We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Gravetye Manor recently and were very impressed. The attention to detail in the rooms was excellent, the decor was beautiful (we stayed in the Holly room) and everything that you could think of was provided including a fridge with complimentory water and fruit juice.
The staff were very friendly and one of the recptionists on hearing that we would have liked appletizer to drink which they do not normally stock went out to a shop and bought it herself so that we would have it for the following nights. We both appreciated this very much it certainly went beyond the call of duty.
We would definately recommend this hotel for a peaceful break with good food and lovely gardens they even have an in house florist who does beautiful arrangements everywhere with flowers from the garden.
Will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Secret_Garden400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Holly is indeed a lovely room and was originally William Robinson’s study with views over the little garden and the meadow to the lake. This summer has been excellent for flowers from our cut flower garden, giving our in-house florists plenty to work with. We look forward to your return visit. Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    68
    17
    17
    4
See reviews for
80
347
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first visit, but arranged for a 60th birthday party. We had a private room, with a table beautifully laid for 12 and exclusive use of a lounge for drinks before lunch and later for tea, but by then we were all too full. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Most impressed by the extensive vegetarian menu for one of us, as usually there is only one choice on most menu's.The hotel is steeped in history and looks very luxurious. Unfortunately it was pouring with rain, so we didn't go into the garden, but peeping out of the window it looked really colourful. The whole family enjoyed our party and are hoping for another special occasion to go again. It really does seem a special occasion place and maybe we could stay overnight next time, so heres hoping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Gravetye Manor is certainly a delightful place, thank you so much for your comments. If only we could manage the weather as well ! Do try and stay next time if your can. Best wishes Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had looked forward to our stay at Gravetye Manor very much but it truly exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms are sumptuous and supremely comfortable. The gardens are truly spectacular and you should not miss walking through them all. The staff is really the best part. They are helpful, thoughtful and knowledgable but never intrusive. Andrew who manages the hotel is top notch in every way and insures that the staff are on the ball all the time. The food is perfection and the service is as well. We could not possibly have had a better experience and cannot wait to return. There is so much to do and see in that part of England.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review from Virginia! I am blessed to have a team behind me who totally understand hospitality and love what they do. Best wishes, Andrew Thomason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Firstly first impressions count. The driveway leading up to the hotel is long and has the statutory speed bumps. Why are they not highlighted with a bit of fresh paint. Also there are pot holes in the drive which is sadly overdue a total resurfacing.
We ordered a cream tea. We were given the extra water we requested but not in a covered hot water container; just a small open jug and the tea was weak. The cups were also pathetically small.
The scones were also small and rather hard but tasted OK. Not very good value for money.
The service charge at 12.5% was discretionary. The service did not justify it. We were testing the waters for a possible visit to the restaurant but we have decided not to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. I would like to respond to all your points. I do apologise for the drive to our gates, this is managed by the Forestry Commission and although we do our best to patch, you are right it does need attention, we will keep working on this one!
We use a beautiful old fashioned range of tea service called Petit Fleur from Villeroy & Boch which is extremely popular with guests, the tea is finest quality first flush Darjeeling and as a result has a naturally paler colour, we offer a second pot of fresh tea to all our guests whilst enjoying afternoon tea. I do not however feel that £9.50 is overpriced for tea and scones with home-made jam and clotted cream served in a luxury hotel.
Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been occasional visitors to Gravetye over the last 20 years and have always enjoyed it. I could write a detailed commentary but Martin Baines below has already written exactly my thoughts, including the comment on breakfast timings......
Clearly a great deal of time and money has been invested over the last three years or so, reflected in the quality of furnishings and the decorative excellence of the rooms, and air conditioning is now available at least in the north wing.
Visitors who are keen gardeners will appreciate the work that has gone into the grounds - simply splendid, and the walled vegetable & flower garden is quite the best we have seen, replete with clouds of butterflies and bumblebees! The gardeners at Gravetye are a friendly bunch and a pleasure to talk to.

Room Tip: Rooms with west and/or south facing rooms will enjoy the best views. The Mulberry room is on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyinbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Tony,
Thank you for your review, I am glad you are pleased with our refurbishment and the commitment we have made to the restoration of the William Robinson garden. All our rooms have views over the gardens but for the best views we recommend you choose those overlooking the flower garden or the meadow to the lake. Yes indeed this year we seem to have had a profusion of butterflies and bees and our gardeners are always at hand to share their experiences and knowledge. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been coming here for many years for either a stay or lunch. As always perfect and have noticed since the change of ownership that money has been spent on the rooms and gardens. The food and wine list very good and they make a really good gin martini! The service is attentive and considerate. It is situated in lovely gardens and surrounded by plenty of good walking areas.
We go to another Relais et Chateaux hotel called Summer Lodge, and Gravetye has a similar feel, not too stuffy and more like a second home. Well done to everyone concerned and £1500 for two nights well spent. Just one small point was in our bathroom the bath has no shower attachment, although there was a seperate shower cubicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Derek & Christine
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased you have enjoyed Gravetye so much over the years, and I do admire your taste in hotels! During refurbishment it was decided not to have a hand shower in the bath when there is a separate shower cubicle, maybe the wrong decision, I don’t know? Look forward to welcoming you back soon and finding out how your trip to Summer Lodge went. Kind regards Andrew Thomason Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked here at relatively short notice as a birthday treat for my wife and were very impressed. We have stayed in a lot of Relais & Chateaux places in the UK and France and rarely been disappointed but somehow despite having been aware of Gravetye Manor for a long time have never stayed there. Perhaps the fact it is near the uninspiring East Grinstead put us off?

In fact the place is delightful. It is set in a secluded tree lined valley and is extremely peaceful. The buildings are a 15th Century Manor House that has been very sympathetically restored and converted for hospitality use. Unlike many such conversions it has not been overly extended and made "corporate" yet has been upgraded to provide all modern facilities.

Our room was delightful (Ash) with 4 poster bed, what appears to be original wood panelling and was large and spacious. The bathroom was also large and well appointed - in a somewhat Art Deco style that was perhaps not exactly what one would expect in the building.

The room included tea making facilities and a Nespresso coffee machine (all free as I would expect). There was also a mini bar stocked with free soft drinks and water - something I always appreciate as little annoys me more than discovering rip off prices for in room water and drinks. There is free WiFi throughout - another plus as too often in the UK places can try and sting you for over £10 to £15 per day for access - since there is only just about 2g mobile phone coverage the free WiFi was appreciated.

We ate in the restaurant and it was of the standard I would hope for in such an establishment. We had the multicourse taster menu and it was well prepared and interesting and the accompanying selection of wines chosen by the sommelier were equally good and interesting. The style is modern and very well done. Perhaps not up to the "wow" factor of somewhere like L'Enclume but at least as good a some places we've eaten in France that boasted a couple of Michelin stars.

The staff were all extreme friendly and attentive striking just the right balance between formality and conviviality.

The only thing I would change is their breakfast service times. Service in the restaurant finishes at 9:30 which I think is extremely early for an establishment aiming at the leisure market. We rose fairly late and found ourselves rushing when I checked the service time. They do offer room service breakfast later but I always think that is a poor alternative as I like to ablute at leisure and wander to eat at leisure without having to wait in the room for its delivery.

All in all though a very enjoyable stay and somewhere I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mr Baines, Thank you so much for your fabulous review, I am so pleased you had a great stay to celebrate your wife’s birthday. We do offer a 7.30 to 9.30 breakfast however those that come down later are always looked after. We look forward to seeing again soon, maybe for your birthday next time? Kind regards, Andrew Thomason Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
Felbridge Hotel and Spa
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
7.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing