We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hunter Valley Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Quorrobolong B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great weekend away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We definitely loved our weekend at the Hunter Valley Retreat! The service was great and the place was peaceful and comfortable.
The staff was super friendly and they definitely go out of their way to make the guests enjoy their stay. I was very impressed by the food and the campfire .. It made my birthday weekend very special! You can see that the new management of the place is doing wonders... Our room was lovely! Can't wait to go back!

Carol and Dylan

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrade_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    39
    14
    9
    12
See reviews for
22
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just spent the weekend here with my lovely partner to celebrate her birthday.

Lachlan, Sharon, Tim and Hamish made us feel really welcome and were excellent hosts.

As another reviewer stated it is not 5 star (yet) but the accommodation was clean and tidy and the breakfasts and dinners were excellent.

Andrew's wine tour is a must as is at least 1 night around the fire pit.

We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a peaceful weekend away at the Hunter Valley Retreat. The staff were so accommodating, friendly and made us feel right at home. We stayed in one of the smallest cabins available and everything we needed was there. Its not meant to be a 5 star experience with room service but part of its charm is that it is like a home away from home.

Staff here provided us with personalised service and became more like friends than people at work to us. Highlights are definitely the campfire and the beautiful trail walk through the bush in their backyard.

We will definitely return to the Hunter Valley Retreat and recommend to friends and family.

Thanks for a great weekend!

Lizelle & Kieran

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

An awesome weekend getaway. Extremely friendly hosts who were welcoming and accommodating to all our needs. Excellent value including the meals which were a delight to eat. Especially loved the campfire which brought everyone together to chat about their wine tour experiences and share a glass or two from the region complete with marshmallows!!!
Thank you for a great weekend. We will be back.
Ellen and Portia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a really lovely time here. Got upgraded to one of the cottages and were delighted with it. The kids loved the fire pit, bush walk and nummy deserts. We loved the friendly staff, tasty home cooked food and the relaxing ambience. We also brought our two dogs and they had a ball and were made feel very welcome. Its not five star (yet!) But we would definitely recommend it for a great value place to stay in the hunter region.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I must admit I was a little skeptical after reading some of the "not so good" reviews but after booking a 3 bedroom home with friends over the recent long weekend, I can assure you that you will not regret staying at this wonderful place. From the comfortable beds, wood heater and volleyball nets to the delicious breakfast that was served by the new local chef, we couldn't find a fault. Val & Lachlin were both attentive to our needs and couldn't do enough for us. We are all seasoned travellers and found it to be money well spent. Will be back and will be sure to tell our friends. Good luck guys and thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheryleJjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have just had 4 glorious days here with a scrapbooking group. Lachlan and his team were outstanding hosts, having only recently taken over. Considering the short time they have been here, they did an amazing job, nothing too much trouble, food great, loved the fire pit, the staff treated us like family. Andy the chef was funny and could cook! Val the manager was amazing! They have great plans for this outstanding property, it is a must see. Cheers Sue from the Central Coast

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quorrobolong
10.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
7.7 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
11.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
18.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunter Valley Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunter Valley Retreat

Property: The Hunter Valley Retreat
Address: 626 Sandy Creek Rd, Quorrobolong, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Quorrobolong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Quorrobolong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hunter Valley Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management and Refurbished.Set in 200 acres at the foot of the Watagan Mountains, Hunter Valley Retreat is a Country Escape away from the hustle and bustle of city life.Clean and friendly with crisp white sheets, T.V's, Fridges and everything you need for a comfortable affordable stay, just 90 minutes from Sydney and 25 minutes from the Vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hunter Valley Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing