We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but you need transportation”
Review of Valena Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valena Mare
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good but you need transportation”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location: the middle of nowhere close to beautiful Plaka beach. You need a car or a scooter to get anywhere from this hotel but is in very beautiful peaceful surroundings.
Room: very tasteful en well taken care of. Nice terrace in a beautiful garden. Beds could be a bit bigger.
Service: excellent. Elena is very welcoming and helpfull.
You can see that there is love for the property.

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay on the groundfloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulevliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved staying at Valena Mare, and would do so again. We loved the location, the warm welcome and clean room with an amazing view from the balcony, the beach is just a stones throw away. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heylove9583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed in Plaka 4 times and the last time that I travelled solo and chose to stay in Valena Mare was definitely the best. I stayed there for 5 nights, in June 2012. Value for money, warm welcome from Elena and family, clean and beautifully decorated rooms, in a perfect location for the one who wants quiet and relaxing vacations, close to the beach.
Breakfast not-included was not a problem for me as I enjoyed using the kitchen amenities every day during my stay. The only disadvantage was that there was not a good wi-fi access inside my room. Maybe they will have fix that by the next time I visit the place again, that is this summer :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Korogianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

In general, our experience at Valena Mare was very nice. The rooms are big and nicely decorated, the balconies are spacious, the beach nearby is magnifiscent.

One of my favorite parts was the garden. Very well adapted to the natural environment with plants that have low water demand. It shows that the owners are environmentally aware.

By the way, the owners were very helpful and offered to pick us up upon arrival.

The only disadvantage is that the rooms are quite isolated, so you cannot go somewhere for a drink nearby. Also a part of the roaf leading to Chora is a dirt road, in pretty bad shape.

Also, I would prefer it if there was breakfast available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anlamprou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

For a lower price room this was excellent. Ok, so it is slightly out of the way but it allowed us to visit the nicest beach on naxos, oneI suggest most tourists miss as they don't know about it, mikri vigla, although note that is is still about 8k from this hotel., the rooms were clean and Perry but the key was the service, elena and her brother picked us up from the port, took us to a bike rental, then on to the hotel. They repeated this trip with us when we moved on to our next hotel., this of no where near the busy port town of chora but it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danpitt003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had the warmest welcome from a very friendly staff! The room was very comfortable, yet the a/c was hardly working at all. The bath was a pleasant surprise but the harassing flies which came at swarms made sleeping with open windows impossible. The beach nearby is absolutely marvelous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marousi, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A great place to stay if you want a beautiful garden for a view and the Plaka beach near you. The owners are warm people that welcome you and are going to answer all questions for your exploration of Naxos. You will feel like home and for sure you will return. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. I cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giouli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plaka
3.4 mi away
Naxian Collection
Naxian Collection
#1 of 22 in Agios Prokopios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Medusa Resort
Medusa Resort
#1 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel
Plaza Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Plaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aegean Land
Aegean Land
#2 of 7 in Plaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Orkos Beach
Hotel Orkos Beach
#2 of 6 in Mikri Vigla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.2 mi away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valena Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valena Mare

Property: Valena Mare
Address: Plaka, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Plaka
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Plaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Valena Mare 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valena Mare is a new complex with deluxe studios & apartments on the largest island of the Cyclades, Naxos. Naxos has a long history and splendid mythological past, and is the greenest island of the Cyclades. It is the most popular tourist destination not because of its proximity to Athens, but for many natural beauties, traditional villages, archaeological sites, Byzantine churches, monasteries and unique sandy beaches. Our studios are just 200m from the sea, on the sandy beach of Plaka with the incredible crystal waters. Our location is only 8 km from Chora, the capital town and main port of Naxos, and 6 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valena Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valena Mare Naxos/Plaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing