We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Nikos & Maria Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: The family restaurant, which is dated from 1974 on Naxos Island, was started from Nikos and Maria Margariti, who then decided to give a very new breath to Plaka beach, by producing tastes and smells based on the tradition. The continuity is coming from their son Michalis, who is continuing the route of the restaurant with the same philosophy.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

The place itself is lovely and clean, and the food was very good, although we were there at the end of the season, so a lot of menu items were unavailable.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 455mf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 267 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2018

After my review 2 years ago, thought we would give the place a miss, but on passing saw signs of improvement and so tried again.
Staff now have uniforms of sorts, service is better and the food and wine we enjoyed.
Nothing spectacular, value for money and we would return

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

The staff we seen were very friendly, the speed of service was good and the food was fresh and reasonably priced

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 715marye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

My wife, our nearly 4 year old son, and I came for dinner.

We wanted to sit out on the beach with our toes in the sand, eating dinner whilst the sun went down - which is exactly what we did.

There was no pushy sales man out front of the restaurant, which was nice.

Our son was hungry, so we decided to have an early dinner, at around 6:30pm.

We ventured down the wooden path towards the beach, opposite the restaurant, and were greeted by two men setting up tables, who said, give us 10 minutes as we are not yet open - fine.

We came back in 15, and were shown to our table on the waters edge. Our waiter who, in my opinion, seemed, well, grumpy... or that perhaps he had something else better to do... To put it bluntly, this was not up to the recent service we had received in other restaurants...

Anyway...

He took our drink and food order, and we ate as the sun went down.

Ultimately, the service was not poor, nor was the food or drink, I just had the impression that we were not the type of customer, or perhaps, the right number of customer (as there are only 2.5 of us)

We have been treated to some wonderfully hospitality in Greece, unfortunately, this didn’t quite live up to what I have been used to...

View - 5 stars
Food - 4 stars
Service - 3 stars

Average overall seems a little unfair, but without the view and or location, this is not the best (or worst!) in my opinion.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank GrandTour813250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We ate in this restaurant, but the local has not walls, the roof is the starry sky, the floor is the sand and the neighbor is the sea with his sweet voice. The location is spectacular! Very good dishes too: fresh fish and natural vegetables directly from the owners’ garden....
What else you need? Five stars

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank cosimofranci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikos & Maria Restaurant also viewed

 
Agia Anna, Naxos
 

Been to Nikos & Maria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing