We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful in all respects”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On the spur of the moment we decided to go for lunch at Gravetye and decided to eat at one of the tables in the garden. What a fantastic experience! We had great but not obtrusive service, with a fantastic setting overlooking the fields in the distance and surrounded by beautiful country garden flowers. The food was cooked and presented perfectly with great flavours. I could not fault it. Our last visit was last December which was our first visit following the refurbishments and was a great experience and a massive improvement. The waiting staff certainly are very well informed about all the food and drink they are serving and can offer great information and advise. Really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your ‘lunch in the garden’ experience. Sadly we have had too few occasions this year to make the most of al fresco dining. Our garden and lounge menu offers an alternative choice to the restaurant menu and proved very popular this summer. Gravetye Manor is just as magical during the autumn and winter months with beautiful lounges and roaring log fires. We too look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    75
    18
    18
    4
See reviews for
90
404
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Having just given a private Party at the Manor I cannot recommend it highly enough.18 of us sat down to Lunch in one of the panelled rooms,after drinks on the terrace,and the food and service were exemplary.The garden is a total joy,and the setting fabulous.From our first meeting to the actual event, the attention we received was first class,including all the detail required of such a special occasion.Two of our guests stayed over,and we returned the following day, to find they had enjoyed a very peaceful night.For an intimate and relaxing special event this is the place to go,especially throughout the Summer when the Garden is so seductive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Gravetye Manor has always been the first choice for local families to host special occasions. I am very happy that your event lived up to expectations. The gardens during the summer are a lovely backdrop to an event, however during the winter, roaring log fires are equally as enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catergam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Having dined at the Gravetye Manor restaurant twice in the past, this time we stayed for a family birthday event. The whole experience was superb from the dinner (wide choices and beautifully presented), excellent wines and advice on choices, to the overnught accommodation. The whole family were impressed. Perhaps not the cheapest hotel in the area, but well worth the money and providing a truely satisfying experience for us all.

Room Tip: The corner suites are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback from your stay. Gravetye is perfect for an intimate family occasion. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for one night plus the rest of the next day. Fantastic service, food was good and a wonderful garden with a great history. The breakfast was the best I have every experienced, you must try the Gravetye homemade Greek yogurt, its very special, plus the jams made from fruit from their own garden. Will try to go again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDaveBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your report and discover that breakfast is a hit again! Jam making season is upon us again and production of our garden strawberry and raspberry jams are well under way.
Thank you for taking the time to write
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The grounds are breathtaking and historically important. The service is superb (mostly –although long waits at dinner). The rooms are charming. BUT (!) the evening meal was so disappointing. When paying £19 for starter you might expect to be delighted with taste – but it was all rather expensively bland. The breakfast, however, is of the best we have eaten anywhere in the UK. So, stay, dine out, and enjoy the morning food.

PS There is, I believe, access at a price to a local spa -we did not try this. I have marked the "pool" average on this account

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am however disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your evening meal, but glad we redeemed ourselves on breakfast. Our butter poached Lobster with braised baby gem lettuce and Oscietra Caviar beurre blanc is our most expensive starter, and I am sorry it didn’t deliver on flavour, we will certainly be looking into this.
We do not have a spa, however we offer to book this locally and can arrange transport if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had not stayed until recently following the refurbishment and closure. High quality service. Attentive staff. Good but not great food. Amazing gardens and grounds as ever.

The rooms are good, some a little small. They are just missing a real exclusive feel. Maybe a bit too old style for some.

Very expensive. Probably too expensive given some of the other hotels nearby such as Ockenden Manor. Same style, better food, spa and cheaper! Same distance from airport.

Room Tip: Anything a decent size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontripman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Gravetye Manor is a quintessential English Manor house, we have refurbished and kept true to our belief that we didn’t want to change anything, simply renew where required. We were keen to keep our rooms in the style of the manor house and not following the ‘boutique route’
You are correct, there are less expensive hotels in the area but none that have a fine historic house set in a thousand acre wood, with gardens of note where all you can hear is birdsong, we are also fortunate that we are not on the flight path.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
491 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,786 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Fine hotel set in stunning gardens. Restaurant is superb. Friendly attentive service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MollieArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your lovely posting. I will make sure all my team are aware of your comments.
We all strive to give our guests the most amazing experience, we are blessed to have a historic house, stunning gardens and a beautiful and peaceful setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Hoathly
1.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,583 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,416 reviews
7.4 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Vowels Lane, West Hoathly RH19 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > West Hoathly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Hoathly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17 bedroom Relais & Chateaux Country House Hotel near West Hoathly in Sussex, is set in 1000 acres of wooded parklands and gardens, famous for being created by William Robinson, arguably one of England’s greatest gardeners. It is hard to believe that this secluded haven of peace and tranquility is only 12 miles from Gatwick Airport and 30 miles from Central London. Enjoy glorious vistas from this remarkable 16th Century Elizabethan Manor, relax in surroundings of timeless elegance and savour top hospitality, fine wines and exquisite food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravetye Manor East Grinstead
Gravetye Manor Hotel And Restaurant England/West Hoathly, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing