We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Sorry it's taken this long to write our review - we had our wedding at Gravetye Manor back in mid-October (19th). As you can imagine we were anxious, and hoped the day would go well. We put our trust in the staff of Gravetye to make sure our stay went to plan, and they exceeded our expectations at every step!
From the moment my wife and daughter arrived and the reception staff knew straight away who they were, to the little gifts and messages left in our rooms, the discrete and meticulously well executed service through the day of the wedding, and the genuine and sincere wishes from the staff.
I would particuarly like to thank our waiter on the day (I'm sorry I can't remember his name, but he was an incredibly friendly German chap) - he looked after us so well it made the day. He was extremely good with our children,aged 5 & 7 and paid them lots of attention which they loved.

The bedrooms, public rooms and grounds are extraordinarily special. Just beautiful.

When we left to go on our honeymoon we felt sad to leave! The places we stayed in during our stay didn't match up either...not even close.!

Suffice to say we will be back for our anniversary, and many more to come!

Thank you to all the staff at Gravetye.


Keith & Caroline Clarke

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithandcaroline54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you so much for the review. We are all thrilled you both had a memorable day, we absolutely love looking after our wedding couples and making dreams come true. At Gravetye we specialise in small and intimate wedding celebrations and because we love doing them we do them very well. With just 17 bedrooms we become the perfect venue with a house party style. We all look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 739 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Had an absolutely perfect stay here. Staff are exceptional and the service is of a superior level, nothing felt like too much effort and many little touches that make a difference.
Room was very tasteful and comfortable. Again lots of attention to detail.
Had the tasting menu, lovely and they even tailored it for us as I did not want one of the courses.
Breakfast was also fantastic - rounded off a faultless weekend.
Will definitely return and would highly recommend for a treat.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolaglasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. A winter break is so lovely at Gravetye, although we are only 30 miles from central London it is like coming to another world. Peace and tranquillity, gorgeous countryside walks, lovely log fires (we have four on the ground floor) and great food, the perfect recipe for a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have just been told this hotel does not accept children under the age of 7 for afternoon tea ,i was hoping to visit for my mothers birthday and their web site had no information on it to suggest any different ~ so NOT very family friendly then!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

I am sorry we were not able to accommodate your request for afternoon tea. For the last 50 years Gravetye has been the choice for family celebrations. We fully accept that we can’t be all things to all people which is why we have a policy of welcoming children over 7 years old. Families often take a private room dining room for a family lunch party which is when we relax our policy and younger children are catered for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited Gravetye a few months ago and were most impressed by the gardens and the effort being put into them by numerous gardeners.

They are being restored to the highest standards. The hotel itself had its makeover a couple of years ago. A lot of money was spent - but very discreetly. The staff are superb and the welcome with blazing fires makes the trip worthwhile.

The food is excellent. The last time we were there we had the tasting menu and took the wine suggestions. Although the food couldn't be faulted the wines were terrific and presented by a very knowledgeable sommelier. In fact, it felt like a really good wine tasting with a menu to go with it! This time (October 2012) we had wine by the glass and were impressed by the quality of the selection available.

The breakfast was delicious - especially the Smoked Haddock and poached egg.

It's a real treat to go there.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Apparently 'Ash' retains most of the original features and has a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonUKjohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It is always lovely when guests visit us during the summer and come back during autumn and winter to enjoy a different side Gravetye with cosy log fires and fine dining treats.
We do take a lot of care over breakfast, to us this is such an important meal, which sets you up for the day.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our first time at Gravetye Manor but, hopefully, not the last even though we are spoilt for choice in the Capital. Beautiful old building and setting and warm blazing log fires as welcoming as the staff. Restaurant servers friendly, informative and efficient. Felt that the lunch-time fixed price menu was a tad limited at this level so we went a la carte. No problems with choice there! Duck consomme with pan-fried foie gras was masterful, veal with sweetbreads excellent, puddings well up to standard. Amuse bouche between courses kept us suitably occupied while pondering the next sensory delight. Strong smell of fish cooking from the kitchen slightly off-putting at one point but this did not linger or spoil the overall ambience. Recommended.

Classic Car Guy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Classiccarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

I see your review was from your visit last year. Interestingly enough the Duck consommé with Foie Gras is back on the menu again this November, by popular demand! Thank you for the belated posting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

There are very few hotels where absolutely nothing niggles... but Gravetye Manor has to be one of them. The management get the country house hotel vibe experience exactly right: not stuffy, but helpful and attentive enough to open doors, carry bags and remember personal preferences. The rooms are thoughtfully decorated and combine traditional furnishings with modern amenities such as a Nespresso coffee machine, complimentary mini-bar and showers with proper water pressure.

I'm a coeliac who has to remain 100% gluten free. This was absolutely no problem - the chef even provided gluten-free homemade scones and cakes for tea in front of the fire. What a treat. Supper included lobster, scallops, steak and tiny home-grown vegetables.

Whereas it's common to find bland, mass-produced fruit salad in even "good" hotels, Gravetye goes a step further: my breakfast fruit was gathered that morning from the orchard and kitchen garden and included apricots, raspberries and delicate apples. These are the little touches that leave an impression and guarantee a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask to look over the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We make it a standard to ask all our guests when booking if they have any dietary requirements, we can then be fully prepared to look after all our guests and their individual needs. We look forward to welcoming you back for that repeat visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for Afternoon tea.When we arrived we had wonderfull greeting with my car door being opened then he helped us park our car nearby.Very good service!!Beautifull sitting areas.We had a nice table close to the fire place.Our tea service was not that greatfull like we have thought.The cake,biscuit and sandwich selection was great.Waiting staff was running,i could not catch they eyes to ask refresh the tea.We felt it was rush.We were missing the calm.A bit disappointing..When we finished we went to the flower garden.It was so beautifull as well as the kitchen garden!!Would love to return in the future to stay for couple of days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea but disappointed we didn’t offer the level of service expected. We always offer to refresh tea and I am sorry that you had to ask on this occasion. I look forward to the time when you can stay for a couple of days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,671 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
6.1 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.4 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range: $278 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing