driveway to the hotel was long with fabulous views a lovely Christmas wreath on the gates split into two as the electric gates opened up!
An impressive start & the hotel did not disappoint!
Beautiful old manor house built in 1598-don't think I have ever stayed in such an old building!
We were welcomed & shown where to park & then taken up to our room on the first floor which was "Bay". It was stunning having oak panelling to all the walls, an original fireplace, antique polished furniture & great views to the front & side of the house.
It also had a quirky wardrobe that doubled as a storage area for the tea/coffee facilities & the mini bar! The bathroom was on the small side but was perfectly serviceable & had a wonderfully warm heated floor!
Our dinner was excellent, lovely flavours, beautifully presented & quite a lot of the food produced in the delightful kitchen garden. My only small criticism would be that the food came rather too rapidly, so we waited a while before ordering our last course. I had a wonderful apricot soufflé & my husband had some of the 20 different British cheeses on offer, all of which he greatly enjoyed.
The bed was comfortable & the cover & cushions were removed while we were at dinner-all very thoughtful & helpful.
We had an excellent breakfast-home grown apples making the lovely juice on offer along with freshly squeezed orange, grapefruit & tomato. My only regret was that I couldn't eat all the lovely things on offer!
Overall we couldn't fault the hotel & loved the small size & friendliness of the staff, we can't wait to go again, hopefully when the weather is better & the gardens are at their best!

Room Tip: Bay was great, being dual aspect. Holly is also lovely with a large bathroom-including a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AYHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review your stay with us over the Christmas period. Bay is one of the original rooms of the old house with dual aspect windows over the garden, do come back in Spring to see from Bay our amazing display of tulips and the wild flowers on the meadow. Best regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
7.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing