We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Naxos!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athina Studios and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Plaka B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay in Naxos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed five nights at Athina Studios in Plaka Beach. We had a wonderful stay. The studios are very clean, the pool area and gardens are beautiful, and the location is great for beach-hopping. Although, we didn't prefer the beach at Plaka, it was still a central location for seeing everything. Athina herself is very sweet and thoughtful. She helped us with our questions and couldn't have been nicer. We already miss Naxos and can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsmith324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed her for a week during our honeymoon to the Greek Islands. Well, what can I say, other that we still talk about our experience on the island of Naxos and at the Muses Suites. Our stay was perfect, charming, delightful, and very romantic! We stayed in a ocean front suite. It was sooooooooo beautiful, very clean, very funtional, (shower had lots of hot water and good water pressure) 2 balconies (one with a terrace). That and a beautiful quiet beach in front of us. Ahhhhhhhhh. We could not have asked for more. Trust me! We hope to go back to Naxos and if we do, we'd for sure stay there again. Hope you do too!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens & brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

We visit Naxos almost every year. I can’t believe the reviews here. ATHINA is the most expensive we have ever been to but not our favorite. The building must be old, the rooms were refurnished but not successfully in all parts, the kitchen and bathroom were very small and there was no real breakfast! I felt like a beggar the first morning, because tenants have to bring their plate to the reception, where they are “kind enough” to give you some coffee and sweets. For so much money! I was furious. From the second day, I preferred making my own breakfast in my room. We were also invited by another tenant in a room on the ground floor, it was more than staying underground, there were some steps taking you downstairs.
I can’t believe my brother-in-law was staying at the same period in a completely new room near Naxos town that looked so much better than this one for just 45 Euro!!! I also can’t believe we paid double the price than last year –in another rooms to let- despite the fact we stayed in a worse room, double instead of a triple room and did not bring our son with us. Next year I prefer to bring my whole family for less the price to a better accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

We had the Erato Suite, which I think was the largest/nicest 1-bedroom, and it was still pretty reasonably priced. the location is great--right on Plaka Beach (technically, there's a road separating the property from the beach, but this is the case with pretty much every hotel on the island). We really liked staying in that area because it was much quieter/less crowded than Naxos Town, but still had several restaurants and a little grocery store right next door and a few within walking distance down the road. And the beach was gorgeous, with really clear bright blue water! It's definitely not a full service resort, but does have a pool and a front desk (run by Athina herself) where you can arrange tours. Each morning, coffee and fresh baked goodies (coffee cakes, muffins, etc.) are available next to the front desk (included in the room rate). When you check in, you are also presented with a bottle of wine with an Athina Studios (the Muses' sister property) label, which was a nice touch.

The suite itself was great, with 3 balconies (a small one off the bedroom and another small one off the living room, and a huge one off the other side of the living room, overlooking the water). It was well-appointed with a tiny kitchenette, living room with sofa and coffee table and chairs, bedroom with pretty and reasonably comfy bed, and a small bathroom (shower only). The only issue we had was that you only get 4 towels (2 bath, 2 beach) for your entire stay, so have to hang them up to dry after each use. This is for conservation purposes, and is fairly common on dry Naxos. Still, we didn't realize this until we asked Athina for new towels our 2nd day, and she was not very happy to give us new ones. Her attitude then was the only thing we didn't really like about our stay there (she was a little snippy a couple of other times as well, but it really had a negligible effect on our stay). All in all, we were very pleased with our choice, and Naxos was hands down our favorite destination in Greece!

We rented a dune buggy for 2 days, and had an absolute blast exploring the island. Until one of the back wheels fell off (yes, seriously) at about 9PM our last night on a long, dark, deserted stretch of road. Luckily, there was a hostel just down the road, and they let us use their phone to call the rental place to come pick us up. Apparently this is not an unusual occurrence, as the rental rep did not seem the least bit surprised and had some choice words about the manufacturer of that particular type of buggy. But I still would not hesitate to rent one again--riding around in it was definitely a highlight of our trip, you just have to be careful not to be too rough with it. We rode up to the town of Halki (Chalki) one day, which was a lot of fun, and we enjoyed visiting the old Citron distillery and buying a couple of bottles to bring home. Our favorite thing was driving down the road along the beach until we came to an area with tiny secluded coves in the rock down the side of a small cliff. Very nice to climb down, find one that was deserted, and stretch out in our own little area with no one else around!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelgirlatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at Studio Athina as part of our 3-week honeymoon vacation. Because it was the end of the season, we received good rates and enjoyed the quieter atmosphere.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, though we spent most of our time outdoors. The best part was Athina, who patiently answered all our questions and helped us with everything we needed, from booking tours to passing on messages to advising about schedules, restaurants, etc. She really made our stay. A favourite also was the location, just a few steps from plaka beach and a few area restaurants, we found ourselves in the perfect spot to explore the island via atv, just a few ks away from naxos town and a short bike/scooter ride to other villages. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto/Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed here for a week at the end of a 3-week trip around the Cyclades. Had paid triple for a room in Santorini the week before but Athina was was the highlight of our trip, hands down.

Sure the rooms need just a little updating (rooms at the Muses are newer I believe) but are perfectly comfortable.
Can't say enough good things about Athina herself, she was ABSOLUTELY wonderful, as was the rest of the staff.

Had the most relaxing, wonderful stay and will absolutely return!!

  • Liked — everything & owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cadinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

This is the first time I ever booked a hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor and was disappointed… First of all, this hotel has plain rooms that you can find anywhere (nothing special) but it is very expensive in relation to similar rooms even in the same area. Second, we were not treated in a nice way.
Prior to our visit, we asked the owner on whether the room was noisy or situated near bars/busy roads etc and she said it was not. Imagine our surprise when we arrived, only to discover that the rooms are located in the most busy part of the area, in front of the main Plaka road, full of cars, motorcycles, buses etc, facing three swimming pools full of children playing and -on top of that- our room was facing a bar that had loud music on. We complained to her but the reply we got was that “she personally has no problem sleeping while listening to music”, that “the wind will help the noise fade out” and that in case we did not like our room, we could simply go to another hotel, as she would keep the 35% she had asked in advance anyway. You see, other hotels just ask you to pay a deposit of the first night, but this time I was asked by the owner not only to pay a deposit of 35%, but also to sign a paper before you go and fax it to her, stating I would pay 50% of our entire stay, even if I stayed just for one night and then decide to go to another hotel. I was so surprised by her attitude that, to be honest, did not reply to her in a gentle manner, but decided to stay, in order not to lose our deposit plus the time looking for another place to stay and also because the room itself seemed OK and had a nice view. She actually said it was her best room in Athina-not Muses.
The result was that we were forced to keep our windows shut during our stay in order to prevent noise and we also faced other problems such as small ants in the room, lack of hot water late in the evening on one of the five nights of our stay, changing of linens not very often (that was ALSO indicated in the letter we signed, it said we would have to pay even MORE to get clean towels every day!), and some more young children playing just outside our door early in the morning, because some rooms that probably do not have views on their own, are allowed to use tables in the common areas and the corridors outside your room. The room itself was neither special nor newly-built, the bathroom was tiny and had old plastic utensils and the in kitchen some utensils should have been replaced. As for the “pastries and coffee provided throughout the day” at the reception area, it was plain cheese and/or other type of pie cut in tiny pieces, baby croissants and coffee, certainly not making up for a full breakfast that should be included in such a high price for plain rooms in Naxos.
It is a pity since this hotel is next to the beautiful beach of Plaka and the owner seems to make efforts in preserving her property and garden. In my opinion it is not ideal for young couples or people that generally need peace and quiet but it could be for family holidays with young children, definitely in a MUCH lower price and as long as they fix the problems I referred to; also, if they were more precise to those who call them and ask information prior to making a reservation. In our circumstances, we regret staying there.

  • Disliked — value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Vicky24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
2.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 20 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medusa Resort
Medusa Resort
#1 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Plaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aegean Land
Aegean Land
#2 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 59 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acti Plaka Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina Studios and Apartments

Property: Athina Studios and Apartments
Address: Plaka Beach, Plaka 843 00, Greece (Formerly Muses Suites)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athina Studios and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Athina Studios and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athina Studios And Apartments Hotel Naxos
Athina Studios And Apartments Naxos/Plaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing