We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White Horse Hitcham”

The White Horse at Hitcham
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hitcham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Horse at Hitcham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hitcham B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The White Horse Hitcham”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Don't stay here - cos if you do , I might not be able to get in ! This is a fantastic find , in an area not noted for value for money or cheapness .Warm , dry , spotless accommodation , wheelchair friendly . Really well cooked food , with terrific basic ingredients - lovely whitebait , far better than I have eaten in really expensive restaurants , a really good steak , and so on . Very well kept beer , and , in Ann and Richard Lewis , two of the most likeable people you could wish to meet . Full breakfast from 7am if you wish . I am already looking forward to my next stay !

Room Tip: The three custom built rooms are at the back of the pub , away from any noise , and are wheelchair f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drhmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grackle1234, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Dr Manuel
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We do appreciate feedback especially when our guests have enjoyed the food and hospitality. We do try hard and positive comments such as yours make all the hard work wothwhile.

Kind regrds

Ann and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huldenberg, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Dear Richard and Ann, What a wonderful and warm welcome and what a week of discovery ! Suffolk is so beautiful - the countryside, the villages with their beautiful pink houses (and their intriguing origin), the historical towns, the coast and the beautiful estuary at Woodbridge - stunning. After our daily trek to discover these wonderful beauties, we were always welcomed back with a delicious meal and very good wines. The room and bathroom was spotless and cleaned every day. And last but not least, the start of the day was easy because of the incredible full English breakfast.
We both warmly recommend the White Horse Inn at Hictcham in Suffolk and also the discovery of this beautiful district of the UK. Jennifer and Gisèle from Belgium

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grackle1234, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jennifer

Thought we'd get in touch and send our thanks for your kind comments. We enjoyed your company and would love to see you again. Hope you are both well. Once again many thanks we do appreciate all our customers comments.

Best wishes
Ann and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've had several birthday parties and dinners at the White Horse and they never disappoint. With the parties Ann and Richard are always happy to get in our favourite cask ale and put on an excellent spread with the buffet and dance floor. Of an evening it's a lovely place for a quiet (or not so quiet) pint and the garden can't be beat on a sunny day. My mum stayed in the B&B and was very pleased with the amenities, cleanliness and breakfasts. Overall great stop off in rural Suffolk and very cycle friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank indigojen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grackle1234, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jen,

Just wanted to let you know we appreciate all your comments. Many thanks for your patronage and freindship. We thorouoghly enjoyed your company and are looking forward to the next 'do'.

Kind regards
Ann and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I and our friends recently spent several days at The White Horse Inn and we can all certainly recommend it. Richard and Ann are friendly and welcoming hosts and Richard's cooking is excellent - everything is freshly cooked to order. The accommodation is very comfortable and if you are thinking of exploring the beautiful Suffolk countryside, a visit to The White Horse Inn in the peaceful village of Hitcham is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grackle1234, Owner at The White Horse at Hitcham, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Katherine
Just wanted to get in touch and belatedly thank you for your kind comments. We have just had our inspection again today and we are pleased to say we have retained our 4* status so if you feel like visiting us again soon we would love to see you again.
Best wishes
Ann and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Horse at Hitcham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse at Hitcham

Property: The White Horse at Hitcham
Address: The Street, Hitcham, Babergh District IP7 7NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hitcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hitcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a 4* Guest Inn and is situated in the peaceful Suffolk countryside perfect for a relaxing break. Our detached accommodation is situated on the site of the original stabling. We have one single, one double and one twin bedroom each with en suite facilities. All rooms have TV's, radios, tea-making facilities and hair dryers and are furnished to a high standard. An iron, use of the phone, a cot and high chair are also available. Two rooms have an adjoining door for family use. Free wi-fi is available in the main pub. The Inn is a freehouse and stocks real ales from local breweries. The White Horse Inn is an ideal base for exploring East Anglia. We are within easy reach of the historical towns of Lavenham, Long Melford and Bury St. Edmunds, close to Newmarket racecourses and Constable County. The unspoilt seaside towns of Aldeburgh, Dunwich and Southwold are well worth a visit. Walks round the surrounding fields are also available to anyone who wishes to enjoy the countryside, together with cycling round the quiet lanes. Hitcham is approximately 7 miles from Stowmarket station with trains direct to London (4 stops), Peterborough, Cambridge, Ipswich and Norwich. We offer a SHORT BREAK PACKAGE(breakfast and evening meal)from January to March 2015 (excluding Valentine's). The cost for this is £150 for 2 people sharing a twin or a double room for 2 nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing