We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Peaceful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed in the 1 bed elite for a weekend, the plan was peace and quiet and relaxation, this we certainly got, Cabin was very clean, well equipped and its the little things that i really appreciated like tea towels, dish cloths very rare are these provided. The hot tub & sauna was excellent, Amy was very helpful from start to finish with everything. The Sausages, Bacon & Eggs were lovely must try these. We will definately be returning, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 162 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit here staying in the elite cabins. We have stayed twice in spruce and once in the one bed next door! We come here for peaceful relaxation and find the lodges to be very clean, very well equipped and worth every penny. The sauna and hot tub are very nice and the hot tubs are well placed to offer as much privacy as possible. There are lots of attractions nearby but we prefer to just lock ourselves away from the world. If your after quiet and relaxation then I can highly recommended coming here. I've met Amy in reception once and she seems very pleasant and helpful but we have never needed to contact anyone else as we have had no other issues. The manual in the cabin is very helpful. We have looked at other cabins but always return here as we find the elite cabins to offer exceptional value for money. I'm sure we will return a 4th time and many more. The only negative I can find is they could do with providing extra towels or dressing gowns for using in the hot tub/sauna.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cmpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the chestnut cabin from 27th till the 31st January. Couldn't of asked for a nicer break away. So peaceful, comfortable and very clean. Having a hot tub just topped it off. Peter very helpful and friendly. And the dog "molly or meg" very friendly :-)Thank you. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank missbetty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Friends and I have just got back from a Monday to Friday break at this place. Having booked through Hoseason's on a number of occasions we expected a bit of a standard. We arrived at the reception which is unmanned and was greeted by Amy who was very pleasant, she advised of the basics of the stay and pointed to our log cabin ash. Once we walked in our immediate thought was this is a caravan with wood on the side and a laminate floor to make it look something more. The ceiling was most definite a caravans. Never the less we got on with unpacking as the setting of the park was ideal for the dogs. The bedrooms were very small and the corridor between the bedrooms and bathroom were not big enough for more than one at once. Our first night we couldn't work the cooker out as the markings had faded and once we had finally eaten we couldn't empty the dirty water in the sink as it was blocked. We had to take the u Bend off and it was full of grease and fat! The cabin was of a very low standard and not the cleanest, we expected a dip in standard from our previous holidays as this one allowed the dogs but still expected better than this. The next day we went in the hot tub and that's when the lodge was confirmed as a caravan as we noticed a wheel underneath. I called hoseasons and complained about being Mis-sold this accommodation, they contacted the site owners who offered to move us to a superior cabin. We did move to a elite cabin and it was a lot nicer! This cabin are the pictures hoseason show on their website and what we were expecting. We moved over to the new cabin that night and started our break again. Although we did have issues with this cooker being extremely noisy whilst in use. I would advise anyone reading this before booking here to think long and hard their is nicer sites in the same area for £10-15 more.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank james180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHavers59, Owner at Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Good Morning James,
Thank you for your comments, I am very sorry to hear that the cabin did not match up to your expectations. Firstly I would like you to know that we have a new cooker here waiting to be installed into the Ash lodge, we have replaced a couple of the cookers in the other 'Athelington Lodges' and this is definitely the next one to go in. With regards to the u-bend, as I am sure you can understand that these do not get pulled off and cleaned every week but on a monthly schedule. I am very sorry that it was blocked on your stay but am now aware that these need to be checked on a more regular basis.
With regards to the wheel, most lodges will have a wheel underneath to transport them between the factory and trailer to which they are then delivered to onsite and which helps to then put them into place.
I am glad that you were able to move over to our Elite collection of lodges and start over your holiday again.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stopped at the lodge with our 2 dogs between christmas for a few nights away , we booked this for the walking and the jacuzzi, on arrival we found out the jacuzzi was broken, the owner tried to fix it but coud not get a part, we was given keys to another one of the lodges across the site but this lodge was not allowed dogs so we had to leave them in the log cabin while we went in the jacuzzi for a short time and as it was a way in the cold we only actually bothered once.as it wasnt too pleasant walking across a field in the middle of winter in wet clothes ( other alternative was to take all of our clothes ) seems abit of a chore.

we was told we would be re-compensated for the broken hot tub, but i guess the owner felt that giving us keys to another lodge was suffice ( not in our eyes )

apart from that the actual place was really nice if you fancy a get away in the middle of no where. make sure to go shopping before you go

was a real shame as sort of ruined our trip a little

Room Tip: if you have no pets then upgrade to the luxury cabins, they are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We had two original cabins over the Christmas period and I would recommend anyone to do this. The place is in the middle of nowhere but if you want a relaxing break then this is your place to go. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hot tubs are fab. Kids really enjoyed the trampoline and games room too.

Thinking of going back in the elite cabins next year. Thanks for a great time away.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Lambeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

just got back from a weekend break Athelingtonin Hall we had Beech cabin with a hot tub, the cabin was spotlessly clean flat screen tv fully equipped kitchen, white crisp bed linen and fresh towels all supplied too, beautiful country side views all round. We took our dog to and he was also made to feel very welcome a very dog friendly site with good walks in open fields. The farm shop offers fresh sausage bacon and eggs and the owners are very friendly as are their dogs too. I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of a busy home life , Suffolk is a beautiful county, Great pubs to and the coast is not to far away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peevor63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horham
5.4 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
477 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
6.3 mi away
Weybread Lakes Log Cabin Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
High Lodge Leisure Ltd
#2 of 10 in Saxmundham
140 reviews
5.1 mi away
Oak Lodge Retreat
Oak Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Brome
31 reviews
13.5 mi away
Heathside Lodges
Heathside Lodges
#1 of 1 in Wenhaston
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays

Address: Athelington Hall Horham Road, Horham IP21 5EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Horham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Horham
Price Range: $68 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summary: Our Log Cabins are situated within the picturesque grounds of Athelington Hall, a working farm, which dates back to 1620. An impressive moat and acres of open fields surround the 17th-century Hall, complete with a fine avenue of oak trees. Original Log Cabins: We have five 2 bedroom lodges, one double with en-suite shower room, one twin bedroom and a full bathroom. All of which feature a cosy lounge and dining area, as well as a kitchen. All five of our lodges have their own personal hot tub on the patio, perfect for unwinding in the evening, listening to the sweet sound of nature. Elite Log Cabins: We have 4 luxury cabins with 2 bedrooms whilst the other 2 cabins have one bedroom making them perfect for a romantic getaway or even a honeymoon. All have their own private hot tub on the deck. Two of our two-bedroom units also have a sauna. The 1-bedroom units have a four-poster bed with a sauna in the bathroom. These lodges have an open plan living area with modern furnishings. This design combines contemporary decor with functional and fashionable living within rustic surroundings. There is also the facility to purchase fresh farm eggs and bacon on site and various other sundries. Rates : From £179 to £855 per week depending on season. Maximum of 6 people per cabin. Children are welcome. No smoking. Pets are allowed. Wi-Fi/internet access. Off street parking. 4 Star, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing