We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Coast Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for the night”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Angler's Rest. The caravan manager was very friendly and let the kids choose some dvd's for the night, which was much appreciated. The cabin we had (No. 1) is small, and in need of some love, but adequate. Due to NSW school holidays the price was much higher than we would normally have expected. This cabin is close to the road, so there was some street noise, and at 2am a party of drunk teenagers decided to take up residence in the public play equipment opposite.
Tuesday night in Greenwell Point is obviously not popular for eating out, and all the take-away shops were shut before 6pm. We managed to get take-aways from the local pub, which was good value.
We didn't use any of the other facilities at the park, and so cannot comment on them. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would probably try to stay in Kiama or Shorewell point next time as there would be more to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear that you found our service friendly and helpful and enjoyed the use of the free DVDs. As you noted - Cabin 1 is small, but in a great location. All going to plan it will be replaced with better, new accommodation next winter.
We are extremely sorry and concerned to hear that your sleep was disturbed by a party of drunk teenagers!! We will do our very best to make sure this doesn't happen again but please, if this problem arises in the future let us know asap so we can chat with the offending parties.

Again, many thanks for your feedback - we will use it to keep improving Angler's Rest.

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    55
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
66
94
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My family recently had the pleasure of staying in the villa for 5 nights and we enjoyed every second of it, it was very clean and spacious with a great private courtyard perfect for bbq's, Liz, Simon and the team at Anglers Rest went above and beyond to make our stay pleasurable, looking forward to our next visit :-) from The Gilroy Family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliegilroy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, General Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Gilroy's,

Wow! Thank you very much for such great praise. Really glad you enjoyed your stay so much and that we managed to help you have such a great time. We look forward to getting the opportunity to do it again!

Cheers,

Liz & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This very well run "mini" holiday park ticks all the boxes especially the pet friendly aspect and the local area included great walking tracks (also pet friendly!) and the local council have added some great safe fishing spots, all within easy walk.
The local swimming pool was refreshing and the restaurant/ take away was so handy along with a general store all within a short stroll.
All the locals were very friendly.
The great web site gives an excellent indication of the various accommodation and we were impressed with our cabin which had great water views.
We will be definately going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi John and Linda,

Many thanks for your praise - we really appreciate it!! Also, for future reference we will be adding more content to our website soon to help you enjoy the local area and surrounds even more.

Cheers,

Liz & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

There are few places you can go with your pets and we have just discovered Angler's Rest. Can highly recommend it, very clean facilities and reasonably priced in a great location. Will have to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Steven,

Many thanks for your positive feedback. I've have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness of the cabin to Sharmayne (who does most of our cleaning) and she was chuffed!

Thanks again,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 5 nights in the Villa, and had the most relaxing and rejuvenating time. It took us a long time to find accommodation that really was 'Dog Friendly'. Despite many places advertising as and indeed priding themselves on being so, when you read the small print their terms and conditions often have so many requirements regarding what the dog can and can't do, that you're anxious before your holiday has even begun.
Angler's Rest is just fantastic and our dog loved it! The 'Villa' was excellent both for us and our inquisitive Springer Spaniel. The property whilst basic had everything we needed, and the laundry is located a few steps away. We loved the fact that the entrance from the back led directly into the bathroom/washroom area and the door is suitably fitted with a cat/dog flap. The huge flat screen made watching DVD's particularly pleasant, as did the air con in the lounge area. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need and there is lots of cupboard space for your groceries etc.
The bedrooms are well sized and all bed linen was beautifully fresh and made up with extra pillows and duvet's. The staff are all lovely and more than willing to give information. The ice cream in reception is delicious. The immediate area has a few eateries which is convenient and the local bowling club has a fantastic Chinese restaurant.
All in all a great holiday enjoyed by all, thanks to all at Angler's Rest who made our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oonagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for your kind review, really glad you enjoyed your break. As dog owners (we have a German Shepherd & and a miniature dingo looking mutt) we fully appreciate how difficult it is to find an appealing holiday destination where our four legged friends are truly welcome.


Cheers,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is our last day at Anglers Rest & we don't want to leave. Position is perfect staff, staff are just lovely & easy to get along with. My boyz have had such a great times and so have the Adults. A 30 second walk to the water is perfect a beautifull play ground and park directly in front of you makes fun never hard to find. Some shops & lovely restaurants are literally easy walking distance. Great fish about 300 metres down the street. I am looking out our window at the beautiful still river and boats coming and going. Is it no wonder I'm not packing my things just yet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Owner at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi,

Really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Best regards,

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

IT is quite strange writing this report because I actually never got to stay at this place. We managed to book in because they had a cancellation. We were looking forward to staying because having gone over to have a look around it looked like an OK place. A couple of people at the place we did stay at around the corner had told us we would be better staying put at the site we had already set up on. Despite this being the fishing addict that I am I was keen to move our motor home over there so that I could hire a boat for a few days.Our plans all changed today when the winds picked up and tore our awning off our motor home. We decided it would be best to drive home get it repaired and visit later in the month. I contacted Anglers rest and explained the situation. I spoke to a lady on reception who said she thought that I might have to pay for my whole stay. I explained that I had paid a deposit and understood I might lose that but I would not accept paying the whole break. I had only booked it 2 days before and was given a cancelled space anyway. I made it very clear that she should not take any more money from my card and that I had not authorised Anglers retreat to store my details. An hour later I got a receipt stating that they had taken the full payment. I decided to call them and tell them that this was not authorised and I believe that that by taking an unauthorised payment they had acted fraudulently. I spoke to one of the managers Simon who was adamant that he was within his rights to do this. I spent a long time explaining to him that he was totally wrong but was constantly responded to with “This is the way we work". I would recommend that no one waste their money staying at this place. As far as I am concerned if they are prepared to do this to me they could do anything. The original site we stayed at just around the corner Coral Tree Lodge was not the best place I have ever stayed at but was run by friendly people who were more than happy to help with anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Manager at South Coast Retreat, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Danny,

This was for accommodation booked with an arrival date of January 6, and the booking was cancelled January 5. Our cancellation policy is visible on our website and reiterated in writing at each step of the bookings process. In this case it was clearly communicated in at least two e-mails. We (and most) accommodation providers include and enforce cancellation policies to enable efficient business practices, which in turn enables us to keep prices as low as possible.

For the benefit of all readers of this review our policy is as follows: Deposits are non-refundable within 1 month of arrival; No refunds for early departures; Failure to arrive (no show) or cancellation of less than 10 days notice will incur full payment.

We do our very best to serve all customers as best as possible at all times, and it is with this goal in mind that our cancellation policy was formed, and is applied. We have spent the last month contacting regulatory bodies and customers confirming that this policy is both reasonable and lawful.

As stated earlier we do our very best to serve all customers as best as possible at all times and it is our goal to improve our services wherever possible. We are grateful for all feedback, however in this case we will continue to communicate and enforce our cancellation policy.

Best regards,

Liz & Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwell Point
17.8 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
11.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
283 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 9 in Nowra
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchor Bay Motel
Anchor Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwell Point
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
Culburra Beach Motel
Culburra Beach Motel
#1 of 2 in Culburra Beach
26 reviews
12.2 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Retreat

Property: South Coast Retreat
Address: 119a Greenwell Point Rd, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia (Formerly Angler's Rest)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Greenwell Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Coast Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Retreat delivers exceptionally high quality services at a value conscious price. We are a member of Eco-Tourism Australia and have been awarded Certificates of Excellence by TripAdvisor as well as a Platinum Award for implementing eco-friendly initiatives at the highest level. Each year we improve the quality and range of accommodation and we introduce new offerings to help make your time on the South Coast even more enjoyable. Most importantly we care about you and will do our very best to help you have a great time with us whilst exploring the South Coast. We offer guests Boat and Kayak Hire, free bike use, free DVD loan and complimentary farm fresh eggs and vege’s (subject to availability) from home. We also offer considerable personal advice so everyone can access the best the South Coast has to offer. By growing South Coast Retreat responsibly we aim to enhance the environmental, economic and social opportunities available. We now call the South Coast home and truly love being able to offer fabulous holiday accommodation, tours, activities and advice to help you have a great retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your South Coast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing