We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family farmstay”
Review of Ludlow Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ludlow Farmstay
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights over Easter 2013. The restored cottage was very nice. Well insulated so cool in the day yet remained warm at night. Very comfortable for our family of 5. Well appointed, beautiful fresh linen. No trouble with insects due to auto insect spry dispenser.
Still close enough to Napier (about 35-40 mins) and Hastings to enjoy all they have to offer.
Was good to be able to use the tennis court and cool off in the pool.
Was treated to a very interesting farm tour on the Monday as well.
A very memorable holiday for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlowfarmstay, Owner at Ludlow Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, sorry I wasn't here to make you the fresh bread each day, and the fresh flowers I pick from my garden and have in every room for my guests. A special thanks to my daughter for looking after you whilst we were away on vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice enough property - lovely staying on the farm - but we weren't prepared for the mosquitoes! I managed to kill 16 in one night. And those are just the ones I caught. But we enjoyed the friendly horse and going for a stroll on the property. The place isn't fancy but nice anyway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank TravelBittenSaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlowfarmstay, Owner at Ludlow Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Sorry you had a problem with mosquitos, that is quite unusual - each year in the spring we have the Farmstay, our own home and all Farm buildings sprayed for flys, insects, bugs and spiders. If they come inside they usually die fairly quickly. Sure if lights are on and windows are open moths will come inside, and again they will die. We have a Bug/fly Dispenser in Farmstay which you would have been welcome to use. We haven't set the farmstay up to be fancy, just comfortable. We pride ourselves with cleaniness and comfort, using crisp white cotton bed linen, which are all ironed, and a very well equiped kitchen to give you an option to cook for yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed here with hosts Gwen & Neil in April and had a fantastic time. Part of me wants to keep it off Trip Advisor but it's just too good not to share. Immaculate rooms, down to the finest 5* detail. Fresh home-made bread everyday and the farm tour was great fun. Plenty to do nearby - the very best of Kiwi at Ludlow. Thanks Guys.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familymanfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ludlow Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludlow Farmstay

Address: 53 Drumpeel Road | Otane, Hawkes Bay 4276, Otane 4276, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Otane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Otane
Price Range: $112 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Bedroom Shearers Cottage on working 650ha crop, beef and lamb fattening farm situated in private settings 150 m from main homestead. Cottage has been fully renovated into luxurious holiday accommodation, cotton sheets and Duvets. Tennis court and swimming pool available for guests use. Farm Tours on request, and dinner can be had with hosts but must be booked in advance. Except on warm welcome from Ellymae the Jack Russell Terrier. We are located 25 minutes drive south of Hastings, in Central Hawkes Bay ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing