We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room service, quiet location”
Review of Anchor Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were in Room 10 which is over the road from reception and has a balcony. It is on the first floor and there are a few external steps.
The room was on the small side but it has been fully refurbished which easily makes up for the size..The room was serviced every day. and it was very comfortable

Room Tip: Room 10 is ideal because it has a good view of a picturesque fishing harbour, ideal for breakfast on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Dennis,
Thank you for your marvelous review. We are delighted your enjoyed your time at our little motel. You mentioned you were in Room 10, an upstairs Waterfront Suite with a balcony and wonderful water views. It is indeed a lovely room. All three upstairs Waterfront Suites have excellent water views, however not all have private balconies; one has a shared balcony. The ground floor Waterfront Suites have limited water views and one of these also has a shared outdoor area. The rooms are about 50 metres from the water's edge with a park between the motel and the foreshore.
We do hope you will visit us again one day.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 366 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Second visit and remain very impressed with the Anchor Bay Motel.
Motel is beautifully located just across the road from waterway and generally away from any road noise etc, although the neighbouring restaurant generates a degree of constant machinery noise whilst open.
Rooms are quite typical of the motel age in a country location and are well maintained, clean, tidy and all amenities work as intended.
The big plus for the Anchor Bay Motel is its people who demonstrate an eagerness to please and really do give you the impression that your patronage matters.

Room Tip: Close the windows facing the neighbouring restaurant and use the aircon instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fantazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Aussietiourist,
A second review. How fantastic! Thank you so much. You give a good summation of the motel and we are very happy you remain impressed with the accommodation and the service. We do go the extra mile with guests because we really want people to enjoy their stay with us and experience all that the Shoalhaven region has to offer.
We very much look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Recent weekend escape here
We couldn't get down until quiet late Friday night due to work commitments- not a problem to the manager!
Rooms clean and comfortable

my only complaint was the neighbours chatting / smoking outside their room for hours - which is hardly something that the management can avoid.

Glorious location

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Janet,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you found the room clean and comfortable and the location "glorious". We apologise for the noisy neighbours. We do try to monitor activities to ensure people are acting respectfully while on the verandah but obviously we were unaware of this disturbance. We will endeavour to be more vigilant!
You mentioned your late arrival. Our reception closes at 8pm but we are more than happy to leave keys under door mats and lights on in rooms if guests are arriving late. We encourage people to call us - as you did - so we can organise this. Then there is no pressure on anyone and everyone can take it easy - a good start to a relaxing holiday!
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just one night. Although the room is not large, it is extremely well equipped, quiet, and spotlessly clean. The gardens are beautifully maintained and quietly peaceful. We utilised the outdoor BBQ and it was undercover with all utensils supplied. When I first made the reservation by phone, the owner to whom I spoke was really friendly - a pleasure to do business with - and on our arrival there was a manageress there who likewise was really friendly, always smiling, extremely helpful, and a pleasure to do business with. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_1948_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Peter,
Thank you for your marvellous review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our little motel and found the staff friendly and helpful. We do take great pride in the motel and its surrounds and are very appreciative of your comments. We liked your comment: "A pleasure to do business with". Ultimately, it is a business but often it feels more like an extension of our home! Perhaps you will stay longer next time. We have some great specials if guests stay two nights or more. They can be seen on our website - anchorbaymotel.com.au - under Hot Deals.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Anchor Bay Motel for a wedding down the South Coast. You could tell the owners took real pride in their Motel, it was clean, well maintained and reasonably priced. Not only this, but the owner offered us a lift to the wedding to save us getting a cab.

Would recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Emma,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We do take great pride in our motel and are very appreciative when guests enjoy their stay with us . It is a small motel - just 12 rooms - so it is like welcoming friends into our house. And we do try to help out in many little ways if we can.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much ... and we hope you will return to visit soon.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed a week at Anchor Bay Motel. Our welcome was positive and friendly. The room was pleasant and clean. Costs were reasonable.There is plenty to see in the area. We highly recommend this motel! Peter and Christine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteracoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Peter and Christine,
What a wonderful review. Thank you. We are so happy you enjoyed your week with us. There is a lot to see in the area, from beautiful beaches and headlands, to a myriad national parks with fabulous walks, dolphin and whale watching cruises, fishing and all manner of water sports, wineries and museums, cafes and restaurants, boutiques and shops. You obviously explored the area thoroughly, appreciated its natural charm and found the motel a nice base from which to do that. Fabulous!
We do hope you will return to visit us some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely location for our overnight stop with very clean and comfortable accommodation. The owners were extremely friendly and very helpful. The only problem we had was not a lot of restaurants open on a Monday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorbaymotel, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Jan_Barrie,
Thank you for your lovely review and kind words about our motel. You mentioned there are few dinner options on a Monday night. Monday and Tuesday night are quieter nights in our little town and the choices for dinner are the bistro at the Greenwell Point Hotel and the bistro or Chinese restaurant at the Greenwell Point Bowling and Sports Club. There is also a takeaway fish and chips outlet that stays open until 6pm but as summer approaches it will be extending its hours to 7pm. And summer is just around the corner. We are already experiencing gorgeous warm weather - a beautiful time to be in sparkling Greenwell Point!
Kind regards,
Garry and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwell Point
11.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
306 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
499 reviews
13.0 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
9.8 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
284 reviews
7.6 mi away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#3 of 8 in Nowra
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Bay Motel

Address: 113 Greenwell Point Rd | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Price Range: $80 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Bay Motel is an award winning 12 room motel overlooking the river 10 minutes east of Nowra on the NSW South Coast in Australia. It provides quality and affordable accommodation in the scenic fishing viallage of Greenwell Point. The motel is centrally located in the Shoalhaven area so you can explore all the great areas on offer. 10 minutes to beaches, 15 minutes to the northern side of Jervis Bay, 30 minutes to Huskisson or Berry, 40 minutes to Hyams Beach and Kangaroo Valley. In Greenwell Point, enjoy the fresh seafood at the cafe / restaurants some of the best oysters available - direct from the farmer. We have Standard, Deluxe and Suites available - something to suit every budget, and for those rooms that don't enjoy water views, the river is only a short walk away. All rooms have an ensuite, kitchenettes, and queen size beds. So come and enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay at the Anchor Bay Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Anchor Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing