We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a lovely experience. This hotel has been on my wish list for many years and I was finally able to arrange a visit. The manor house was what I expected but the really delightful surprise were the gardens. The formal grounds were lovely and the kitchen gardens intriguing. I never knew how brussel sprouts actually grew. Even if you aren't a garden fanatic (I am not), do plan to spend a morning or afternoon exploring. The room had every comfort, the meals were outstanding and the service impeccable. It is a little hard to find so gps or a maps app might come in handy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found us and had such a lovely time. Although only 30 miles from central London we are a little hidden in this corner of Sussex. I will definitely look into the App! Best regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    75
    18
    18
    4
See reviews for
88
393
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Gravetye Manor is a rather special place with comfortable public areas and bed rooms.The gardens are magnificent and the food was superb.The service was excellent, the staff friendly ,knowledgable and are an asset to the place.They could not have been more helpful in making arrangements for our special stay.They were superb with the 6 children ,all under five ,who found the gardens a haven for running off their lunch and providing a glorious backdrop for photographs.
My wife and I just hope they did not stretch the patience of the staff too much. It was perhaps fortunate that the sun shone at the right times.Even on an earlier visit pouring rain did not detract from the place but ,then, we were not accompanied by children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you all! We don’t accept children under 7 in our main restaurant however families have been coming to Gravetye for many years for their celebrations in our private dining room. I am so pleased all had a good time for your special day. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was actually the first 2 days of our honeymoon and WE LOVED IT!! Everything was superb without being stuffy. The room, the food, the service and the gardens ALL to die for. What I can't understand is some of the reviews of Gravetye on Tripadvisor. So it has a long and pot holed drive. It's called the Sussex countryside for goodness sake! And how any one can fault the food beggars belief. (Sorry about the pun)
We plan to return to Gravetye at a different time each year both to really appreciate the gardens in different seasons but also to remember somewhere very special and let nostalgia do the rest.

Room Tip: Go for the middle rate or more that way you will not be disappointed. Often for another small outlay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am so pleased you arranged to spend the first two days of married life at Gravetye Manor. Over the years so many have spent their wedding night with us and keep coming back year on year. Your idea of returning at different times of the year is an excellent one! Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We recently stayed at Gravetye Manor and had a really lovley experience. The staff were good the room was perfect the gardens magnificent and the food lovely. We would recommend this hotel and look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: Holly room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzz2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the recommendation, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Service from top to bottom is first rate, and everyone seems to pitch in at dinner time. We stayed in the lovely Pear room which had a spectacular view of the amazing garden. On our first night, we dined from the casual menu in one of the lounges. I actually liked this better than the gourmet menu in the restaurant. We had an exceptionally early flight, and since the hotel is located approximately one hour from Heathrow, the manager offered to have toast and orange juice brought to our room. Nice, thoughtful touch. The hotel's decor is beautiful; at times I felt like I was in a movie set. Ultimately, the service and gardens are what sets this place apart from any other place. It is really quite special, and you will feel special, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhetoricRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Two nights (or more) is a must for our friends across the pond! Time to relax and unwind and enjoy this beautiful quintessential English manor house and our amazing gardens. Pity you had to leave so early but the trip to Heathrow is very quick that time of day. Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just had a wonderful stay at Gravetye Manor and would highly recommend it. We have been looking for ages for somewhere close to London (Gravetye is about an hour's drive away) that could be the perfect location for somewhere to escape to as a luxury break and Gravetye is the first place that has ticked all the boxes. It is a beautiful hotel, the decor is understated and elegant, the service very friendly, the room we stayed in was lovely with a four poster bed, the drawing room with its large open fire is just what you want for pre-dinner drinks or after dinner coffee and the extensive grounds are perfect for long walks. What really made it for us though was the food - their incredible kitchen garden means you really notice how fresh the ingredients are. We had a light lunch which was excellent - the simple side salad was actually memorably good - lots of colours, vegetables and flavour. For dinner we had the tasting menu paired with wines and every course was a triumph and the wines chosen by the very knowledgeable sommelier were excellent. Also appreciated were touches like the beautiful china that they use (even for room service) and being able to borrow wellies. We will definitely be returning again.

Room Tip: Holly was a lovely room with a four poster bed and good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trotlondon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I am so pleased you have discovered us! Only 30 miles from central London we are the perfect choice for a real ‘get away from it all’ experience. We do find that our guests just like to relax and unwind, be it only for an overnight, but the magic really does work. Some guests of course stay longer and explore the beautiful Sussex countryside but many are content staying in and around our lovely gardens and local walks. Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Huge disappointment .The room was small and cramped and what seemed to be in the attic. We picked the daily dinner menu with accompanying wines at an extra£27 each ,the starter was a garden salad which consisted of a lettuce leaf a tomato and a quails egg cut in two,next a small fillet of mackerel with cucumber then 3 small pieces of very ordinary Ballantine of chicken size of 50 pence piece, fondant chocolate was over cooked ,no runny middle. Wines ,3 glasses were an inch at £9 a glass ! All for £72 per person !! Funereal atmosphere in the dining room ,no ones fault . Service good.gardens fabulous ,vegetable garden brilliant apples raspberries all kinds pity some of them hadn't been used more in our dinner. The chef certainly needs to up his game. £500 a night for what we had was a joke and a huge ,as I have already said, disappointment.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mrs Allen, I am most upset to find your stay with us at Gravetye Manor was a huge disappointment. I will attempt to deal with all your comments which I hope will go to a better understanding. You reserved our entry level room, a Classic Standard which are by classification smaller than our other bedroom stock, and yes we do have rooms on the second floor with ceilings that slope, one of which is in our top category. Daily dinner menu is one of three menus available each evening at £40, we choose the four courses each day depending on what is fresh from the garden and our local suppliers. For £27.50 we offer a pairing of 3 different wines which again change daily and is very popular giving a guest the opportunity to experience a wine flight with our set menu, as we do at the top end with our 7 course tasting menu. We strongly believe that the four courses are well balanced and we also include a complimentary amuse bouche. I am sorry your chocolate fondant was overcooked, this should not have been served, this dish came with raspberries from the garden, raspberry sorbet and raspberry coulis, all our menus use the produce from the garden. I am truly sorry that your visit to Gravetye Manor did not match expectations. Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
7.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotel.de so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing