We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - Awful Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Plaza Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
315 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great location - Awful Food”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel twice in recent years - it is a real get away from everything location - lovely empty beaches , nice swimming pool etc and the rooms are clean , well maintained and basic, as are the ensuite facilities, their is a good bus service but if you want to sxplore then a car or better still a quad bike is the answer - take the Bed and breakfast deal - as the cooking is not the best and having studdied the local availablitly and quality of the food available at very reasonable cost it should be much much better - even at breakfast the cheif has a problem with basics, eggs are cold, ommelets are not mixed - in short it is thorown out as a quick fix and the eveneing meals are truly awful - produced with out even a menue - the cheif thows up what ever comes into his head and his abiliy is very limited.

Room Tip: Book on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TOPCAT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    95
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We are a yoga group from England , that we love walks at the beach,swimming , good food, comfort, and of course yoga.
In PLAZA BEACH hotel we have found a small paradise with all the above and much more.
The hotel is elegant ,clean with comfortable rooms and breathtaking views to enjoy ,the food is sumptuous ,everyone there is friendly and warm . A pristine beach at our feet to swim in the most clear waters .
I would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone that l loves Greece.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elvirayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Plaza beach hotel is one of the most beautiful places at Plaka beach. The location is quiet and the beach is down the road (20m from the hotel). The beach is not the best of the west side of naxos since there is a rock in the sea along Plaka beach. Ag. Prokopios is a great beach but very croudy. All the western beaches of Naxos are sandy and beautiful.

The hotel has a big nice pool and a jaccuzi small pool, a nice beach bar with gentle staff as well as a typical restaurant. The garden is clean and beautiful and the rooms are decorated with nice furniture. One of the walls in the rooms is decorated with rock tiles.

The rooms are very clean since the cleaning service comes daily and they change the towels every day. The sleep quality is poor since there is a continuesly noise coming from the air condition units. Some rooms are so much noisy that you cannot sleep at night!

The breakfast buffet was good but sometimes there were so many flies around them that it was discusting. The staff was gentle.

In general, I had a geat time at the hotel but it could be much better. I was expecting more from the service and I think the hotel is expensive for what if offers!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nchrissos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We have been to Naxos several times now and Plaza Beach Hotel feels like going home. We love it! We recommend it highly. If you do not wish to rent a car, a bus leaves the hotel frequently to go into Naxos town. The pool is incredible and there is a smaller pool for young children. The beach is right across the road...so convenient. There are many good restaurants along Plaka Beach road and the hotel has a good restaurant as well. I would skip the Paradisio Taverna which is at the beginning of the Beach road...the service was horrible and the food worse. The only negative experience in all of Naxos.
Our stay at Plaza Beach Hotel has always been very enjoyable....great breakfasts and courteous and helpful staff. Many thanks everyone for another wonderful holiday which we enjoyed with our family.
Canadian repeat guests

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

This place was like a package hotel from the 1970s and it came as a surprise. We booked as independent travellers and found the hostility shown by staff to guests wee bit East European. By that I mean the old East bloc. The breakfast is really disgusting with groups of staff sitting watching what you eat from the buffet which is really horrible.
two of the reception staff saved the stay. The were so helpful.

BUT ONLY STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE VERY LOW EXPECTATIONS

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We found PB to be very clean and comfortable clean towels dailey and could not fault the room in any way. The whole hotel is kept at a very high standard. No typical English Breakfast but had plenty of choices to accomodate everyones taste we enjoyed them especially as you over look the lovely pool area and also the Beach/Sea a great way to start the day. PB is a wonderful away from it all break very quiet as much room as you want on the beach with the sun beds being free for hotel guests to put them where ever you want within 35m each way all very nice.
There is only about 6 places to eat at night and they were in the most part OK and everyone was very friendly being english we were a bit of a novelty not many get down as far as Plaka. We did find that they just dont do the Starter/Mains/Dessert thing that we are used to they are all on the menus but every single meal we had where ever it was the starter came out first as normal but the mains came out minutes later and was on the table at the same time and they just dont seem to want to offer a dessert or a coffee we found that you were pretty much expected to just end the meal after the main coarse.
This is just something to keep in mind not a complaint.
Pool towels are provided along with your own umbrella for the duration of your stay which we found a nice touch.
If you crave a little more life the bus does run every 30 mins to Naxos Port and costs 1.40 euro each way regardless of where you get on or off the bus. The tickets can be purchased at the hotel reception they dont give any tickets out on the bus its self and it stops and picks up right at the gate of the hotel.
The nearest Supermarket is a 5-10 min walk from the hotel and is the most expensive we did find the Maragas Camping Supermarket cheaper and the shops even cheaper in Naxos its self but this is to be expected. Things may be a little more expensive but we found the tranquility and relaxed atmosphere of Plaka and the Plaza Beach just what we were looking for and loved every minute.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank april2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Location: just a few meters from a beautiful sandy and almost deserted beach with green sea and spectacular sunsets.
Umbrellas available at the lobby

Service: good service at the lobby, very friendly at the restaurant

Rooms: spacious, most with sea view, funcional and VERY VERY CLEAN! the cleanest rooms I've ever stayed in.

Food: good greek cuisine... even pasta acceptable


Overall: Exceeds Expectations

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
2.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Medusa Resort
Medusa Resort
#1 of 7 in Plaka
217 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aegean Land
Aegean Land
#2 of 7 in Plaka
169 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Orkos Beach
Hotel Orkos Beach
#2 of 6 in Mikri Vigla
91 reviews
3.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 59 in Naxos Town
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Beach Hotel

Property: Plaza Beach Hotel
Address: Plaka 843 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and Priceline so you can book your Plaza Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Beach Naxos
Plaza Beach Hotel Naxos/Plaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing