We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Coast Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to leave”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We (myself, husband, 12yr old son, and dog) have just had the most relaxing & wonderful time at Greenwell Point - and in particular at Anglers' Rest.

We had a deluxe cabin along the front of the property - which meant we could sit on the deck outside and watch the world go by! Which we did - especially at the end of the day with fresh local oysters (Shoalhaven Oyster Service recommended) & a beer (or bubbles).

There was heaps of room for all of us and everything we needed - added to that with the park, little beaches, cycle/walking pathway, pontoon and boat ramp, river, bbqs, and a local pool right across the road there was plenty to do if we so chose. I swam in both the pool (lovely first thing in the morning) and the river at high tide (my preference) - and the dog enjoyed the river also. The nearby activity of fishermen returning on various boats was fun to watch - as were the pelicans in the water.

The day after we arrived, there was a kids fishing workshop (run by the Dept of Primary Industries - "your fishing licence fees at work") across from us in the park - and there was 1 space available - so that kept our son happy for a few hours, and then he was pretty keen to put all that knowledge and expertise into practice. A new generation of fisherfolk!

The following day we took the tinny out (Anglers' Rest have 6 for hire) - and wandered both up the river and around and about. The dog came briefly - but moving vehicles are not really his thing! Maybe a kayak (also can be hired here) would be easier. Or just walk!

Another day sees us driving around the area - just to explore - but we loved coming back to Greenwell Point - a little less 'busy' and more relaxed and had everything we really needed - great butcher, bakery, IGA, fresh oysters & prawns, several takeaway places for fish&chips, burgers or breakfast and a bottle shop for drinks.

There is off course the 'really big fish that got away' story - on the pontoon directly across from our cabin there was a final morning of fishing to get in before we left. I swam in the river, the boys threw lines in . . . and apparently a big fish snapped the line and took off. At that point I got some bacon & egg rolls and coffee from the local Pelican Rocks cafe just opp the pool (in fact we had them every morning).

Thankyou Liz, Simon & Mick - you are great hosts - and knowledgeable about your little spot on the earth. There were other things you recommended we could do - but in the end it was nice just to 'do' not much and enjoy what was on our doorstep. I did take one of your 3 new cruiser cycles out and explored the river front and back streets which was lovely.

Until next time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Jen,

Really nice to meet you and your family last week. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review of us and Greenwell Point in general. We agree that this is a great spot - and don't your pictures prove it!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Liz, Simon and Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    55
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We camped at Anglers Rest recently and had a a lovely weekend.It is very safe for children to play and wonder around and have fun.My friends were very impressed as we had booked this on there behalf and as it is dog friendly they were able to bring their dog.
The site has cabins and sites for tents and caravans, we found the people who owned there vans down there very friendly and welcoming.
Set opposite the water and a park and a swimming pool for the children with a great fish and chip shop down the rd.
Staff were really friendly and accommodating,Toilet and showering facilities clean.
We really had a great time at this beautiful spot, thank you and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Lynne,

Really glad to hear you had a great time here at Angler's Rest and that we'll get to meet again.

Best wishes,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

i drove down from qld to have a pleasant 3 weeks at ANGLERS REST GREENWELL POINT at $310 per week arrived around 11am on friday the 3rd jan and on arrival was asked to pay full amount up front- as i wasnt informed of this on booking the PREMIUM SITE i didnt have that much on me the male owner wasnt impressed but we agreed i would pay on monday i was directed to my site ==but stopped by the gardner who wanted to whippersnip the grass around my site ==i waited while he threw up gravel hitting my car and van=this gravel was alongside the concrete slab for the caravan to park over=?=when he returned about 1 hour later and started to throw up more gravel ==i approached and asked if he ever got complaints==and suggesed crusher dust would be a better alternative he asked if he had hit my car or van i said yes==he left with a few words i wont repeat = by 200pm a family came in on a site across the park with a black labradore off lead =i approached the owner twice and asked to keep their dog from mine so as to not cause them to bark and disturb other residents i did this a number of times along with their two children both not much bigger than the dog i came back from walking my dogs (a labradore and mini foxie) once again their lab roaming free==i approached the female owner and explained the situation and was briskly told that i had already upset her husband and the gardner==we went to ger husband and explained he asked were my dogs viscious=i replied no but will bark if a dog comes to our site he replied then if a dog comes down the street then they will bark his wife then said we have a policy on SAVAGE DOGS you cant stay here you will have to leave ==during my remainder of my stay (1 week) the black lab was constantly off lead all week end==dogs in unit 3 barked all saturday and sunday==a party raged till 1145pm on the friday night==monday night i was bailed up by a little pug or terrier not sure which -but once again off lead = tuesday 3 dogs came into the park off lead no one is in charge after office hours owners live off site= for my $310 per week on a PREMIUM SITE i couldnt park my car alongside the van or annexe=no soap=papertowels=or handdryer in toilet or showers and the best is yet to come=== you pay for your shower by a box which requires 10 cents for every 3 minuets for hot water yet hot water is available in the sink in the shower room but not in the toilets==the camp kiichen has no hot or cold water to washup this is done in the laundry tubs which are old concrete type =one cant do washing in them as there coated with grease there is nothing in the camp kitchen but a old gas bbq not even a power point== there are no views from any van or tent site only the back street ==so in short if you want very little for your buck and dont complain== and like aggressive owners and staff==this is the place to come = please note most good reviews are about cabins and units not caravan sites or c amping sites==there are two classes of people here by the owners actions= and i didnt have enough in the debit card for them to take the other two weeks ==j parker

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear James P,

We were all deeply saddened to hear that your experience here was so so disappointing. For the benefit of readers it is worth clearing up a few points. Check-in and Check-out for Powered Sites is midday and our policy is to settle all accounts in full on check-in. This is communicated verbally and via e-mail prior to arrival. When you arrived at 11am Mick (the Manager) asked if you would mind waiting until your site's grass had been mowed. You chose not to wait, and Simon (my husband, the owner and the Gardener) did his very best to work around you. It is nonsense to suggest that Simon behaved in an ill-mannered way - he simply can't.

When you came to the office that afternoon to complain of other guests I had already received feedback from the same guests and Mick and Simon about you. So we went to find Mick to make sure I had a full understanding of the mornings events. During that conversation you told me that your dogs were not vicious toward humans. On further questioning you told me that they may be vicious toward other dogs. So I asked you to leave.

I then spoke with other guests that you had upset and they all said that your dogs were absolutely fine and that they were happy for you to stay the week.

For the benefit of other readers these customers have also recently posted reviews in order to give a balanced perspective.

We are pet-friendly for friendly pets and we are people-friendly for friendly people.
Again, I am sorry your experience was so different to everyone else's.

Regards,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our 2nd visit to Anglers rest and we enjoyed ourselves even mote this time. Simon, Liz & Mick are wonderful hosts who make everyone feel so welcome and they are all really helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. We hired one of their boats and took our dog on her first boating experience, everything was provided and we had a ball.
Really comfortable place to stay where your pets are made to feel welcome and the accommodation is just brilliant, we were lucky enough to be able to extend our stay for an extra night which topped off a wonderful few days. can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlossAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear "FlossAlexandria",

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again, and that we'll get to welcome you again. We all enjoy ourselves here, and being able to offer boats and kayaks and now bikes along with comfortable accommodation makes the fun just that little bit better.

Thanks again - till next time,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A cute little spot in a laid back relaxed town. Really loved our studio cabin, plenty of space for my hubby & I and our staffy Peanut and tastefully decorated with modern furnishings. Spent most of our time taking in the beautiful views of the water with a glass of wine or a coffee and reading. Mick was great, very welcoming and a great sense of humour with interesting stories of travel to tell. Loved the tinnie we hired and the fishing comp hubby & I had off the wharf (I won). Yeah ok the shops close early but just get sorted earlier or head to the pub for a GREAT takeaway pizza. We will def be back as we didn't want to leave, everything right there at your door step. And the best bit DOG FRIENDLY :) Peanut had a ball and is totally worn out now from all the swimming.
Thanks for providing a great non expensive place we can relax with our lil girl.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellyg76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Mellyg,

Many thanks for your review and apologies for our slow response.

Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked cabin 6 so much - Simon and I put loads of effort and thought into it's design and renovation, so it's especially nice that you like it!! As for Mick - yep, he is awesome and always makes days here enjoyable, fun and funny. Our tinnies have been getting loads of use this summer, and many fresh fish feast have been enjoyed - yum!!!!

It is absolutely our pleasure to provide a great non-expensive place where you can relax.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in the villa attached to the main office... And loved it!
It was much more spacious than I expected and given we have 4 kids (one still in a cot) it was a very pleasant surprise. The second room had stacks of space to put up the porta cot.
Lovely quiet location great for little kids, beach and park right across the road (the road is small and quiet).
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandywickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Mandy,

Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and time in Greenwell Point. The Villa is very spacious compared with regular accommodation options as it is in fact the old managers residence. Many customers like it best as it also has a more relaxed feel and it's own courtyard.

We look forward to seeing you again - hope you had a great Christmas and have a brilliant 2014.

Cheers,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Anglers Rest is a quaint little caravan park with a beautiful outlook. We had camp site # 21 which was great for our large tent. Mick the Camp Manager was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We had competitions with the showers as to who could shower in the quickest amount of time with the 3 minute showers. Facilities were good and access to boardwalk and fishing spots was very good. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear "Helen S",
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our property.
I'm glad you found our facilities good and our staff welcoming. Most people who stay with us have a wonderful time and enjoy the quiet, laid back atmosphere with that personal touch given by the staff. I think we are in hospitality because we are hospitable and take a genuine interest in the comfort of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Mick, Liz, Simon and Shaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwell Point
17.8 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
11.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
284 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchor Bay Motel
Anchor Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwell Point
334 reviews
2.1 mi away
Culburra Beach Motel
Culburra Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Culburra Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Retreat

Property: South Coast Retreat
Address: 119a Greenwell Point Rd, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia (Formerly Angler's Rest)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Greenwell Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Coast Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Retreat delivers exceptionally high quality services at a value conscious price. We are a member of Eco-Tourism Australia and have been awarded Certificates of Excellence by TripAdvisor as well as a Platinum Award for implementing eco-friendly initiatives at the highest level. Each year we improve the quality and range of accommodation and we introduce new offerings to help make your time on the South Coast even more enjoyable. Most importantly we care about you and will do our very best to help you have a great time with us whilst exploring the South Coast. We offer guests Boat and Kayak Hire, free bike use, free DVD loan and complimentary farm fresh eggs and vege’s (subject to availability) from home. We also offer considerable personal advice so everyone can access the best the South Coast has to offer. By growing South Coast Retreat responsibly we aim to enhance the environmental, economic and social opportunities available. We now call the South Coast home and truly love being able to offer fabulous holiday accommodation, tours, activities and advice to help you have a great retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your South Coast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing