We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hunter Valley Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Cessnock Motel(Cessnock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurri Motor Inn(Kurri Kurri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
83
42
14
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
42
14
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pithunter valleya king size bedroasting marshmallowsgarlic breadbedroom housefriday nightbreakfast was amazingstayed for two nightsyogurtwalking trackshort driveexcellent spottimfarmhouseweekendkatrina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 161 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This has had to be the most appalling retreat i have ever been too. There was not one memorable thing about this place. We bought a two night 'stunning' stay from spreets and we were terribly disappointed. The room was absolutely tiny, i felt claustrophobic. The kangaroo sunset bbq did not exist. The hamper consisted of a nasty bottle of red wine, some cheap chocolates and stale biscuits. The accomodation looked as though it was still under construction. The digital television was like something from the late 80's. And all of this for $295, reduced from $602. Words can not describe how ripped off i feel. I have stayed in 5 star accomodation that was cheaper than this. Service? what service. When i asked about the internet, which had been falsely advertised, the girl on the phone just laughed and said there was none! Needless to say, within the first 30 minutes of arriving we had booked another place for the second night and left first thing in the morning. I can confirm the accuracy of all the other bad reviews. This place is a shocker!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

on seeing retreat special offer on getaway lounge we perchased a 2 night farmhouse stay. apparently worth over $1000 . IT took almost 2 weeks to confirm a booking as no answer to phone or emails despite daily repeated attempts.On arrival 4 30 pm. we had trouble finding staff.When they arrived we where told our farmhouse had not yet been cleaned yet , we where virtually the only guests . It was 40 degrees and we went to unserviced farmhouse to find aircond not working . Cleaner arrived changed linen ,bins .and very short clean but not clean .and dirty bbq . Staff x2 told us would fix air conditing on arrival . Tv remote not working rang office and left messages never answered . Kitchen falling apart and not well equiped . " restaurant breakfast " was an unstaffed non aircondioned room at 40 degrees . Help yourself cereal ,eggs,mushroom and tomatoes cold water in urn so no tea/ coffee despite being told full restaraunt bbq breakfast on web .Also bbqs dirty to cook yourself ? Our entire visit we were left to fend for our selves .We found this no resort or retreat . SORRY ROB AND ME / TERRIGAL

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MARTINE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val H, General Manager at The Hunter Valley Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your experiences at Hunter Valley Retreat and we acknowledge that you would have been disappointed.

Over the last 6 months we have been undergoing renovation and upgrading and we now have a completely new Management Team.

Improvements include, New Fridges in all rooms, New Digital Televisions with DVD, Crisp White Linen on all our beds, Full Buffet Breakfast, cooked by our resident Chef, every morning. Gourmet Pizzas and a complimentary Glass of wine available in our Restaurant every evening.

We also have extended Reception hours and a dedicated Guest Services Co-ordinator to help you experience the Hunter Valley, we also have our own Wine Tour Bus operating from site to enable easy assess to the Vineyards.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience or bad experiences during our renovation phase, however, please be assured that under the new Management Hunter Valley Retreat will be a completely different and pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I redeemed a Spreets deal for this retreat and what an utter disappointment. I was dismayed from the moment we arrived, it was walking into something from the 60's. the deal was $295 for 2 nights, a supposed saving of $300. How on earth they could expect to charge the full amount is laughable. We were told on arrival that there wasn't a fridge in our room but we could use the fridge in the mess hall...a long walk in the dark if you wanted a cold drink or in the heat. The room was tiny, the bed was up against the sliding door, you had to manoeuvre around the bed to get in and out. The tv flickered all the time because it was so old and attached to a set top box. To boil the jug you had to put it on the floor because that was the only way the lead would reach the power and then once the milk was opened there wasn't a fridge to put it in. No face cloths to wash yourself with, no air-conditioning, the walls were paper thin so you could hear what was going on in the next room. The hamper was a cheap bottle of wine, cheap chocolates and choc cookies. Needless to say, we only stayed one night and headed off to somewhere else. Chess nock is only 10 minutes away so I would recommend to stay there. Don't stay at the Hunter Valley Retreat.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had more than 20 people stay at the venue meaning we hired 2 villas with plenty of space for BBQ and entertainment. The fact that the villas were away from the other cabins/lodges was favourable for us as we could make as much noise as we want without disturbing the neighbours. The beds were comfortable and clean. We were able to request for more plates and cutlery when needed. The management there were friendly and understanding. Overall, a pleasant stay for large group gatherings.

Room Tip: For your information: Kitchenette does not contain oven and stove.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val H, General Manager at The Hunter Valley Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thankyou so much for your great review... we really appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a good time... Please do come back and see us again soon.

Val:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

A girlfriend & I redeemed a Spreets deal for this Retreat for our birthday weekend away & were appalled at not only the room we were given, which cost $295 for the deal & was normally only $150 per night anyways, an advertised "Luxury Hamper" didnt exist, instead I was handed a bottle of red wine & told the chocolates & cookies didnt arrive, come back tomorrow, when we did the office was closed.
The room was not only tiny, the "ensuite" was a dinghy, outdated cubicle with nowhere to put your things but on the floor which flooded when having a shower while being careful of the loose tiles in the shower floor. The "kitchenette" was a shelf with a jug & only 1 cup, no spoons & a hanging rail overhead that you couldnt hang a short top on without it sitting on the shelf you were supposed to make coffee on. No chairs in the room, no room to put them, & a pile of odd clothes hangers on the ground under an old chair outside the door (i have pictures) there was no free internet or dvd player as advertised, & the "Sunset Kangaroo BBQ" on arrival was non existant.
We were told to cook our own breakfasts, which wasnt a problem, but not shown that we were supposed to go into & help ourselves to the restaurant kitchen.

I would not recommend this establishment to anyone & i have had other Spreets deals in the Hunter Valley which were excellent & so much more than my expectations.

I have tried to upload pictures unsuccessfully.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val H, General Manager at The Hunter Valley Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your experiences at Hunter Valley Retreat and we acknowledge that you would have been disappointed.

Over the last 6 months we have been undergoing renovation and upgrading and we now have a completely new Management Team.

Improvements include, New Fridges in all rooms, New Digital Televisions with DVD, Crisp White Linen on all our beds, Full Buffet Breakfast, cooked by our resident Chef, every morning. Gourmet Pizzas and a complimentary Glass of wine available in our Restaurant every evening.

We also have extended Reception hours and a dedicated Guest Services Co-ordinator to help you experience the Hunter Valley, we also have our own Wine Tour Bus operating from site to enable easy assess to the Vineyards.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience or bad experiences during our renovation phase, however, please be assured that under the new Management Hunter Valley Retreat will be a completely different and pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews