We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athina Studios and Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Plaka B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a positive experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

This was a delightful experience. We arrived with two friends from Canada and wanted good and relaxing accomodation, with good beeach facilities, reiable service, and in general a positive experience. We were not disappointed. Athena, the manager, was extremly warm and inviting from the first time of meeting, and did all she could to insure that our stay was a pleasant one. We recieved a very warm wlecome, including wine in the room, and ongoining inquiries abourt our experience during the four days. We recommend the experience very highly, and would definitely stay there again on a return visit to the island.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank hllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tassie tourers
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

There is little more to say. We relied on the Tripadvisor reviews and were thrilled with this accommodation. Athina is as wonderful as described. We stayed in the Muses which was delightful, 85 Euros and worth every centime. It was nice to be out of Naxos town, with the bus connecting every half hour. the beach is lovely and the nearby tavernas gave so much choice. Highly recommended. Thanks Athina.

  • Liked — Unique Greek experience
  • Disliked — Windy weather
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tassiestourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

We had a wonderful time on Naxos and a delightful stay at Athina Studios and Apartments. We would recommend this property without hesitation for couples, families, singles....anyone. Accommodations were very comfortable and spacious, although the beds were a bid hard. (This is typical of Greece, however, and hard to avoid.) Our unit (perhaps all of them?) had a fully equipped small kitchen so guests can cook some of their meals, if they're so inclined. The location is perfection: Right across a small road from the Plaka Beach, the best beach on Naxos (clean, soft sand, plenty of lounge chairs to rent, lovely view of Paros). The garden is beautiful, there's a barbeque if you feel like grilling, each unit has clothes lines for drying clothes, bathing suits, plenty of parking. Many restaurants and food stores nearby, but the area is still feels rather quiet and uncrowded.

The best thing, however, is Athina herself -- a life force of enormous energy and charm, who works long hours, and will do her utmost to help you have an enjoyable time on Naxos. She can give you plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat. No breakfast is served as they don't have the facilities, but Athina's mother provides some delicious baked goods daily which are served in the office along with coffee.

We especially enjoyed the Three Brothers Restaurant down the road. It happens to be owned by relatives of Athina, but still an excellent choice. We enjoyed everything we ate there, including some great fish, as well as some compiimentary desserts. The people of Naxos seem very generous-spirited and there seems to be a custom to give complimentary desserts or other treats in every restaurant.

Naxos is beautiful and I strongly recommend rousing yourself from the lovely beach, renting a car, and exploring the island. A visit to the town of Apiranthos makes a nice day trip, but note that their several museums are closed after 1 or 2 pm. so try to arrive early. My husband, who's a baklava gourmand, had the best baklava of the trip at a delightful bakery/cafe in Apiranthos which was artistically decorated with antiques and whimsical objects. Unfortunately, the owner was silent and unfriendly (very unusual for Naxos), but never mind. Probably sick of tourists. At least the waitress was friendly. Just order one of their truly yummy pastries and a cup of coffee, sit outside on the balcony and revel in your tasty treat and your happiness in being on Naxos.

  • Liked — Athina
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Just a quick review on our holiday in Naxos - we spent 4 nights with Athina & actually stayed in the newer apartments located right next to Studio Athina called Muses. Totally agree with all the reviews on this site - Athina was so welcoming, warm and helpful. She was waiting for us as our taxi arrived & knew exactly who were were & where we came from! There is nothing she would not do for you! Gave us brilliant restaurant recommendations(Palatia in Agia Anna & Three Brothers on PLaka beach come highly recommended!) - food superb, and very reasonable! The room we stayed in was gorgeous and had a lovely view of the sea. Clean, new, modern and very tastefully decorated with all the 'extra's that make Muses/Athina a cut above the rest! White gowns, slippers, etc and the delicious pastries/nibbles in the morning to go with your coffee!You are literally on the beach glorius Plaka beach and away from the crowds. I'd say Studio Athina/Muses is for sure the nicest place to stay along Plaka beach! I'd definitely return - next time I would fly direct to Naxos and spend a full week there (give Athens and the ferry a miss!)- was truly a few days to remember! Cannot recommend more highly to anyone!

  • Liked — Kindness of Athina, the owner and her advice on everything. Accommodation superb as well
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Well what can I say other than all of the reviews which have been posted are spot on in their appraisal of this place as it is absolutely wonderful. The quality of the rooms, the pool, the grounds and most of all the hospitality of Athina and her staff are better than any I have ever stayed in whilst travelling in Greece. I am always reluctant to return to a holiday destination as there is so much of the world to see but for this accomodation I will have to make an exception.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect for us.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Urbantraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Athina Studios & Apartments are very cosy, clean and a friendly place to stay. The studios are located metres from the beach with fab restaurants on your door step (especially the mexican!). The views are lovely to wake up to every morning...along with the freshly brewed coffee and pastries. We stayed in a standard double apartment which was clean & spacious with a decent sized balcony. The two ladies Athina & Andrea who run the show are very sweet and extremely welcoming. Out of the strip of apartments along Plaka Beach, Athina Studios seemed to be the most attractive. Plaka beach is beautiful which the clearest water I've seen anywhere in the med!

  • Liked — Location & Friendliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Willbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Highly recommended apartments. Room was clean & a good size. Athina was very helpful and friendly, who could forget the free cakes her family makes! Recommend people get together and use the BBQ. Fantastic location, beach was a 2 minute walk (if that!) from the apartments, supermarkets either side and restaurants within a couple of minutes. Plaka Beach was a long strip of golden sand with clear blue waters and not too busy when we went in the 2nd week of June.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tompy_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
2.3 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Medusa Resort
Medusa Resort
#1 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Plaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aegean Land
Aegean Land
#2 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acti Plaka Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athina Studios and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athina Studios and Apartments

Property: Athina Studios and Apartments
Address: Plaka Beach, Plaka 843 00, Greece (Formerly Muses Suites)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athina Studios and Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Athina Studios and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athina Studios And Apartments Hotel Naxos
Athina Studios And Apartments Naxos/Plaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing