We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all of our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent our wedding anniversary here this weekend. From the moment we drove up to the hotel, we were greeted warmly - first by the porter, then by the general manager and finally by the front desk person who showed us to our beautiful room, Holly, which was spacious and well appointed with lovely antiques, a fridge with chilled juices and waters, a fantastic bathroom with every possible amenity included soap flakes for personal washing and top of the line Jean Rhys toiletries from Cape Town. The hotel had even supplied a Sussex map with numbered dots showing where all of the local historic homes and other visitor attractions were in relation to Gravetye Manor. The gorgeous gardens have many nooks and crannies in which to have tea or just relax and enjoy the views. Dinner and breakfast, served in the quiet and attractive dining room, were both very good, if not historic, and the presentation was elegant. We'd highly recommend "The Cat" pub in nearby West Hoathly for a lunch after a walk from Gravetye.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are excellent but they are expensive. Note that there is no elevator and some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

I am so pleased that your stay at Gravetye was a success. Holly is indeed a beautiful room complete with a four poster bed and stunning views of the lake and valley. We are most fortunate to be located in a wonderful area close to so many amazing historic houses and noteworthy gardens. The Cat is our local and run by another Andrew, well worth a visit across the fields by foot, alternatively by road for the less adventurous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 750 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ths was our second visit but our first stay, the room was lovely and very well appointed and exceptionally clean. The staff were a delight and very attentive. The dinner thistime though was a disappointment. When asked if there is a problem with a half eaten meal my usual answer is it's fine not wishing to complain, however the waitress needed to inform the chef s to why a meal is not finished so I explained that myself and my guest felt it was somewhat lacking in the taste we were expecting but it was probably our expectation . I had asked for my main dish of fish to be served without the shellfish sauce due to an allergy and when asked what other sauce I would like I said I was happy with anything else and would leave it to the chefs discretion. My fish came without any form of sauce as did the vegetables and as such was dry and tasteless , the food bill alone for a party of 4,came to over £400 so to say we were disappointed was an understatement ! Having previously had a great lunch we were less than impressed and will not be rushing back! A shame since the hotel and staff were a delight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victoriabristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, I am most upset to hear that your evening meal with us was not to the standard of your first visit. It is not unusual for us to be asked to make an adjustment to a dish, taking into account any number of allergy requests we receive. I sincerely apologise that you were not offered an alternative sauce to compliment your fish, and a non-shellfish garnish. If we had I feel sure your dining experience would have been different. Please contact me personally so I can discuss this with you, I would not want this experience to stop you from returning to Gravetye. Thank you again for communicating via Tripadvisor and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Visited Gravetye Manor for lunch having spotted the Hotel was a Relais et Chateaux hotel. (Relais et Chateaux hotels are known across the globe for their quality, service and wonderful surroundings).
The service was attentive without being claustrophobic and the food really first class. We ate from the set lunch menu which was limited in choice (two starters, two main courses, and one pudding) but was well thought out and thoroughly enjoyed.
The weather was warm and sunny so had coffee and petit fours in the garden which was a mass of colourful flowers and bushes, and completely surrounded by spectacular views of the Sussex downs. It was the wonderful high point of the afternoon.
My only point of caution is that the Hotel is not able to cater for the disabled. The house has many steps and the only Ladies lavatory is on the first floor (and no lift) so with my 94 year old mother-in-law used the Gents loo on the ground floor. Which she reported back was spotless although small! A very enjoyable afternoon and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and the weather was kind enough for you to enjoy the garden. The many steps of our lovely old building does make the hotel a challenge, and as you discovered we are happy to help out and reserve the gentlemen’s ground floor cloakroom when needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the spur of the moment we decided to go for lunch at Gravetye and decided to eat at one of the tables in the garden. What a fantastic experience! We had great but not obtrusive service, with a fantastic setting overlooking the fields in the distance and surrounded by beautiful country garden flowers. The food was cooked and presented perfectly with great flavours. I could not fault it. Our last visit was last December which was our first visit following the refurbishments and was a great experience and a massive improvement. The waiting staff certainly are very well informed about all the food and drink they are serving and can offer great information and advise. Really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for sharing your ‘lunch in the garden’ experience. Sadly we have had too few occasions this year to make the most of al fresco dining. Our garden and lounge menu offers an alternative choice to the restaurant menu and proved very popular this summer. Gravetye Manor is just as magical during the autumn and winter months with beautiful lounges and roaring log fires. We too look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having just given a private Party at the Manor I cannot recommend it highly enough.18 of us sat down to Lunch in one of the panelled rooms,after drinks on the terrace,and the food and service were exemplary.The garden is a total joy,and the setting fabulous.From our first meeting to the actual event, the attention we received was first class,including all the detail required of such a special occasion.Two of our guests stayed over,and we returned the following day, to find they had enjoyed a very peaceful night.For an intimate and relaxing special event this is the place to go,especially throughout the Summer when the Garden is so seductive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Gravetye Manor has always been the first choice for local families to host special occasions. I am very happy that your event lived up to expectations. The gardens during the summer are a lovely backdrop to an event, however during the winter, roaring log fires are equally as enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Having dined at the Gravetye Manor restaurant twice in the past, this time we stayed for a family birthday event. The whole experience was superb from the dinner (wide choices and beautifully presented), excellent wines and advice on choices, to the overnught accommodation. The whole family were impressed. Perhaps not the cheapest hotel in the area, but well worth the money and providing a truely satisfying experience for us all.

Room Tip: The corner suites are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback from your stay. Gravetye is perfect for an intimate family occasion. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for one night plus the rest of the next day. Fantastic service, food was good and a wonderful garden with a great history. The breakfast was the best I have every experienced, you must try the Gravetye homemade Greek yogurt, its very special, plus the jams made from fruit from their own garden. Will try to go again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDaveBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

It was a pleasure to read your report and discover that breakfast is a hit again! Jam making season is upon us again and production of our garden strawberry and raspberry jams are well under way.
Thank you for taking the time to write

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,685 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,505 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range: $391 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing