We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our holiday”

RSPB Bempton Cliffs
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bempton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Mesmerising, breath-taking, amazing, awesome - just some of the words our visitors use when they talk about RSPB Bempton Cliffs. Around a quarter-of-a-million seabirds - including gannets, puffins, kittiwakes and razorbills - flock here in spring and summer to raise their family. Six,safe,cliff top viewpoints give spectacular views of the nesting seabirds and the dramatic coastline. The new Seabird Centre at the heart of the reserve tells the story of the wildlife on the cliffs and why it makes it home here. Three of the viewpoints are fully accessible with a hard surfaced path linking them in a circular route. RSPB Seabird Cruises sail from Bridlington Harbour throughout the season giving visitors an incredible opportunity to see the colony as seabirds swoop and soar all around. In autumn and winter, when mists fall and winds blow, a clifftop walk is a great way to blow away the cobwebs. RSPB Bempton Cliffs - one of the truly unmissable British wildlife spectacles.
essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, warm welcome. Viewing points great for seeing the seabirds and volunteers on hand with telescopes so you can get a close up view of the birds. Super cliff walks. Sights, sounds and smells of gannets !!! Lovely shop.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kateandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    161
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gannets and puffins”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a gorgeous place. The puffins were nearly over when we visited this year, but there were some on the water and the enthusiastic volunteers made sure we saw them through their telescopes. The gannets with their (now large) fluffy babies were stars. The young kittiwakes were fledging and had very pretty patterned black plumage. A great place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jotomalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nature putting on a show”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful Bempton Cliffs are along the "Heritage Coastline of Yorkshire and are some areas are a RSPB reserve open from the end of March to the beginning of September.The coastal path is safe and has magnificent views up to and just beyond Foley in the North. Great array of coastal birds including the ever characterful Puffins...although the tend to have gone by the end of July..we swerving to spot a few. Great viewing platforms with knowledgeable RSPB staff on hand complete with telescopes trained on interesting wildlife. Great for walking and being at one with nature.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria_bempton, Public Relations Manager at RSPB Bempton Cliffs, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hello - just a point about our opening times. We are usually open all year round but we have received Heritage Lottery Funding and Coastal Communities Funding to allow us to develop the visitor experience here on the cliffs. So from 1st September 2014 until 1 April 2015, we'll be closed as we redevelop our visitor centre, car park and facilities. Details are on our web pages at www.rspb.org.uk/bemptoncliffs. Please visit us again and let us know if you like the improvements. We think you will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Amazing opportunities to view nesting birds”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We discovered the amazing nesting sites at the RSPB sanctuary in early July while on a trip to nearby Flamborough Head. We spent a couple of hours walking from view point to view point along the gorgeous chalk cliffs, watching gulls, guillemots, razorbills, gannets and about eight puffins nesting and feeding their young. Also saw the fascinating narrow banded five spotted moth with its orange racing stripe in motion. This is a fabulous place for photographers and birdwatchers but also a satisfying outing for those who just enjoy nature. This is a safe place for children too as long as they don't climb the cliff edge fences. The RSPB has a parking lot that cost about 5 pounds and a good gift shop focused on merchandise useful for bird watching.The washroom is also open until 5 p.m. Apparently there is a picnic area, although it didn't make an impression on me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank piercesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing experience! Lovely walks and breathtaking views. So many beautiful birds to see. Just mesmerising!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RSPB Bempton Cliffs also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Flamborough, Bridlington
Flamborough, Bridlington
 

Been to RSPB Bempton Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing