We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and Sloppy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant

Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: PELICAN ROCKS has been around some 30 plus years now and offers you choice of SAMs CAFE downstairs - open Breakfast with All Day Breakies - with big breakfasts to pancakes and Lunch with the Best Seafood Baskets freshest Local Fish Chips Burgers Chicken Ceasar and Greek Salads Vegetarian Burgers Scallop Prawn Salads Fresh Oysters Fresh Prawns and much more ..Great Coffee Cake Slices Milkshakes and Nans Icecreams. Weekdays 9am 2.30 Weekends 8am 2.30 CAFE wheelchair accessible. RESTAURANT upstairs Great Food .Freshest of Local Seafoods Great Platters.Tender Steaks Chicken dishes Vegetarian Plates Childrens Menu and more. Restaurant has now been revamped for Weddings including Bridal Party Make Up Room .Great Menus Great Verandah Views a Friendly Relaxed Place to Visit in the Shoalhaven. Greenwell Point .... Open hours change seasons please ring for details - Hours listed below are Café Hours
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Sloppy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The positive is that the fish, chips and calamari are lovely, as is the location. That is where the positives end for both the café and the restaurant.

We tried both with an open-mind each time, but you pay top dollar for bland, boring food in the restaurant, so we thought with the reputation of the "best seafood basket on the coast" maybe a picnic of F & C's from the café would be nice. Well, red liquid in our chips which our whole family had eaten a good handful each from before we noticed, was a real turn off (we are praying it wasn't a red bodily substance and was a type of sauce they use on their burgers or something). Then there in amongst our fish is prawn shells. These fish and chips are not cheap, but we got cheap, sloppy food.

It's a real shame that they are so dirty and overpriced because I think that both these places have potential, but potential won't see me ever returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank -AusAdvisor81-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    40
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best takeaway fish and chips around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Second trip here in a month. We were in area again and decided to grab some fish and chips for lunch - prices very reasonable - grilled fish beautiful, Chios not too oily, and calamari lovely. Hubby had the fisherman's basket with fresh prawns, oysters, salad and grilled fish and chips and has decided that it may be worth the 2.5hr drive to have once a month. Cafe was very busy, and all food coming out looked great. Service was great considering how busy the place was.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had lunch in the cafe section today with friends that live in the area and are regulars. Meal was great, price was fine for a cafe. My husband and I had the Mixed Plate and found it more than enough for a lunch time meal. Staff are very friendly and the meals came promptly, will definitely eat here again when in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Really enjoyed our meal in the upstairs restaurant, after a few trips to Greenwell Point this was our first visit to the upstairs venue. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Meals were very nice.
We are totally addicted to the café downstairs with the best seafood basket on the south coast! Both venues are totally worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlossAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best seafood around... and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I would strongly recommend Pelican Rocks. We went to the cafe downstairs for lunch.
I had the oyster and prawn plate, my husband had the seafood basket and our friends both had fish burgers with beer battered chips. Firstly, the seafood basket is more than a seafood basket. It is a platter with fresh prawns, oysters, cooked fish, cooked prawns and tender calamari. The side salads are not token leaves. They are full, delicious beautifully dressed salads. Outstanding. My seafood plate was adored with some of the best oysters I have ever tasted and perfectly fresh prawns.
As for the fish burgers, our friends both described the as the best burgers they had ever tasted. One of these people s the fussiest eater i know!!
As for their beer battered chips- you have to try them for yourself!!
The seating at th cafe is also sheltered from the wind unlike other eateries.
Finally- outstanding, fast service from Smiling Sam and the crew.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Culburra Beach, Shoalhaven
 
Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to Pelican Rocks Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing